We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Breakfast fit for a King & Queen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Everything from the reservation, to the greeting at the door, to the room, to the house decor, to the staff, to the surrounding gardens was great, but the breakfast AMAZING. You must try this place for a romantic getaway in New Orleans. It was a little further than we have stayed previously but the walk was pleasant and after the meals in New Orleans we needed it. If your not in the mood to walk, the taxi was on speed dial in your room and were always prompt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seah0rse_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 770 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

I recently stayed at Ashton's Bed and Breakfast for the second time, so happy to have returned to this lovely establishment. Patrick and Karma, the owners, are incredibly welcoming, knowledgeable about the area, and manage an experience for their guests that is beyond perfect. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, with modern bathrooms and fine linens. An overnight stay includes an amazing breakfast, and coffee, tea, other beverages and snacks are always available. Don't miss this wonderful place on your next visit to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, complete descriptions are available on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I don't think you could ask for much more in a bed and breakfast than this place. For starters, the breakfast itself is some of the best you will ever have. Lavish, delicious, and unique everyday. There are snacks, drinks, and even beer that are available 24 hours a day. The house and the rooms are immaculate, grand, yet cozy. Quintessential place to stay for the weekend. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biff6303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Ashton's was our first experience at a B&B in New Orleans (we have stayed at hotels before). The location is not ideal for those who want to be in the middle of the hustle-bustle, but it is conveniently located a short cab ride away from Bourbon Street (the fare is about 8-10 dollars), and it is quiet and comfortable, helping you relax once you leave the streets. It has a lovely front porch for lounging, two very sweet and friendly cats, and the house decorations for Christmas were just lovely. We stayed there while the owners were out, but our "inn-siter" Wanda was very kind (even though she was still getting the hang of things) and Carolyn was very competent and nice. The room was small, but comfortable and the tub was just amazing (we stayed at Bourbon Street). The pictures on their website were not updated for this room, but the main difference is the bed, and we actually prefered the one that was there. Breakfast is delicious and very, very rich, so forget about any dieting while in town!

Room Tip: I do recomend the patio rooms for those who prefer a quieter environment. We loved the tub in the Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nassara_Thome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

There are many gorgeous hotels and inns throughout New Orleans. Each has its own unique decor and style. However, when searching for the best place for our honeymoon retreat, we decided on Ashton's. The facility itself is absolutely gorgeous and definitely makes you feel as though you have gone back in time. The decor is fascinating as well, as each room has its own theme. My husband and I stayed in the Creole Queen room, which was painted a romantic red and had an open, inviting layout. Patrick and Karma, the owners, helped us feel at home as well. Patrick provided us with a little tour of the grounds and offered directions and ideas for things to see. They also prepared an AMAZING breakfast for us in the morning, which we shared with the other guests. It was a fantastic meal and a wonderful retreat from the busy French Quarter. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the main building, but in the garden area that provided a small shared balcony be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Beautyful period home that imbides the spirit of New Orleans. The Christmas decorations and helpful staff made our stay feel as tho we were with family. Oh, and the food...did I mention the food??? To die for!!

Room Tip: Patio rooms were quite and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The house is gorgeous and very well cared for. During Christmas season, the ornaments make it an even more special place. My room (Jazz Festival) was extremely confortable and it was the most beautiful bed I´ve ever slept in! On top of it all, breakfast was unbelievable! Althought it´s not in walking distance of the French Quarter or Frenchmen St, the neighbourhood is adorable and it´s very easy to get a cab. I´m already dying to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarissaLacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
503 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 142 in New Orleans
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 142 in New Orleans
946 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#6 of 142 in New Orleans
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $150 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing