We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we've ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is by far the best B&B we have stayed in. Our hosts, Patrick and Karma, were extremely gracious and accomodating. They knew everything about NOLA and how to get everywhere and how to experience everything we came to visit New Orleans for. The breakfasts were truly gourmet and filling. We had rain one morning and the coffee and conversation was so good that all of us who were staying just hung out conversing about anything and everything. It felt so comfortable. Speaking of comfortable, the beds were just right, the showers were luxurious, the soaps smelled so good and everything was always clean, neat and tidy. It is truly the only way to experience NOLA. Thank you. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chiquis926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 761 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently stayed at Ashton's and had a wonderful time. It was our first time staying at a B&B and we're converts now. The house and furnishings are amazing. We stayed in the Creole Queen room and the bathroom was as big as our room. Very romantic!!! The breakfasts Patrick prepared were better than anything we had in town. Sweet potato stuffed french toast and Eggs Sardou. Since our room wasn't reserved for our check out night, Patrick was very gracious and let us have a late check out. We will be staying here again!!!!

Room Tip: The Creole queen room has a bathroom as big as the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I can't say enough good things about Ashton's. Patrick and Karma are just a joy to visit (it helps that they're avid Saints fans!). Because of Hurricane Isaac, it was difficult to confirm the date when we'd check in, but Patrick was unfailingly friendly, flexible, and incredible accommodating. When we arrived on a blisteringly hot day, he was thoroughly charming and friendly. Our room (Room 4, first floor on the left) was truly perfect, with a big bed I wanted to pack up and take home with me. The furniture was picked out with great care, and the room's decorations were tasteful and welcoming. I loved the shower, too!

And then there's breakfast. Really, what can you say? The coffee with chicory is delicious, of course, but both mornings we were treated to the tastiest, heartiest, true New Orleans meals. We spent some time in the courtyard enjoying the peaceful atmosphere under the huge live oak, and both my wife and I found Karma and Patrick to be two of the best innkeepers we've ever met.

I know that visitors to NOLA always want to stay in the Quarter and nowhere else, but you truly owe it to yourself to seriously consider Ashton's Bed and Breakfast. Patrick and Karma will remind you what real graciousness is, and in an unforgettable setting, to boot.

Room Tip: We loved room 4, but I can't imagine there's a bad room in the entire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Living in Europe for the last 30+ years I have stayed at lots and lots of B & Bs on the continent and Great Britain. But this is by far the BEST one of all. The decor is lovely with each room getting a different special touch. ( The bathroom in the Jazz Suite was amazing. This room is inhabited by a "Sleeping Spirit" because we slept like logs in that big ol' bed!) The amenities are generous and give the stay a "homey" touch. The courtyard beckons for relaxing hours smoking or enjoying the mild moist air sitting in the shade under the huge tree. Shall we talk about Patrick's breakfast creations???? Simply scrumptious. And after such a breakfast you can sight-see the city until supper without hunger pangs.

Room Tip: The Jazz Suite sleeps 3 easily. A big roomy space well-appointed in period furniture and modern com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Patrick and Karma did everything to make it an enjoyable stay: Patrick enjoyed cooking great breakfasts (we are talking true meals here!), Karma gave some Mardi Gras-style hat to our daughter to wear on Thanksgiving day (local tradition). They gave us perfect advices for restaurants and places to go.
B&B is great, good location, easy to walk to French Quarter and encounter some local peculiarities along the way, perfectly clean, room was more than spacious. We really loved it. Glad all is well after Isaac! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaWestPalmBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here just before Hurricane Isaac. The bed and breakfast is really cute and homey and Patrick and Karma are very friendly and welcoming. My review is based on what I feel was really good customer service from them both.

Breakfast: The breakfasts were elaborate and prettily served. A different beautiful creation was served every morning. Good breakfast! If you are vegetarian/vegan like me, let them know before you arrive and they will customize breakfast for you.

Location: Not the best part of town, parts of the street seemed a bit questionable, but we weren't worried about safety or anything like that. My husband and I walked to the French Quarter and we thought it was a very nice walk. However, we did take a taxi on our return. A taxi ride can average between $8-$9.

Accommodations: We actually stayed in 2 different rooms because the room that I originally wanted was booked our first two nights at the BB. The French Quarter room is a bit on the small side but has all the amenities needed for a very comfortable stay. The bathroom has a jetted tub and everything is clean and in order. We also stayed in the Creole Queen which has a magnificent bathroom, jetted tub, huge shower. Its the greatest bathroom! Both rooms had flat screen tv's and very comfortable beds!

Unfortunately, the air conditioning in our first room wasn't working and we spent two very hot nights. However, as soon as I informed Patrick of the problem, he set out to fix it. Fortunately the next night we moved to our second room, and that air conditioning was perfect. The great customer service came into play because even though I told him about the problem too late to call in a handyman, he attempted to fix the problem right away, and we were not charged for the night we spent without air conditioning. Also, we had to check out early because of the impending storm, and Patrick did not charge us for early check out.

Patrick and Karma, thank you for allowing us to share our last few days together at your establishment. We hope you guys rode out the storm well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shacheb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was dropping my son off at college for the 1st time (Tulane).What a perfect stay! It is a truly beautiful home. great locale, meticulously clean. The colonial French architecture of the house, inside and out made it that much more interesting. My cousin was staying in a nearby hotel and I insisted that she come in so I could give her a tour of the 1st floor and backyard patio garden!
Safety was not an issue at all. Karma and Patrick could not have been more accommodating! If I could I'd give it 6 stars!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimM1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,527 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,786 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
489 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $187 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans
Ashton`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing