We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

House of the Rising Sun is an excellent B&B. Kevin was a great host. Unfortunately, we didn"t get to meet Wendy. It was our first trip to the US and our first "bed" was New Orleans - a very good introduction to the US. The breakfast was generous and very good. Loved staying in Algiers Point - ate at a couple of restaurants there and enjoyed the daily ferry trip to and from the mainland. Have already recommended this B&B to friends and family. Thanks, Kevin

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! Hope the rest of your American vacation went well and look forward to seeing you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 543 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a fabulous three night stay at House of the Rising Sun. Hosts Kevin and Wendy were knowledgeable and friendly, willing to share all their local information with us. Their recommendations for music and food were excellent. They made us feel so comfortable and at home. Catching the ferry was great fun and after a night of loud music and crowds it felt really good to escape to the quiet of Algiers Point. The house is immaculate and Kevin is a super attentive host (even noticed the abandoned bananas at the bottom of my breakfast bowl and left them out the next morning). Boudin (the Pug-mix) was a delightful addition to the friendly atmosphere. I highly recommend this B&B and hope that we make it back for another visit. Thanks Kevin and Wendy

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meredithhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review and certainly hope to see y'all back here some time soon. And you are right....it's nice to return to the tranquility of Algiers Point after the madness of the French Quarter. So near, yet far enough away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Once more, I was royally treated by Kevin and Wendy while on a quick visit to New Orleans. The room was luxurious and my own private bathroom was immaculate. The atmosphere in the house is very laid back and all the local jazz memorabilia just add to the cajun creole mix. Perfectly situated just a couple of blocks from the ferry and yet half that distance to the Crown and Anchor pub where they have a great selection of draught beers. Thanks for making my visit so special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnEmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Many thanks for your wonderful first review after several visits and we look forward to seeing you return yet again, and your wife's visit soon. Can't have too many Scottish/Canadian/Americans in Algiers Point :-) Maybe you can organize it so you both visit together in the New Year? Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

House of the Rising Sun is a fantastic place to stay- big room, clean and quiet, with a fantastic host! Lovely garden to have breakfast in. It really suited us to stay outside the touristy areas and the ferry is a great experience. If you miss the last one then it's only a $20 cab ride away. I would definitely recommend this B & B and really hope to be back soon. Thanks Kevin!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzyskiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

"Lovely"....how English :-) Many thanks for the wonderful review and we hope to see y'all back here soon. Hope things up North were not too bad for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had a wonderful stay in New Orleans at the House of the Rising Sun. Kevin was an amazing host, full of local knowledge, music advice and funny stories. The house is lovely- welcoming, clean and in a great non-touristy spot.
I"ve never done a review on tripadvsior before but felt compelled to, having had such a great stay here. For sure, stay here!!! I am definitely returning one day soon...
Natasha, London

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! Hope to see y'all back here soon. Give our regards to Merry Olde Paddington and Trinity Church!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The House of the Rising Sun for five nights in october. Kevin and Wendy were great hosts. The house and area are peaceful. Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated and the bathroom was clean. Another reviewer mentioned the chats around the breakfast table in the morning, and I must say that we enjoyed these also. Kevin is great for tips on where to go and what to see (great record shop in Decatur St being one, although my wife may disagree). The (free) ferry is a 5 minute walk past some lovely houses in Algiers Point, and if you time it right you can be in the French Quarter in 15 minutes. We caught a cab back one night after a win in the casino, and it cost us $20. We'd reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review. Even though you are an Arsenal supporter we really enjoyed your company :-) Wish I had told you about the Louisiana Music Factory at the beginning of your stay. I could have been a few more CDs better off :-) The music tour you did of the States is one of the reasons we get so many Blues, 60's R&B and Jazz fans staying here. Hope we see you on another "trip of a lifetime" in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for about a week and we really enjoyed it. The house is clean and comfortable, and includes a common room tastefully filled with books and memorabilia of the region. Kevin was very friendly and full of interesting stories at breakfast. The location was great for us, since it was just a short (and free!) ferry ride from the Quarter. There's even a cozy English pub just down the street. We'll definitely return the next time we are in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! We look forward to having y'all and your friends back for your next conference in two years time. Don't forget to book early!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
766 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
494 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 142 in New Orleans
470 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 142 in New Orleans
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing