We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Breakfast You Can Imagine!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Best Breakfast You Can Imagine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I haven't stayed in many B&B's, but I can tell you that any in the future will have a lot to live up to after this stay! We stayed two nights at Ashton's before hopping on a cruise out of NOLA. The first thing we loved was the fact that the parking lot is gated! My husband is a car guy, so the thought of leaving our vehicles on the street while on vacation makes him a little nervous!
The B&B itself is sooo charming! We stayed in the Jazz Festival room and it was awesome! The bathroom shower is really something! Be aware that if you stay in this room there isn't much of a sound barrier to the parlor, so if you're a light sleeper or you like to sleep in late you may want to choose a room farther from the main portion of the house. We didn't have a problem sleeping, and as comfortable as the bed is I'm not sure I would've had a problem even if I was a light sleeper! Moving on, the hosts are amazing! They gave us all kinds of information on the house and the area, and let's not forget the breakfasts they prepare! HOLY moley! The best french toast I've ever had! They have everything you could imagine for snacks and drinks, amazing coffee, and yummy hot tea too! We didn't want to leave after eating there! We've already talked about coming back! You will not be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    40
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
68
403
20
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Ashton's Bed and Breakfast is a fabulous place to stay. Let me go back to our first visit..."14 years ago", our very first visit to New Orleans we stayed at Ashton's it was our first visit to the city as well as the very first time we stayed at a b&b. Karma and Patrick were so hospitable. They gave us dinner suggestions as well as places we could spend our day. The house and food were amazing and the people awesome. Because of that trip so long ago we now rate other b&b's to Ashton's standards. If they dont do it like Patrick and Karma we dont stay!!! Well we came back to New Orleans this weekend and ofcourse stayed at Ashton's. If we thought they were amazing 14 years ago let me tell you'll the are even more amazing today! The beautiful house, the fantastic food and the truely awesome people that run it!!! Wow!! They made our stay a memory we wont forget..... p.s. because of their suggestions on restaurants, and things to do 14 years ago we still visit thise locations today!! We also eat our eggs the way Karma made them so many years ago!!!! A must stay. We will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank datenightjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is a gem tucked away on one of the most beautiful streets in New Orleans. The owners have taken great pains to every detail possible. The breakfasts are gourmet..as good as any New Orleans restaurant. The Ashtons are wonderful hosts their staff are as well. It is safe, extremely comfortable,( I am going to order their bed linens) and very warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more quiet...in the front, larger. All rooms are wonderful with unique charact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiB1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My seven year old daughter, Ashton, and I stayed at the B+B in May 2013 for a girls' long weekend after a crazy year with a newborn at home. How could we pass up a place that shares her name? She thought she was famous! Since we had a newborn at home, I really wanted a nice, quiet room so I could sleep for the first time in months and that Ashton and I could spend some quality time together. We had a great time. Patrick was very patient with all of my questions and the breakfasts were amazing....Guy was very kind to Ashton when she tried new foods and there was no pressure for Ashton to act a certain way since she was the only child I saw there that time. We stayed in the main house and it was classy. If I return with our youngest I would probably stay in the courtyard rooms because she is almost two and into everything. I would worry about the beautiful things in the hallway and such. But that is my concern and not coming from anything Patrick commented on. If you have kids, the space in the backyard would save you for playtime or snacks if you wanted to be outside more. My husband and I are debating places for Spring Break and I hope that Ashton and I win out and can return with the whole family soon. This is a clean, classy place that is definitely doable with young kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our first B&B experience has set the standard high! Clean, beautiful inn with a nice location to typical tourist attractions. Patrick was helpful with making plans for dining and attractions. I wish I didn't dive into breakfast morning so quickly so I could have posted pictures of the food and presentation. The days alternated between sweet and savory so my husband and I were both satisfied. Overall, a fantastic experience that we would highly recommend and would return to in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I had never been to New Orleans before. We found Ashton's on trip advisor and we decided to try it. Our stay was wonderful! Patrick was such a great host. He helped us with reservations and choosing tours. The breakfasts were delicious. Everything about this bed and breakfast was first class. The amenities were wonderful and the bed and sheets were so comfortable. If we go back to New Orleans we will be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed in both the garden district and at Ashtons.' And we prefer Ashtons hands down! Esperanza is a quiet street filled with locals and houses that are being restored. It's very close to Dukey Chase, three blocks from the local bus and 20mins on foot (at a slow pace) to Frenchman street (near the rowdy Bourbon st). The breakfast was divine! This coming from foodies that ate at Mr. B's, Commander's Palace and Galatoire's! The hosts were extremely accommodating, super knowledgeable and just exuding with kindness. We will definitely be back and REALLY Recommend this gorgeous B&B to our friends and family! We loved the shower so much we bought a Hansgrohe for our master bedroom (the spray options, pressure and steam were so great after our long walks). We hated feeling an obligation to go places because we really wanted to enjoy our room and the space. Thank you for opening your home to us Patrick! (and a special thanks to Wendy who helped arrange my special Bday cake surprise for my husband)!

Sincerely,
Christopher & Emery Ortiz

Room Tip: No Way!! Then it won't be available when we want it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emery O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,872 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,200 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,815 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing