We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic experience with friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Authentic experience with friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This charming B&B is on historic Esplanade Avenue (safe and only a fifteen minute walk from the Quarter). The house was built in 1861 and rooms retain an authentic feel with some period pieces. It's nice to sip a drink on the porch and relax, which we needed.

The service was excellent and the owner is friendly and very knowledgeable about this great city.

The breakfasts were delicious and decadent.

Small recommendation: the owners might wan to invest in pull down shades for the rooms. It's hard to sleep late given the brightness.

This is a great place. We have already told friends about it and they plan to book a stay there next year. We'll be back. Much more meaningful than a large hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BramStoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    40
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
68
403
20
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our first trip to New Orleans and what made it more special was it was our honeymoon! We could not have picked a better place to stay! It was absolutely wonderful!! Patrick and Karma were such gracious hosts. Our room, The Jackson,was so beautiful and cozy. It was so nice to be able to sit on the porch in the evening on rockers and just relax and enjoy the cool breeze!
The breakfast every morning we were there was absolutely exceptional! Patrick is a genius in the kitchen! We had snacks, coffee, drinks, and cigars available to us at no additional charge. We were even provided with maps and helpful information on great things to do and places to eat around the city! We would definitley suggest Ashton's to anyone looking for a nice get-away!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our first trip to NewOrleans and our first stay at a bed and breakfast.We searched on line and chose Ashtons Bed and Breakfast, based on reviews,pictures,and price.Ashtons did not disappoint.The mansion was wonderful,we were greated warmly by our hosts.The room Creole was beautiful ,clean well maintained,and very quiet.Breakfast was EXCEPTIONAL.Snacks and coffee,soda, were made available anytime,with no charge.Our host provided us with maps and info on New Orleans which made our tour of the city easy.We highly recommend Ashtons to any one traveling to New Orleans,you cannot go wrong!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend at Ashton's. It was my husband's 40th birthday weekend. It was just what I was hoping for and more! Great food! Beautiful room! Nice people! Wonderful decor! I would suggest this to anyone who is looking for a nice get-away!

Room Tip: There is no pool and fitness area....so that is the only reason I put a row score.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ashton's set a new standard for me in my B&B experience.
A well restored and decorated old New Orleans home with spacious rooms and baths create an environment for relaxation and retreat from the day's activities. The carefully prepared, tasty and imaginative breakfasts are culinary delights crafted by Patrick and set the stage for lingering around the table, chatting with the other guests. Conversation naturally spills over to the comfortable and well decorated parlor, the quiet backyard beneath the old live oak, or the rocking chairs on the front porch.
Amenities abound to assure your comfort and sense of being a welcome guest: very comfortable beds with luxurious linens, fine soaps and shampoo, candy (mints and chocolates are never out of reach); 24 hours-a-day, the dining area is filled with fruit and a variety of snacks, 2 refrigerators well-stocked with water, juice and beer, as well as coffees and teas in assortment.
Patrick and Carma are the kind of affable, warm and accommodating hosts you hope to find in a B&B. They have a ready smile and are attentive to your every need; to make yours a great experience, they don't hesitate to graciously go out of their way without ever letting you feel you have inconvenienced them. (Patrick lent me his fleece so I wouldn't miss a morning's run, when the temperature unexpectedly plunged!)
Ashton's suburban neighborhood, Esplanade ridge, is just 2 miles from the Convention Center and a little less to the French Quarter. This was the perfect combination of convenience and relaxing escape from the business- and tourist parts of my trip.
Why would I ever stay in a NOLA hotel ever again?

Room Tip: Handicap accessibility is well done. The rooms are well-lit, quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Overall an excellent stay. The house is beautiful, beds are extremely comfortable, and the breadfast was amazing. I appreciated Patrick's attention to detail. Any need you could possibly have will be met.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wdevening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The house is immaculate and a superbly maintained old home. Tastefully decorated and (solid) period furniture. Nothing is overdone with doilies, or lace, or tchochkies. Beautiful rooms that are clean and well appointed. Quality amenities... whirlpool jet tub, lots of thick towels, high-end soaps and shampoos, plenty of hot water, comfy bedding and more. Fantastic outdoor space in back under a grand old oak tree and off-street parking. Breakfasts are delicious and very filling; big servings of foods like french toast or spinach crepes always covered in rich syrups or creamy sauces...no light fare here. Staff are polite and work hard. Owner Patrick is great with ideas and practical help...we chose to take the bus to different places and he gave us several ways to do it. Even better,he is very knowledgeable about NOLA and its history...great discussions about everything from creole culture and how it shaped the neighborhoods, to the origins of "who dat?" Only one caveat...Be prepared to accept, or like us embrace, the fact that the location is a bit off the beaten path-taxis,buses,walking or driving will be necessary to get around.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a HUGE bathroom...as big as the bedroom. Two-person whirlpool tub and separate shower(als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MABEL_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,868 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,810 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing