We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Ranked #41 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam NY
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I have been to Banana Courtyard a number of times, and each time it only gets better and better. It feels like a home instead of a cookie cutter. It is different each time we go. The owners are the best they love their city and care about their guests. All the staff puts their heart into what they do and it shows. Stanley Lane cab service is the only one we would ever take, they too take care of their guests in their car. All of these people are the true meaning of southern hospitality.

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananacour, Manager at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, responded to this review, February 27, 2016
After 23 years, we've become friends with so many guests. We appreciate your very kind words.

Stanley, who operates the car service, in the USA, probably the only taxicab driver who guests hug when he drops them off at the B&B, after a short orientation of the area. That's the person who needs the praise. Our guests arrive fresh and relaxed, ready to enjoy what the French Quarter has to offer. And he has them prepared for where to go for their 1st few meals. His only warning is , "Have some to eat 1st," Wise advise,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    65
    21
    27
    13
See reviews for
51
139
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I recently stayed at the Banana Courtyard for a week with friends for our trip to New Orleans for
Mardi Gras.
I came across this quite eccentic looking house on the website based on the photos and the crammed website with everything you need to know about the place and I do mean everything !
I contacted Mary and arranged our stay and payment schedule and the long wait for the holiday began.
On arrival in New Oreleans we used the b&bs reccomended taxi driver service and it was Stanleys wife who met us at the airport, another friendly and welcoming person who gave us plenty of tips on the way to the b&b about the area and what to do and where to eat and ofcourse what to drink !
On arrival at the b&b we were greeted by Cory the manager, Mary and Hugh were away on their own holiday at the time. Cory is a great guy who couldnt have been more helpful if he tried including taking us to his local bar for a few drinks and a few games of pool which i very kindly let him win being a guest in the country and all ;)
Once you get him going he has some great stories to tell too.
The b&b is just as it looks in the photos and more, absolutely cluttered with memorabillia from past mardi gras and items from all over the world but this made it feel even more special.
I have called the banana courtyard a b&b but we were made to feel welcome and it was more like a home. Yes the bathrooms are a bit dated and the showers a little bit slow and under pressure and for me being 6' 5" also a lit bit low with the shower head, but this is all pretty much said on the website and becomes insignificant with the feeling og the place and the warmth of the people.
Breakfast was also very much a family feeling with all the guest sharing the large dining table with fresh pastries and toast and juice etc all supplied for you, everyone mingled and got to
fine out a little about one another and advice on what to do or had been done, this was a great way to meet new people and we met some lovely people doing so.
To sum up, if you want to stay anonimous, spend your time in a spotless but stale atmosphere of a blank canvas hotel then by all means there are plenty to choose from if, however, you want to be made to feel like family and experience a bit of the real New Orleans hospitality then i whole heartedly reccomend the Banana Courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My sisters and I decided to Get Away to New Orleans to shop, tour, listen to great music and eat wonderful food. We truly enjoyed our stay with Mary and Hugh. We felt like we were members of their family. Gerald, is a great asset to the Bed and Breakfast, providing, efficient and gracious service.
Lastly, our thanks go to Stanley, the driver that the Bed and Breakfast uses to pick up and deliver guest to the airport for his great stories, he is an ambasodor for New Orleans. We would definitely stay at the 1870 Bannana Courtyard again.
Yours truly,
The Jersey Girls: Jane, Betsy and Clare

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlef0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at the Banana Courtyard for a few days and I wished we could have stayed longer! The people there are very helpful and friendly. Despite not being allowed to cook breakfast the breakfast was great with the pastries and fruit and the fresh jams and other toppings available. We definitely left full in the mornings. Hugh was a great host and was very entertaining any time we asked him about what we should check out or where we should try and go to eat he always had good recommendations and stories to go with them. His stories were a great addition to the breakfast. If you can catch him at a down time in the breakfast service, he had many stories about the house and other various things and it was extremely entertaining.
The location was phenomenal! We walked down through the french quarter every day and it was beautiful. If you enjoy walking around, this was a great location to start from. We went to a couple different attractions and we were able to walk down the shops on Royal St. or the bars on Bourbon St. and see all that was going on and it was a short walk from the BnB. The other great thing about the location is since it is just far enough removed from crazy part of Bourbon St, if you want to go back and go to sleep you definitely can.
We stayed in the Cajun room and loved it! The room was very comfy and clean. There is also a nice balcony to sit on the nice days if you just wanted a nice quiet area to sit and read or sit and have a drink.
I would definitely recommend this if you're looking to hang out in the french quarter and want a great BnB experience. If you want the sterile cookie cutter of a Marriott, et al., this isn't it, but that's the great part about the Banana Courtyard.
Also ask for Stan the driver to pick you up from the airport if you're flying in. He is super entertaining and a great person to ask about places to go and see in the city. made even the ride to and from the airport a good time.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are (obviously) the only ones that have access to the balcony over the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with friends myself and my wife were in the Madame steamboat room and our friends stayed in the pirates attic and carriage quilt room all rooms were great. Corey (the house manager) was a fantastic host always helpful and full of advice on where to visit and eat etc, all in all a great place to stay

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sqwiub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time here, Cory was SOOOO helpful getting us around here giving ideas for great places to dine where the locals eat, he really just went out of his way for us, thanks again Cory for all your help!!!!! Btw this is a very beautiful place and very historic......can't wait to come back HOPEFULLY in 2015

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jacque1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Had a fabulous time at the B&B, however was very disappointed by the new rules in New Orleans that do not allow B&B's to serve breakfast. As that is part of the charm, we were disappointed by that. Our room was clean and the hospitality was superb. Corey met our every need with a smile. Would recommend it to others.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#37 of 140 in New Orleans
279 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#11 of 140 in New Orleans
570 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 140 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#42 of 140 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
480 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B

Property: 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Address: 1422 N Rampart St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ooh la la. Naughty. In 1800s, bordello catering to society's elite. Bed and breakfast now, great location, we're at Gateway to French Quarter from I-10. French Quarter 1/2 block, Bourbon St. 3 blocks. Romantic balcony suite, courtyard, hammock, porch swing, antiques, MARDI GRAS costumes. Lagniappe: don't just visit New Orleans - live it like a local with our Insider Eguides: music, dancing, restaurants, food, history, culture, sightseeing. Yesiree, rates incl. tax, free local phone calls, Wi-Fi, soft drinks, bottled water, & Continental PASTRY breakfast with coffee, hot water for tea, grits, oatmeal, at least 1 pastry from nearby bakery, fresh fruit, and toast. Other stuff like cereal or yogurt, gluten by request. 23 years, 50% of guests cal us quirky & keep returning, we've got lots of antiques and each room has a special theme +is different. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Bed And Breakfast
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing