We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Fairchild is a good price, secure accommodations for New Orleans. The three of us had a very spacious room. The car was locked in the parking area, and we had a key to get into the gate for the houses. The breakfast was very good and served in a spacious room. The location is a block from the St Charles streetcar. The only 'downside' for our trip was the street car was not working several days because of Mardi Gras celebrations (also a block away from the B&B :)). Because of the location, we were easily able to walk back to the B&B from the French Quarter. The family owners were available during breakfast for conversation, tips, any help we needed. A good choice for New Orleans.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baprizigler, Owner at Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Yes, during Mardi Gras you have to walk a little more. With the parades rolling down St. Charles Avenue the streetcars are not able to run during those times.
So glad you had a good time. Thanks for taking the time to review the B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    57
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
21
88
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The Fairchild is really three different houses next door to each other. We stayed in the king balcony suite for the weekend. It was a great view and very large room. However, there were the little thing that was very diminishing. First the paint cracking off the wall. There is no door to the balcony so you have to use one of the three huge windows. It's easy enough to fit through, but the window in the parlor doesn't open correctly nor does it stay open. The parlor chairs are unsteady and tiny which makes for sitting longer than 20mins a real challenge. The balcony has "dollar store plastic lawn funiture" which should never be on the property, much less the first thing you see as you drive up to the Fairchild. Beatriz runs the place and is great with advice and tips for around the city. This makes for great breakfast chat. Overall it's a great place, but the little things hurts its overall feel. Simple fixes would really help this be a great place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baprizigler, Owner at Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your thoughts. I believe we have made and are currently making other changes to improve the look and the comfort of the suite.

We have fixed the cracks and painted the room. The plastic chairs have been replaced with some wicker chairs. There is no way around getting out onto the balconies. You do have to go through 2 out of the 3 the windows. The windows raise about halfway up and you do have to duck to go through it. We did not see an issue with it not staying open.

I am sorry you found the parlor chairs uncomfortable. They are little chairs. We are actually building a day bed in the parlor and hopefully that will be more comfy seating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Overall we had a good experience at the Fairchild. I appreciated the free and secured parking lot, it was very convenient. The room was clean and plenty large. There was even a little kitchenette which was great. I found the bed to be rather hard but my friends thought it was fine and I am rather picky when it comes to beds. Beatriz and her mother were very nice, and breakfast each morning was very good. Unfortunately the St Charles streetcar is not running that far so we had to take taxis everywhere but that is not their fault. The only negatives were there were a few stains on the bed sheets, water stains on the walls, very low water pressure in the shower (which Beatriz said she was looking into) and the door to the building was never locked. While we could lock our room door, the building door was never locked even at 1am. But I never felt unsafe because the property is surrounded by a locked gate. Overall it was a good experience and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katis1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baprizigler, Owner at Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
So glad you had a good stay. Some of our sheets got stains from bleach, but we have now replaced them . All sheets are nice and new! We seemed to have some water pressure with some rooms, but it look like it is all ok now. Also, one of the doors that did not lock automatically now has a key pad code to come in. This seems to work well for us.
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here with my mother in late September. We stayed for 4 nights and then moved to the French Quarter, but wish we had stayed here! The place is so charming and our breakfasts with the other guests and the owner, Beatriz and her mother were such a lovely way to start the day. Highly recommend. Nice little neighborhood, felt safe at all times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I loved this place. It had a personality and it was handy to everything: we walked to the WW2 museum, and it's a block off the St. Charles streetcar. Found plenty of bars and restaurants very close. Breakfast was great for us: fresh fruit, bagels, english muffins, cereal: and great coffee. Fridge and coffeepot in room. Beatriz was very personable and helpful with advice; saved us money. There is off street locked parking but the area is fine anyway and there's no problem with parking on the street.

Room Tip: Any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My little family of three wanted to take our summer vacation in NOLA to do the Audubon Experience, but didn't want to stay right at the quarter due to the often higher prices charged to stay there. We booked with Beatriz for last weekend and I'm SO happy we did. She gave us the perfect room to accommodate us, and was informative long before our stay. She called me the week of just to let me know that she would be out of town on her own little vacation, but that there would be someone there to greet us. We arrived and were never kept waiting, checked right in, and we're given an immediate tour of the facilities.
My first reaction was to the security: AMAZING. It's not located in a "bad" part of town, however you still like to know that your vehicle will be secure being parked for two days. 6-foot high+ iron privacy fence with key access and this included parking our car on site (for no extra charge!) A rarity in NOLA.
The room was nice and cool when we arrived and clean! We were happy to have cable as the Olympics had just begun that night :) The only tiny issue I had with the room at all was water pressure, however I'm quite sure that isn't due to the fault of the inn, but most likely the area we were staying. The air flow is more limited at night outside the rooms so it can get a bit musty should you walk down the hall. But in the morning everything is back to full speed and fresh.
Breakfast was a God-send as well! So many choices including breads, cereal, juices, cake and fruits. Another big money saver on top of an already great value! The bus and trolley stops are a block and a half up on St Charles and you'll have no trouble catching one to wherever you need to go. Restaurants are at the same corner and we ate dinner at two of them. Delich!
Thank you to Beatriz and the wonderful staff left in charge in her absence!! We will return and can't wait to see them again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jadeyes7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My aunts and I stayed at the Fairchild on 8/5/12 and 8/6/12. We really enjoyed our stay and Beatriz made sure we were comfortable. The property is old, but that is one of its attractions. If you want to stay in a plain vanilla cookie-cutter room, go to a chain establishment. If you’re looking for a place with character and charm, book the Fairchild. Both of the rooms we occupied were clean and well kept. We had maid service and fresh towels daily. The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of hot water and AC. The breakfast consisted of more food than the standard continental and everything was fresh. We loved the neighborhood and had no problem with parking on the street. Beatriz gave us a lot of insight about New Orleans’ attractions which helped in planning our days out. I would definitely stay here again if I return to the city. Thanks for a great time Beatriz!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eugenia_johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#111 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#92 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#23 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#57 of 138 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Garden District
Magnolia Mansion
Magnolia Mansion
#104 of 138 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1518 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairchild House b&b
Fairchild House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing