We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel St. Helene
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$159
$136
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$112
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$106
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$129
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$93
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$155
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveler rating
124
110
77
42
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
110
77
42
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnapoleon housejackson squaregreat locationfrench quartercourtyard balconyquaint hotelsitting areabed was comfortableinterior roomtwo blockspeople watchingcafe duparking garagequiet at nightbeignetsthe room was nicechartres
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 405 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here last year on a trip down for jazz fest. The Hotel is old but so is the city - thats why we love it. There is a little courtyard and pool in the back. The continental breakfast is nothing to write home about but there is a great dinner just down the street. The room was clean and comfortable. And really how much time are you spending in your room when you are in the Big Easy? There was a little balcony that overlooked the courtyard. Oh - no elevator if thats a problem - it wasnt for us. The best part about this hotel is location - you are close to Burboun Street but far enough that you cant hear it. Acme Oyester house is steps away along with one of our favorite spots - NOLA! You are in perfect walking distance of just about everything French Quarter and not that far for a stroll up to Frenchmen Street. We will definately stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRomeo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The atmosphere of this hotel is absolutely charming. However, boutique is the operative word. The rooms are tiny, with big beds and small bathrooms. Luckily on this trip it was just myself in one room, so that was all perfectly fine. The staff were incredibly accommodating, my group and I didn't check in until close to 2 AM due to travel issues and the concierge was very helpful. I was booked in a beautiful suite with a balcony on the first night (it's all about the balcony's in NOLA), however I ended up downgrading because the noise from the street was too much for me. There was also a garbage truck making it's rounds that I could hear screeching for close to an hour. The location, however, is excellent. This hotel is situated in the heart of the French Quarter and Bourbon St. is just a few minute's walk away.

Room Tip: My advice to you: book a room in the middle of the hotel, you won't have a view of any sort, but it's worth it for a peaceful night's rest.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Arrived and hour early, They were happy to allow us to place our bags in our room. The front desk told us that the fresh bath linens had not arrived for the day but they would bring them up upon delivery. Thank you for not asking us to wait! We had some where to be. Yea! Hotel was a recently renovated. Combination of Historic and contemporary! Comfy beds, clean rooms, nice view of the court yard, central to everything. the continental breakfast was nice. Fresh, hot Community coffee!!! Kudos to the parking attendants at the Omni Hotel. We chose to park @ the Omni Hotel ( directly across the street from the Hotel St. Helen.) Also wonderful customer service.
would stay again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room either facing the street or the court yard. Great views! Enjoy the french quarter experience!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flossiemcgehee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Flossiemcgehee!
It was our absolute pleasure to assist with an early check-in. It is our goal to fit the schedule of all of our valued guests, and it looks like we succeeded. I do apologize that the linen had not arrived when expected; there were multiple street closures due to heavy rain. We have since worked on a few back-up plans to ensure no burden is placed on our most valued guests. We look forward to your speedy return!
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Came the week of Mardi Gras and had an amazing experience. Our room was right next to the pool and the sound of the water was so relaxing. The prior reviews made me nervous but it was nothing at all like the reviews. The staff was extremely kind and very helpful. They held our bags the day we needed to check out while we walked around town. They extended our check out time as well. Any time we needed anything the staff was there without hesitation. Wonderful hotel with clean rooms, great staff and very pleasant!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MHenders0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

MHenders0n!
Thank you for your kind words! Our team works diligently to ensure each guest experience is as enjoyable as possible. You are right about the Courtyard Balcony Suites! The tranquil courtyard is quickly becoming a favorite among all of our valued guests. See you next Mardi Gras!
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the St Helene for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. We were on the third floor, in an absolutely beautiful room. Being that the building is well over 100 years old, there were definitely things that a modern did not have, such as a working elevator, and sound proof walls. But what it lacked in modern amenities, it made up 10 fold in charm. It is centered perfectly in the French quarter being a short walk from everything. 2 blocks from Bourbon St, it was close enough to enjoy the reverie and far enough to escape it. This was my first time in New Orleans, and the Hotel St Helene was everything I expected from a hotel in the French quarter. I definitely would recommend it for anyone who is looking for the French quarter experience on their trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twix0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Twix0731!
What a great review of your recent stay at Hotel St Helene! We love to hear how our guests find the charm of our beautifully-remodeled property as unique as we do. Many guests traveling to New Orleans seem to be trapped in the idea of something “New”. Why not enjoy the new with the old? Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to serving you on your return to the Crescent City!
Kenny Marrs - General Manager - French Quarter Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews