We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delightful B & B in New Orleans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful B & B in New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I visited this B & B years ago. It was easy to find and in a great location if you don't want to be in the heart of the French Quarter. It is close to city park and they have gated parking on the premises. The rooms are generously sized as is the homemade breakfast that will hold you way past lunch time. The owners had great suggestions on places to see and restaurants to enjoy. We were even given the name of an excellent bar tender at a restaurant in the french quarter who ended up being a colorful fellow. I would recommend this wonderful mansion to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    39
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
391
20
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was my first experience staying at a b&b. The property is just lovely and the furnishing are very nice. The owner was very helpful when we arrived starving and pointing us to a great restaurant in the French Quarter....Red Fish Grill....luv luv luv This was also my first time visiting New Orleans (husband had been previously) and the b&b's location was just great. We did take a taxi to the Quarter once but other days easily found parking. The breakfasts offered were just outstanding!!! I can't tell you how I looked forward to them.....again with our host being very gracious and accomodating. I can't wait to return! We had an outside room upstairs and I liked the freedom of coming and going without the feeling of disturbing anyone. I highly recommed this jewel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ready2Travel247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Karma and Patrick run a great B&B. The room was clean and the house was very comfortable. Breakfasts were fantastic (bananas foster waffles) and there were plenty of snacks out for guests at all times of the day (King cake!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedwig23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ashton's for a long weekend after reading the other great reviews on TripAdvisor that were certainly true. Patrick and everyone else at Ashton's were very welcoming and helpful, and the breakfasts were amazing! The B&B is a little outside the French quarter which my boyfriend and I didn't mind since we enjoyed walking and wanted to be somewhat removed from the hustle and bustle. For us it was a perfect relaxing getaway. Thanks Ashton's!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahfll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have traveled extensively all over the world and the US. This is hands down the best bed and breakfast we have ever found. We liked it so much we are already planning on going back next year.

We did walk back and forth from the French Quarter. I am cheap and bc of all the incredible food in area we felt we needed a little excerise. It took us about 20 minutes to the French Market.

Patrick and Karma are incredible hosts. The breakfast that they serve is just wonderful and part of the reason we walked everywhere. We stayed in the Bourbon Room which was bigger than anticpated. The tub was great to soak in after a long day of trudging around the city. Everything was immaculate and there was a well stocked fridge with drinks and yogurts in the dinning area. There was also a tremendous amount of snacks. The other benefit of this place is secure parking. Many other reviews discussed damage to cars. You will not experience this since the property is enclosed with a gate. If you leave this B&B unhappy, it has to be you. They are the most accomodating inskeepers I have ever had the pleasure of meeting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohbobcat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you think you have found the best place to stay in New Orleans, I bet you this is better,
Like many of the old B&Bs, Ashton's is full of unique rooms with the taste of the refined past prevalent in every touch.
The luxuriousness of the rooms in this listed building are matched by the decadent breakfasts served up by Pat and Karma, the people who make this more than just a place to stay.
Just stop reading reviews and make the booking online now, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Look online and shop for the room that suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fullerton,ca
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Everything from the reservation, to the greeting at the door, to the room, to the house decor, to the staff, to the surrounding gardens was great, but the breakfast AMAZING. You must try this place for a romantic getaway in New Orleans. It was a little further than we have stayed previously but the walk was pleasant and after the meals in New Orleans we needed it. If your not in the mood to walk, the taxi was on speed dial in your room and were always prompt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seah0rse_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,512 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,398 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing