We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm going back to New Orleans .....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was my first trip to New Orleans and it was easy to find as the directions were accurate. Coming from London,the best part was meeting a historian who could relate London to NO. The best part was Kevin's knowledge of Algiers and New Orleans generally, as well as his interesting life. Even the hipsters in NO did not the location of William Burroughs NO residence in Algiers, and this is all in the guide produced by Kevin. I recommend following the guide around Algiers Point and also go into the grocery to see the mural of the other side of Mississippi.

It was a week of record temperatures in the USA, but the house was cool.

The ferry is very close and crosses into tourist NO.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review and for catching me up on all the news of London and the Olympics. Hope to see you back here another time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 550 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Kevin & his wonderful wife Wendy, made you feel right at home from the start of our stay. They are very knowledgable about where to dine and find entertainment. They are super generous and the bedding and house overall is so quaint and relaxing I can't wait to come back and book another trip. Clean, healthy breakfast provided daily and if you get a chance to try Kevin's chile it is delicious.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! We hope to see you back here soon and maybe I'll make some more chili :-) Say "Hi!" to the Alamo for me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We could not have chosen a more hospitable and convenient spot to stay during our recent visit to New Orleans.
Comfortable and easy access to downtown was available in the form of a brief walk to the ferry, which transports visitors and locals into the heart of the city in less than 10 minutes. Superb views of the city's skyline are a bonus.
Likewise the quiet charm and heritage of Algiers itself, encouraged my wife and I on more than one occasion, to choose to remain in the neighbourhood and spend time in the local pub, coffee shop, restaurant, etc.
Days would begin with wonderful breakfasts complemented with Kevin's repartee often involving suggested sites representing his exhaustive knowledge of the city's musical history. It's obvious from the time you walk in the door of their tastefully furnished home, that Kevin and Wendy delight in sharing the riches of this great city with their guests.
We will be returning next spring with good friends who no doubt will also succumb to the charms of Algiers and The House of the Rising Sun.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honda090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! We look forward to your return next year and to meeting your friends who will be coming with you. It's very gratifying when guests not only recommend us to their friends but even more so when they bring them with them. Enjoy the ride down from Canada!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary. You can't beat the price and the nice thing is you're close to it all without being in the center of all the drunken ridiculousness. My only real complaints are that the bathroom is detactched (which we knew in advance) and that the breakfast (although delicious) doesn't change. It was fine for a few days but had we been there for a week it would have gotten old. Also be aware that there is quite a bit of construction in the neighborhood and we wound up looping back and detouring to actually get there. The room is absoultely immaculate and very well appointed and the bed is SO comfy! The owners are very nice as well! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on a return trip and I've already recommened it to a few people.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms. If you want the king bed the bathroom is in the hall but I believe if you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanebarnes1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Many thanks for the great review from your stay with us almost eleven weeks ago. We are so pleased you found your room "absolutely immaculate, very well appointed and the bed SO comfy," and that you "would not hesitate to stay here again" AND "have already recommended us to a few people." As you stated, you knew the bathroom was detached before you arrived, which is clear on our website, as is the ingredients of our breakfasts. You stated you stayed "a few days." Actually, it was only two nights and next time you come please let us know if you want a change from what you describe as a "delicious breakfast," and stay longer :-) We always do our best to accommodate our guests' wishes. We have incorporated new items on the breakfast menu and keep striving to give the best service and bang for your buck that we can. The road construction work you mention was actually about two miles from our B&B and like all construction work, has finished (weeks ago). Unfortunately, we cannot control the roadwork in New Orleans. If we could, we would get every single street in need of repair fixed :-) We look forward to your next visit and thanks again for the review and feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The perfect place to stay in New Orleans. Quiet location in historic Algiers, a short free ferry ride across the river. A welcoming beer after a long drive on a hot day, delicious breakfasts and friendly hosts (including Boudin the dog :) with great knowledge of the history of the area and advice on places to go and things to do. Thanks Kevin and Wendy, we'll definitely stay with you again if we come back to New Orleans one day!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Many thanks for your "fantastic" review! We hope you both get to attend another conference here someday, or just come on vacation. Please let all your Norwegian and Australian friends know about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at H of the RS and highly recommend it. The bargain priced accommodations were very comfortable and an escape from the heat of summer. After a full day of sightseeing, it was nice to return by ferry (which is very convenient) to the quiet of the B&B to relax and wind down. Kevin and Wendy are quite knowledgeable about the area, and provided some great tips and background on New Orleans which helped make our trip all the better. Loved Boudin, the dog!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! We are glad you finally got to stay with us and hope to see y'all back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A lovely stay at the H of RS; our hosts were welcoming with lots of good, helpful local knowledge that enhanced our visit to New Orleans. Accommodations very comfy and a real bargain. We loved staying in historic Algiers, a quick 5 minute (free) ferry ride across the Mississippi and away from the crowds. Even got a free zydeco concert at Algiers Point during our stay. Loved it and give it our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGfromRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review and glad you took advantage of the Algiers Point free concerts, which are held through June & July. Hope to see you back here again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#3 of 166 in New Orleans
426 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 141 in New Orleans
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, the original house being destroyed in the Great Fire of Algiers in 1895, this charming, relaxed "shotgun double" style cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short, 8-minute walk from the $2 ferry ($1 for seniors) to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. This three bedroom B&B features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, eclectic decor and private bathrooms for each guest room. Enjoy a free welcome drink in "Jelly Roll's Jumpin' Juke Joint" (our covered back porch) or relax there in the evening on the swing bench with a glass of wine or local beer. A healthy breakfast is provided each morning. A delight for Blues and Jazz fans! Visit our local bars, restaurants, coffee shops and stores and mix with the friendly locals. Or walk, jog, cycle, run along the Mississippi River levee and enjoy the most spectacular view of the French Quarter, day and night. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing