We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2014 in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“May 2014 in New Orleans”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The room we stayed in was large and with loads of character, as was the case with the B&B and with the people there - Karma & Ashton. The location is wonderful, a brisk 15-20 minute walk to the French Quarter area; yet quiet with memories of the 19th century when this home was constructed. We enjoyed the home, the breakfast, the hospitality, and the advice from Ashton for restaurants and Jazz off the beaten path. Kara was kind enough to advice on my wife's eye infection, and her recommendation was bang on and worked.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harshlohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    40
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
69
416
20
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014

If you are looking to de-thaw from a long winter and enjoy some southern hospitality at the same time, then Aston' B&B is an excellent choice. Patrick, Karma and staff where very polite and assisted with every need and question. My wife and I both enjoyed finishing our day with a cigar on the front porch. We stayed in the elegant Creole Queen room, with a large shower and tub, but I was really fond of the high tread count sheets. We also enjoyed walking along Esplanade Ave. with the old growth trees and Mansions. Patrick's savory breakfast was a nice way to start the day, plan on skipping lunch due to still being full.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a lovely place, big, comfortable and welcoming - which also describes the breakfasts. The 20-minute walk into town takes you through an interesting and characterful area. Parts are definitely on the way up (try the Swirl wine-shop a few blocks in the other direction). Parts are mildly scary, such as the local church with whiteboards detailing in black felt-tip pen all the recent local murders. Patrick, your host, is knowledgeable and gives good recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was great- fantastic location, we walked to the main centre everyday, it only took 20 mins. Patrick was a fantastic host and the breakfast was AMAZING! It was sooooo tasty and they catered for me being vegetarian - we didn't need to eat till our evening meal. The room was incredible and the bathroom we had was awesome. Also, I have to be honest the highlight for me was boots and Leon the friendly cats! The staff at Ashton's were really helpful and friendly, we hope to come back to New Orleans and we will be staying at Ashton's. Can't fault it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Absolutely, an enchanting experience. The breakfast fare is 5 star and quite filling so no need to rush off for lunch. Take your time and relax on the beautiful front porch or back courtyard. The rooms are exceptional with Victorian furniture and comfy bedding, everything is high quality amenities, ..down to the Pharoh shower !!! They provide a vast array of snacks and beverages to delight in 24/7 and really make you feel at home. This is the best B & B we have ever found and we definitely will return. About a mile or so walking to the main streets but if you want a cab it is only a few minutes wait. Also, there is a convienance store just across the street for anything else you may need to include beer and wine if desired. A FIVE STAR experience that will forever be cherished.

Room Tip: Jazz Festival - large bed with beautiful canopy. Lots of room to relax, very quiet and close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My family spent a Weekend at the Ashton's and had a wonderful time. Patrick was a an amazing host, offering advice and recommendations of where to eat. The House is beautiful and gives one the idea of life in the past in New Orleans. It is rare to feel relaxed in a B&B but all of us felt at ease there. Cannot recommend enough. By the way the sheets and shower are to die for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We booked the Cajun Kitchen Room (the only room left) for four nights in this beautiful B&B. The house is an 1890s building with a large, wide front veranda with over sized wooden rocking chairs for guests. The house is calm and there is a large front room for guests to enjoy with sweets and chocolates in bowls - just in case you're hungry. The long corridor leads to a large breakfast room with coffee, refrigerators with bottles of water, cans of sodas and yoghurts. There are also bowls of fruit, crackers and plenty of snacks to help oneself to. The hospitality shown by Patrick and Karma is outstanding. I can honestly say that I have never been treated this well in an hotel or B&B before (as will become apparent in a while).

We were shown to our room, the converted kitchen (beautifully I may add) complete with fireplace. Although not huge, our room and bathroom fulfilled all requirements. From a thermos jug of iced water, to good quality toiletries in the bathroom and the bowl of chocolates (oops, I didn't really need one more). Our room was off the courtyard and it was quite quiet. and was another good place to sit and relax. It was possible to hear some road noise, but it was unobtrusive.

There is free WiFi throughout the property. The parking is behind remote controlled gates although we did not drive into the FQ. We took cabs and it was about $9 to Jackson Square. It is possible to walk it, but we ended up doing so much walking throughout the day and night, we saved our legs at the beginning of the day.

The breakfast was made by Patrick every day and it was haute cuisine. There was so much of it that we should have shared one portion, but we didn't! It is the first time that I have had pudding for breakfast - Bananas Foster with sausage. Very good indeed. It certainly kept us full for most of the day.

We had booked for four days, but due to my inattention and the famed New Orleans pot holes, I ended up in Urgent Care on day two. Not a fracture, but it meant that we could not walk anywhere. We made the sad decision to return to Houston two days early and Karma and Patrick could not have been kinder. Karma is a nurse and so my foot was packed in a bag of ice wrapped in towels for the journey back and we vowed to return. We both thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthiegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,283 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,359 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 164 in New Orleans
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,615 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
480 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing