We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a place to come home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roeselare, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a place to come home”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at the B&B of Kevin and Wendy. It was a peaceful, cosy place to come home to after a visit to the French Quarter of New Orleans. Breakfast was always a treat after a goodnights rest in a very comfortable bed in a tasteful decorated room. Algiers Point, where the B&B is situated, is a very nice neighberhood. Ideal for a walk along beautiful houses, having a drink or something to eat in a restaurant or pub nearby. And Boudin, their dog, is wonderful! Martine from Belgium hoping to come back soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Thanks for the great review, and for the photo of "Boudin"! Hope to see you back here soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    29
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
329
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Pace, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had an excellent stay...and wish it could have been longer. The B&B was very clean, cozy, and comfortable. The owners are super nice and we loved the dog too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayla h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Many thanks for a great review and we look forward to seeing you back in the Big Easy soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ville Platte, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Wonderful B&B with great hosts. Situated in an historic neighborhood within walking distance of some terrific restaurants and pubs that are far enough from the French Quarter . You can walk the streets at night and it’s very safe. Exactly what we were looking for. Thanks to Wendy, Kevin and Boudin for making our stay a wonderful New Orleans experience . Kirk and Anita Fontenot

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thanks for the wonderful review! Hope it doesn't take as many years before you get back to New Orleans again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My first time staying in a B&B and it was an excellent experience. Safe, quiet neighborhood. Walking distance to the free ferry to the French Quarter. Healthy breakfast every morning at 8am. Kevin was accommodating, helpful, and shared some great tips and stories. It was a nice getaway from the craziness of the town at night, but still captured the charm of New Orleans. We felt very welcomed by our hosts and other guests as well. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happydaisy919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Many thanks for a great review. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My wife and I just finished our second stay and loved it both times. The rooms are very nice and comfortable, the breakfasts good and the company, especially Boudin, incomparable. We love walking around the neighborhood and then taking the free ferry over to the busier parts of the City. While we couldn't get back and forth for a short time during the day, we had friends staying near the French Quarter who were very jealous of the peaceful ride across the river, peaceful streets adn good night's sleep,.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Thanks for a great review and we look forward to a third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This was our first trip to New Orleans. When you first find out the Bed and Breakfast is across the Mississippi from the French Quarter, you may be reluctant. Need not fear. The Free Ferry that crosses over is only 3 blocks away from the B&B. You then get to enjoy the 7 or 8 minute ride to the french quarter. When you get off the ferry you are right in the heart of where you need to be. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Kevin and Wendy are extremely helpful and knowledgeable of what New Orleans has to offer. They really make your visiting experience one you will remember. We will definitely stay here in the future when we find ourselves back in New Orleans. The room we stayed in was Cozy, Clean, and above all Comfortable. The breakfast is a light, refreshing start to your day. It does not impede your appetite to tackle all the wonderful food the city has to offer.

Alyssa and Justin Oldham

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you so much for the great review. We look forward to seeing you back in the Big Easy some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The House of the Rising Sun B&B is truly a New Orleans hidden gem. While in NOLA for a national conference (4 nights), I chose this quiet, charming hideaway instead of the host Brand Name Big Hotel. I have no regrets. I found that the short ferry ride (leaves every 30 minutes or so until about 12:30AM) across the river was relaxing, with a great view of the downtown skyline. Innkeepers Kevin and Wendy are fun, very accommodating, and knowledgeable about NOLA music, food, and culture. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable. Breakfast is simple and delicious, with a great cup of strong, fresh coffee. I particularly enjoyed taking the architectural walking tour of Historic Algiers. The neighborhood is safe, with a local jazz/blues bar and a couple of good restaurants in short walking distance. I am delighted to have found this most appealing and affordable home away from home - and will be back whenever I'm in the Big Easy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesjazzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Thanks for the great review. Look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,117 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,388 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Property: House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing