We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely but not like any home you'll have stayed in!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Ranked #41 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Homely but not like any home you'll have stayed in!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We loved our stay here. Hugh and Mary are very experienced in providing a unique home away from home. Their local knowledge is exceptional and they are more than willing to spend time helping you plan your activities. The rooms are fabulous and we are more than happy to put up with any quirks in exchange for a fascinating historical home.
We found it an easy walk to any part of the French Quarter and the journey was always fascinating. We could as easily caught public transport.
It is not a place for people who want the bland perfection of the large chain hotels but this should be obvious. Stay away if you prefer this style!
For us, we can't wait to return one day and stay much longer.
A special thank you to Mary who assisted me in organising an urgent medical specialist appointment for when we arrived. She really cared about my problem and I felt that she would have done anything almost to assist me. Deeply appreciated Mary.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be fine. We stayed in the Hexagon and our tall son slept on the single b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryrosomane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    65
    21
    27
    13
See reviews for
51
139
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Hugh and Mary welcomed us with open arms and a warm heart. We stayed in the Madame Steamboat room and loved the decor, it had a real New Orleans feel. The location is "off the beaten path" but we walked to Frenchman, Boubon, Decatar etc. during day and night and never felt in danger. The only drawback to the location is N. Rampart Street which is a busy loud street but that issue is resolved by earplugs. When we return we will stay again.

Room Tip: Review the rooms available and determine which best suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The location was too far to walk to the French Quarter and not safe enough to walk to the local area (Frenchman Street)- The whole Bed and Breakfast House needs overhauled- Too much clutter, we stayed in the Hexagon Room- The bathroom was a joke- You had to squat down to take a shower and had to turn the H2O on 20 minutes before for hot water. Breakfast was a piece of toast (glad I couldn't see the kitchen) or a pastry. Not worth the money- Nice people, but IT NEED CLEANING AND DECLUTTERING
The steps going into the hotel were moldy and high -very dangerous - Had to carry luggage up stairs- If I could have gotten my money back, I would have paid twice the amount and moved, but there are no refunds.

Room Tip: Find a room that has been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makkkkko2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananacour, Manager at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We urge guests to let us know if they are not happy with anything at the B&B, while they are HERE. We regret that you did not point out what we could have done to improve your experience at the B&B DURING your stay, when we could have taken immediate remedial action.

REFUNDS: Even though we don't accept cancellations within a month of arrival, once a guest is in house, we want them to be happy. When you completed the registration form, you should have seen the following paragraph:
Please voice any frustrations, so we can correct them - don't wait until you leave. We want HAPPY guests. NOT happy here? We'll help you find a place to stay that WILL please you.

Although it has only happened 3 times since we started the B&B, we would have GLADLY refunded your money and found accommodations that would have pleased you. All you had to do was ask.

LOCATION/safety: For more than 20 years now, the vast majority of our guests have been extremely pleased with our location, proximity to everything in the French Quarter, and safety. We are so sorry that you thought 30 yards was too far to walk to the French Quarter. When guests walk back to B&B from Frenchman St., they walk past two bars & clubs that are open 24/7, a 24/7 mini mart, a cafe/bar that closes at 1am. Esplanade Ave. is the main artery for taxicabs going to Bourbon St., and a street where locals are out late night walking their dogs, before they go to bed. Maybe you were returning in the wee hours of the morning??? In which case we suggest that any guest return by taxicab. We tell guests this when they register AND it's on the safety handout we provide, modeled after the convention and visitors bureau safety guide.

CLUTTER: Alas, nothing we can do about that. We have lots of antiques, collectibles, and art that most guests enjoy, by saying "I feel as though i am in a museum," or "I've never seen so much stuff. It would take days to look at everything."

CARRYING BAGS UP STEPS: We always offer to assist guests with heavy luggage. If no one offered to help with them, please let us know.

FRONT STEPS: We are so glad you mentioned them. When it rains, the front face of each step becomes mottled, green and black. When it stops raining, we will check that. If, because of no direct sunshine, they continue to look that way, we will have them repainted. Because we have many mobility impaired guests, we have always had a handrail, and give ALL guests a verbal warning, "The top step is steep. Please hold the hand rail."

BREAKFAST: Our breakfast is generous Continental. Always a pastry from the local bakery, toast, fresh fruit, granola bars, coffee, hot water for tea, grits, oatmeal, and cocoa. For guests with a medical condition, we go to store to purchase things, such as special milk for those who are lactose intolorant, provide special items for diabetics, and those who are allergic to nuts, etc., and cereal for those who want it.
Your dates seem to have been when we were out of town attending a wedding. If all these items were not available, please call to let us know, so we can speak with the person who served breakfast.

BATHTUB/SHOWER: After all these years, no one has mentioned having to "Squat down" to shower. Please call and further describe what you experienced, so we can understand what happened.

HOT WATER: There is a big hot water heater dedicated for the 2 rooms downstairs (Hexagon and Cannonball Rooms). We start laundry and dishwasher after we serve breakfast. If that is time you were showering, then we need to think about staggering them, so it does not impact guests in those bathrooms.

CLEANING: We dust and mop common areas inside and outside every day> guest rooms are scoured before check in. Dust is our worst challenge, since there is lots of traffic and these houses built in 1800s are like dust magnets.

Whew! lots of typing. Hope it will all fit on TripAdvisor, and that we addressed all your complaints.

Hope the new year brings lots of joy. Nighty night from Mary and Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

The Banana Courtyard is just like the title says. It is far enough off the beaten path from the French Quarter and the bars that you don't hear them, but is close enough that you can walk to in about 15-20 minutes. Streets are safe all the way there and back. The place is a bed and breakfast and the owners live in the back. It has a lot of character and charm that you don't get with the big name chain hotels. At breakfast you get to meet others staying at the B&B. We met Daniel and Natalie there and a few others. There were 4 couples in our group and we took up 4 of the rooms, and there was still rooms for others.

The rooms are fabulous and have their own unique charm. We stayed in the Cajun room. Each room is decked out in a different array of New Orleans items and themes, that is what makes the place so much fun. Each comes with coffee, tea, a refrigerator and microwave. Our group took the 3 balcony rooms. You are the only rooms up there and you have an outside entrance. You have a balcony you can sit on and chat, smoke (all non-smoking rooms) and socialize. The view from the balcony may not be what you would expect, but that isn't everything.

Breakfast is continental and you have to call ahead 30 minutes and tell them you are coming. This way it is warm when you arrive. They have soda, water and ice for free in the main house. Parking is tight, but is off street and gated.

We felt perfectly safe in the neighborhood. Hugh and Mary, the owners, make your stay as memorable as possible. Check out their website it has a lot of stuff on it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Malkavian99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananacour, Manager at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
What a delightful email. Hosting your group was a treat. what busy days you had, sightseeing and soaking up what we locals take for granted.

Please give us the name of the Voodoo tour you enjoyed so much, so we can get brochures to put out for guests (we rely on guest feedback, so we only promote tours that our guests ESPECIALLY enjoyed).

Web site: Golly.It's a throw back from the dark ages, when we opened up 20 years ago. I haven't been able to edit it for past 3-4 years because hosting company no longer supports the software we use to edit it. Probably just as well because I would add more typing, and it's wordy enough already.

We're so glad you mentioned the view. I am so focused on bedroom details, that view of courtyard with all the leaves dropping off plants for Winter, is not something I had thought about. We need to get MORE colorful plants and flowers, and put back up the cover for storage area.

Next time you come, hope we get to chat with y'all more. Thanks so much for the kind comments. Nighty night from the banana lady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpoint, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Just like this wonderful city, the Banana Courtyard is a friendly, quirky, comfortable place. It's convieniently located so that walking or short cab rides will get you to the best places in town. Your hosts, especially Mary, take amazingly good care of each guest, with information about the best of local spots for everything. Mary even offered to walk us down the street to supper our first night in town. Rooms are like mini-museums and quite comfortable. Breakfasts are just fine and we enjoyed meeting the other guests around the big, old dining room table. The house and parking area are gated for security but we felt quite comfortable walking in the neighborhood even at night. Thanks, Mary and Hugh for such a fine example of southern hospitality. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Your ask Mary about your specific needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Thank you Mary and Hugh. Such an unusual place, could have spent ages just looking at all the 'stuff' makes even my house look bare!
New Orleans is a brilliant place for a holiday. Made better by being comfortable in our huge room. Brilliant bed! Thanks for a great stay.
Took the train from New Orleans to Chicago, wow! a journey not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananacour, Manager at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Gee. This is starting to be fun responding to reviews. Now all I need to do is figure out how to make more time to do this more often! For those guests where we are able to respond, i hope the ones I DON'T respond to, don't feel ignored.

You are such a sweetheart to have posted such a nice review. We were delighted to have y'all stay with us.

Just wish I had more time to get to know guests. Since Hugh serves breakfast, he gets acquainted with guests better than I do (or did he tell too many stories!?!).

Thanks for train tip. We plan to take train through Chicago in a couple of years and go to Canada, where we've never been. We've had so many charming guests from there, we need to get to know their country.

Oh well. So much for time. Guest buzzer is ringing for glass of wine or beer, or for me to help plan evening activities. That time of day. At least that is when I am able to spend a little time with guests, other than walking them down to Bourbon St. which they check in.

Please keep in touch. Hope you have a wonderful holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were three women traveling to New Orleans for 5 days, and this was the perfect place for us. Our room was large, especially the bathroom. We were within walking distance of the French Quarter and across the street from bus routes which connect to the trolley. The hosts were very helpful with good advice. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BFFs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananacour, Manager at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
During high season (which is much of the year) making time to go online to look at review sites, occurs less and less often. But today, when we received notification of a review, I decided to follow the link. I am so glad I did. It means SOOO much to us when guests take time out of their busy day to go online to say something about all the delights of our city and mentioning their stay with us. You made my day!

We're glad you mentioned the bus and streetcars. They are so important for anyone who is mobility impaired. Even though the French Quarter is very small and an easy walk anywhere from the B&B, as we age and arthritis begins to take its toll, it's nice to have an alternative. If only the city would reinstate the French Quarter Shuttle bus, that made a circuit through Faubourg Marigny, the French Quarter to the Convention center all day, for the convenience of tourists (and folks who work in the CBD). We know that government must tighten its purse, but hope one day, as the population continues to age, that VITAL link will return. It won't happen until enough tourists write the Mayor, Convention and Tourist Bureau. Tourism is the city's lifeblood. Uh oh. Sounds 'preachy".

I can't remember who I promised the recipe for CRAWFISH or SHRIMP MAQUE CHOUX. If it was you, please send me an email, or better yet (if you want an answer anytime soon, pick up the phone and call me with your email address, so I can send it to you. Warmest regards from Hugh and Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#36 of 140 in New Orleans
279 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#12 of 140 in New Orleans
570 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 140 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#42 of 140 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
480 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 140 in New Orleans
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B

Property: 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Address: 1422 N Rampart St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ooh la la. Naughty. In 1800s, bordello catering to society's elite. Bed and breakfast now, great location, we're at Gateway to French Quarter from I-10. French Quarter 1/2 block, Bourbon St. 3 blocks. Romantic balcony suite, courtyard, hammock, porch swing, antiques, MARDI GRAS costumes. Lagniappe: don't just visit New Orleans - live it like a local with our Insider Eguides: music, dancing, restaurants, food, history, culture, sightseeing. Yesiree, rates incl. tax, free local phone calls, Wi-Fi, soft drinks, bottled water, & Continental PASTRY breakfast with coffee, hot water for tea, grits, oatmeal, at least 1 pastry from nearby bakery, fresh fruit, and toast. Other stuff like cereal or yogurt, gluten by request. 23 years, 50% of guests cal us quirky & keep returning, we've got lots of antiques and each room has a special theme +is different. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Bed And Breakfast
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing