We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$179
$153
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$116
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$138
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$111
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$299
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
240
68
22
27
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
68
22
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshexagon roombed and breakfastfrench quarterhome away from homegreat hostsmardi grasother guestsinn keepersfrenchman streetchain hotelsecure parkingvisiting nolacrescent cityfew blocksan easy walkyogurtjackson square
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 371 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Visited Nola for 2 weeks in may with my parents and stayed at the Banana Courtyard for the whole of our visit.Husband and i stayed in the Cajun Quarters and parents stayed in the Balcony suite.Mary and Hugh very nice people but Richard stole the show as his breakfasts were varied and delicious,eg.various fruits,breads,preserves,coffee and fruit juices,plus the fact that he is a very pleasent and informative man.Richard brightened our days up especially my mothers as they took a shine to each other.
The only negative point is that when we went out in the morning some one would come into our rooms and switch off our ceiling fans which meant when we got back to our rooms the heat was unbearable.
Banana Courtyard is well situated if you enjoy walking(which we do)We never once felt threatened even though there is a drop in centre next door.there are a few little grocery shops within a short distance,one of them open 24/7.
Richard i would like to thank you for arranging the kettle for my mum you really made her vacation and we all miss you. xxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kymberliScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We went as a group of three couples. Stayed in the balcony rooms and had that section to ourselves. It is a walk to most of the attractions through a city but with our group we never really felt unsafe.
Great hosts but it is an older place so do not expect the Ritz.

But for us we needed beds and showers so who cares. They were very helpfull with ideas of what to see or where to go if you told them what you liked.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmc1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

I stayed in the Hexagon room at the Banana Courtyard and was enchanted with my room. For a 1 week stay the size of the room was perfect as was the clawfooted tub in my bathroom. We were picked up at the airport by "Stanley" who takes great care of Mary's clients. We were greeted at the B&B by Mary who helped us settled in, then had a glass of wine with us before showing us the way to Bourbon Street. She also recommended at great place for dinner (Coops Place) and told us where to find a wine store. We were served a wonderful light breakfast (toast, yogurt, muffins, homemade jellies, fruit , juice and coffee) every morning. Her husband Hugh is quite the story teller.
On days that Mary and Hugh were away from the B&B we were graciously taken care of by their Major Domo Richard. What a charming and caring man. He loved to hear about your adventures of the day. Raynette the general manager took great care in cleaning our room and even took care of extra blankets for my aunt.
I felt like I was in my own home as I was so comfortable here. I even went to breakfast in my pajamas. I met wonderful people staying here as guests and we shared lots of stories. The courtyard is a wonderful place to sit and sip a beverage or enjoy a dinner of leftovers. The location is bit of a walk from the Bourbon Street action but it was nice to be away from the crowds. At no time did I ever feel unsafe regardless of the time we came in at night. That says alot for two single women. This is not a high class hotel but a small friendly B&B where they really seem to care that you have a wonderful holiday. I will tell all my Canadian to stay here if they ever come to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellbellecalgaryAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Just visited New Orleans for the first time with two friends (so a group of 3 girls), and had an amazing experience, in no small part due to the hospitality Mary, the "banana lady," showed us. She gave us perfect recommendations and showed us around the neighborhood the first night, even though we arrived at 11 PM. The room we stayed in at the B & B was clean, pleasant, and quirky! If you're looking for standard fare, business executive high-rise hotel, this is not the place for you... but if you want a place to stay that has a lot of character and charm, this is the place. It's just outside the French Quarter, which, if you'd actually like to get some sleep during Mardi Gras, is an advantage. It's a really quick walk to the center of town, and the townhouse at the Plantation Compound (where we also stayed) is roomy, clean, wonderufl beds, and also not too far from the action! One of my best B & B experiences yet!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donttrustelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We have done so many B&B's in our travels - that we can not do anything else if we can help it - I have to admit though that I was dreading this one - I was afraid that I would see devastation still from the Hurricane - but was so surprised - not even one problem.

We like others did - left our car there and walked to the French Quarters - no driving for us - and the people there were so fantastic and helpful with places to see and places to eat.

We will be back again - felt like family while we were there.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utravelwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews