We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location to the French Quarter in a unique setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Ranked #39 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This B&B very close to everything you would want to see on a short trip to New Orleans. The staff were personable and helpful. The location was convenient for walking to Frenchmen St, the French Market, the river, Decatur St, and Bourbon St. We stayed in the Madame Steamboat Room, the Balcony Room and the Mardis Gras room. Our favorite was the Balcony Room. If you are not driving, make sure you arrange for your airport transfers through Stanley Lane( 504) 563-3930 He is a great introduction to the New Orleans experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernagoldkuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 355 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed in the Cajun room at Banana Courtyard. We truly enjoyed our stay! It's walking distance to everything in the French Quarter, so you can leave your car & forget your worries. The Cajun room is cozy & comfortable. We had a very relaxing, romantic week. Maybe its Oooh La La past contributes to its charm or maybe it's simply the hosts & decor. Whatever....it's a great place to stay a while!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The place is absolutely fantastic ! The entrance gives the customer a straight idea of the atmosphere. The walls are covered with eclectic pictures and ornaments, creating an extremely warm atmosphere. It reminds me a little bit of the secret cellar of the Moulinsart castle in Tintin ... French speakers will understand the reference !

The bedrooms are as welcoming and charming as the rest of the house, and the customer feels at home right away.

Tea, coffee, water are available everywhere in the house and one can have some whenever, it is very convenient !

Hugh and Mary, the owners, are very very nice, and the house seems to be a reflection of their state of mind : real characters, very funny and eclectic !
The other people working at the B$B are sweethearts, and it makes the whole experience even nicer !

I haven't mentioned the location yet, which is wonderful ! And the breakfast, soo yummy !!

Banana Courtyard is definitely THE place to go !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estellepauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Mary, Hugh, and all the staff were very personable, a wealth of information and provided great recommendations on where to go and what to see. The Banana courtyard is right on the edge of the French Quarter and provides the best of both New Orleans! Bourbon St is a 5 minute walk, but the B&B provides again escape from that craziness! Being on the edge of the French Quarter also makes it easier to get picked up to do a driving tour or get back to the airport.
The only minor downside was a lack of hot water on our first morning, but that's kind of expected when 6 people are using the shower in short order in an old house with a system that isn't exactly set up to handle cold outside temperatures!
Nonetheless, we enjoyed our stay and would very likely stay here again if we're back in New Orleans!

Room Tip: If you want added privacy and have a group, book all 3 balcony rooms!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tbweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We loved our stay here. Hugh and Mary are very experienced in providing a unique home away from home. Their local knowledge is exceptional and they are more than willing to spend time helping you plan your activities. The rooms are fabulous and we are more than happy to put up with any quirks in exchange for a fascinating historical home.
We found it an easy walk to any part of the French Quarter and the journey was always fascinating. We could as easily caught public transport.
It is not a place for people who want the bland perfection of the large chain hotels but this should be obvious. Stay away if you prefer this style!
For us, we can't wait to return one day and stay much longer.
A special thank you to Mary who assisted me in organising an urgent medical specialist appointment for when we arrived. She really cared about my problem and I felt that she would have done anything almost to assist me. Deeply appreciated Mary.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be fine. We stayed in the Hexagon and our tall son slept on the single b...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryrosomane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Hugh and Mary welcomed us with open arms and a warm heart. We stayed in the Madame Steamboat room and loved the decor, it had a real New Orleans feel. The location is "off the beaten path" but we walked to Frenchman, Boubon, Decatar etc. during day and night and never felt in danger. The only drawback to the location is N. Rampart Street which is a busy loud street but that issue is resolved by earplugs. When we return we will stay again.

Room Tip: Review the rooms available and determine which best suits your needs.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The location was too far to walk to the French Quarter and not safe enough to walk to the local area (Frenchman Street)- The whole Bed and Breakfast House needs overhauled- Too much clutter, we stayed in the Hexagon Room- The bathroom was a joke- You had to squat down to take a shower and had to turn the H2O on 20 minutes before for hot water. Breakfast was a piece of toast (glad I couldn't see the kitchen) or a pastry. Not worth the money- Nice people, but IT NEED CLEANING AND DECLUTTERING
The steps going into the hotel were moldy and high -very dangerous - Had to carry luggage up stairs- If I could have gotten my money back, I would have paid twice the amount and moved, but there are no refunds.

Room Tip: Find a room that has been updated
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makkkkko2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananacour, Manager at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

We urge guests to let us know if they are not happy with anything at the B&B, while they are HERE. We regret that you did not point out what we could have done to improve your experience at the B&B DURING your stay, when we could have taken immediate remedial action.

REFUNDS: Even though we don't accept cancellations within a month of arrival, once a guest is in house, we want them to be happy. When you completed the registration form, you should have seen the following paragraph:
Please voice any frustrations, so we can correct them - don't wait until you leave. We want HAPPY guests. NOT happy here? We'll help you find a place to stay that WILL please you.

Although it has only happened 3 times since we started the B&B, we would have GLADLY refunded your money and found accommodations that would have pleased you. All you had to do was ask.

LOCATION/safety: For more than 20 years now, the vast majority of our guests have been extremely pleased with our location, proximity to everything in the French Quarter, and safety. We are so sorry that you thought 30 yards was too far to walk to the French Quarter. When guests walk back to B&B from Frenchman St., they walk past two bars & clubs that are open 24/7, a 24/7 mini mart, a cafe/bar that closes at 1am. Esplanade Ave. is the main artery for taxicabs going to Bourbon St., and a street where locals are out late night walking their dogs, before they go to bed. Maybe you were returning in the wee hours of the morning??? In which case we suggest that any guest return by taxicab. We tell guests this when they register AND it's on the safety handout we provide, modeled after the convention and visitors bureau safety guide.

CLUTTER: Alas, nothing we can do about that. We have lots of antiques, collectibles, and art that most guests enjoy, by saying "I feel as though i am in a museum," or "I've never seen so much stuff. It would take days to look at everything."

CARRYING BAGS UP STEPS: We always offer to assist guests with heavy luggage. If no one offered to help with them, please let us know.

FRONT STEPS: We are so glad you mentioned them. When it rains, the front face of each step becomes mottled, green and black. When it stops raining, we will check that. If, because of no direct sunshine, they continue to look that way, we will have them repainted. Because we have many mobility impaired guests, we have always had a handrail, and give ALL guests a verbal warning, "The top step is steep. Please hold the hand rail."

BREAKFAST: Our breakfast is generous Continental. Always a pastry from the local bakery, toast, fresh fruit, granola bars, coffee, hot water for tea, grits, oatmeal, and cocoa. For guests with a medical condition, we go to store to purchase things, such as special milk for those who are lactose intolorant, provide special items for diabetics, and those who are allergic to nuts, etc., and cereal for those who want it.
Your dates seem to have been when we were out of town attending a wedding. If all these items were not available, please call to let us know, so we can speak with the person who served breakfast.

BATHTUB/SHOWER: After all these years, no one has mentioned having to "Squat down" to shower. Please call and further describe what you experienced, so we can understand what happened.

HOT WATER: There is a big hot water heater dedicated for the 2 rooms downstairs (Hexagon and Cannonball Rooms). We start laundry and dishwasher after we serve breakfast. If that is time you were showering, then we need to think about staggering them, so it does not impact guests in those bathrooms.

CLEANING: We dust and mop common areas inside and outside every day> guest rooms are scoured before check in. Dust is our worst challenge, since there is lots of traffic and these houses built in 1800s are like dust magnets.

Whew! lots of typing. Hope it will all fit on TripAdvisor, and that we addressed all your complaints.

Hope the new year brings lots of joy. Nighty night from Mary and Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#37 of 140 in New Orleans
279 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
La Dauphine B&B
La Dauphine B&B
#67 of 140 in New Orleans
35 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#11 of 140 in New Orleans
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#44 of 140 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B

Address: 1422 N Rampart St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $93 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ooh la la. Naughty. In 1800s, bordello catering to society's elite. Bed and breakfast now, great location, we're at Gateway to French Quarter from I-10. French Quarter 1/2 block, Bourbon St. 3 blocks. Romantic balcony suite, courtyard, hammock, porch swing, antiques, MARDI GRAS costumes. Lagniappe: don't just visit New Orleans - live it like a local with our Insider Eguides: music, dancing, restaurants, food, history, culture, sightseeing. Yesiree, rates incl. tax, free local phone calls, Wi-Fi, soft drinks, bottled water, & Continental PASTRY breakfast with coffee, hot water for tea, grits, oatmeal, at least 1 pastry from nearby bakery, fresh fruit, and toast. Other stuff like cereal or yogurt, gluten by request. 23 years, 50% of guests cal us quirky & keep returning, we've got lots of antiques and each room has a special theme +is different. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Bed And Breakfast
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing