We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Ranked #41 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay!”
Reviewed May 2, 2007

I just returned from a weekend at Jazzfest. The Banana Courtyard is so convenient- just a short bus ride away. Hugh and Mary were perfect hosts- really helpful in arranging anything we requested- like how to get to the Garden District and tour the city all day with a bus pass. They go out of their way to give special attention to details and personal requests. We arrived early the day before Jazzfest, and our room was ready. No hassles like being in a hotel. Everything is always clean and comfortable and quiet. We particularly enjoyed some of the other guests this year and had lively conversations at breakfast.

I've lost count of how many times I've been to the Banana Courtyard- but I go at least once a year to hear music and enjoy this magical place. This year I discovered an absolutely wonderful African restuarant in their neighborhood, next to Mona Lisa's restaurant on Royal St-- inexpensive and very tasty. It was great to get away from the crowds who come in for the festival. We also went down to Frenchaman St- a short walk from the B&B to eat where the locals eat. And of course we headed into the French Quarter to browse art and antique galleries and catch more music.

Overall- fabulous weather, food, music and hosts. The interior furnishings of the Banana Courtyard are gorgeous and definitely worth the trip!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzcheslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    65
    21
    27
    13
See reviews for
51
139
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Rooms are comfy and cozy. Air conditioning worked great. Hosts are pleasant and breakfast adequate (though fresh fruit and bottled water were not replenished during our 4 days). Good walk (about 2.5 miles) to Jazzfest

There is a problem with the plumbing in this establishment and it nearly ruined our experience. The water pressure (not attributable to Katrina) was so poor that at times it stopped entirely, leaving my wife stranded with shampoo and soap in the shower more than once. No hot water, no cold water, and then perhaps just a trickle. We found out other guests experienced the same problem; one across the hall from us on the 2nd floor and another on the first floor.

I had expected the proprietors to immediately get a plummer in to solve the problem, and was bothered by their unwillingness to take action even though it was a weekend. Their offer of a discount if we should ever come back was insufficient compensation. We should have recieved a credit back.

I would not recommend this place unless and until the water situation is remedied and even then, be aware that problems are not necessarily going to be addressed with the urgency one would expect.

Bob

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank levinebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

Stayed a few nights & we found it both reasonable and comfy for the price. The younger gal greeted us with a cold drink and was informative in providing detials of the area and places to eat. My preference was the room with the balcony over the room inside the main house. I will say that I was irritated because there was lack of communication on the staffs part with our transferring to another room. The notes all over the place were also overdoing it. Relax with all the post it's. It's a small B&B so I suppose it could happen. One night we did hear gun shots but that didn't kept us from going out. Because it's on Rampart I was hesistant in booking a night there especially seeing what was next door...is that a homeless drug clinic?

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable rooms.
  • Disliked — The area looks unsafe.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank travelhappygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Went to NOLA with two friends - first visit to the city. We stayed at Banana Courtyard for 2 nights and I didn't want to leave. If you like eclectic decor and friendly personal service, this is the place for you. I prefer this to the cold, detached feel of a hotel. We met some very interesting people, enjoyed the company of Hugh at breakfast, were given a lot of useful information by Laurie and generally enjoyed the experience. It is so close to the French Quarter and, no, we didn't feel unsafe or threatened in any way walking home after dark. In fact, Laurie told us exactly which route to take to avoid trouble. I will definitely stay there again, and in fact I plan to take my teenage daughter next time.

  • Liked — Friendly welcome and location
  • Disliked — Lugging our bags up the stairs - but the balcony was worth the work
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nola21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

Clean, friendly, accomodating.

Rented 3 rooms for 3 nights for 3 couples. All rooms had very nice furnishings, mini-fridge, microwave, cable TV. Whirlpool bathtub (single person). Even the smallest of rooms (the Cajun Quarters) was bigger and better appointed than 5 star european rooms, so if you are a frequent traveler - you will not be disappointed. This place is a B & B and functions like one. If you want your behind kissed every time you enter the place or if you prefer sterile-generic hotel furnishings...this place isn't for you. However, if you want a comfortable, unique, place to sleep that is also a GREAT home-base from which to explore New Orleans - this is your place. You are a 5 minute walk from the eastern edge of the French Quarter (15 minutes easy walk to Cafe Dumond). There is a small corner market right two blocks away (to stock up on sodas and snacks, get newspapers etc.). The location is fantastic.

Outstanding concierge-type services (where to eat, when to go various places to get good service/avoid crowds). The continental breakfast was simple and spare, but quite adequate.

Richard, our host for most of the weekend, and Mary (the owner), were extremely helpful and very friendly.

We'll definitely use them next time we stay in N.O.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank navytravelers115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2007

Very charming, cozy, pretty place. It feels like grandma's home, except better. great friendly breakfast, free sodas, beer and wine.
We loved our stay there! the only problem was the shower: very little pressure, not much hot water. I guess that's what you get for wanting the historic feel!

Valentine, Memphis.

  • Liked — family home feel
  • Disliked — shower/hot water
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank frenchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

This place made my trip all that more special. When we arrived, Laurie was waiting for us at the door to welcome us in. She gave us a presentation of the place, along with a tour and some of the rich history the walls have held for so many years. After settling in, Hugh walked us thru a few blocks to get us acquinted with Nawlins! And Mary was everything you could ask for in a host. We felt so warm and at home at the courtyard that it was hard to leave. It was like staying at grandma's house, with a drunk neighbor. I can't wait to get back to see my New Orlean's family.

  • Liked — The people
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank virginiaslim1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#38 of 140 in New Orleans
279 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#11 of 140 in New Orleans
570 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#43 of 140 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 140 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
934 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B

Property: 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Address: 1422 N Rampart St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ooh la la. Naughty. In 1800s, bordello catering to society's elite. Bed and breakfast now, great location, we're at Gateway to French Quarter from I-10. French Quarter 1/2 block, Bourbon St. 3 blocks. Romantic balcony suite, courtyard, hammock, porch swing, antiques, MARDI GRAS costumes. Lagniappe: don't just visit New Orleans - live it like a local with our Insider Eguides: music, dancing, restaurants, food, history, culture, sightseeing. Yesiree, rates incl. tax, free local phone calls, Wi-Fi, soft drinks, bottled water, & Continental PASTRY breakfast with coffee, hot water for tea, grits, oatmeal, at least 1 pastry from nearby bakery, fresh fruit, and toast. Other stuff like cereal or yogurt, gluten by request. 23 years, 50% of guests cal us quirky & keep returning, we've got lots of antiques and each room has a special theme +is different. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Bed And Breakfast
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing