We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B without the B Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Ranked #37 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“B without the B Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Overall, this is a fine place to stay for the location, price, and quirkiness. The location is great and within walking distance of the whole French Quarter. The first B in B&B is adequate. If you are looking for a decent bed in the area, you will be fine here. However, don't go expecting a delicious breakfast......

We were with a group of 13 and chose a B&B so that we wouldn't have to go out for breakfast. Unfortunately, the breakfast experience was rule laden and disappointing. This is not a buffet. When you check in you must order juices, cereal, and such. Make sure that you make your desires clear at this time. You are also reminded several times verbally and in written material to call 30 minutes ahead because you sit and are served. Ring the bell when you enter the dining room. Don't come early! My husband and I came down before our appointed time to have a cup of coffee with our group while we waited (most of whom had made "reservations" for earlier and were seated at their appointed time) and were told that we couldn't sit in the dining area because we would dirty a place setting. There is no conventional sitting area at this place. Just a few couches crammed into a narrow hall. After all the fuss.......breakfast was rather ordinary conventional grocery store whole grain toast, with croissants, and a selection of jams. Apples, oranges, and bananas were also available. Cereal must be "ordered" ahead and Hugh was also rather gruff and put out with someone asking for cereal who hadn't pre-ordered. He did provide milk for their own cereal. The owners may have their reasons for not doing a buffet, but our group would have found a buffet to be a much more comfortable, relaxing, and friendly system. They would have space for a buffet and to seat more guests if some of the furniture and stuff was cleared out of the room. It is cluttered almost to the point of looking dirty and junky rather than charming and quirky.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanS38020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananacour, Guest Relations Manager at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us, such as when you said that we are a "fine place to stay for location, price, and quirkiness". Speaking of quirkiness, we are glad that you understand that all Bed and Breakfasts are unique--just like people, they have their own individual charms and quirks. We pride ourselves on our personal approach to inn-keeping to give our guests a real "New Orleans" experience. Unfortunately, that also involves following local guidelines here in New Orleans about what types of food can be served in our facilities during breakfast. Because we have been mandated not to serve a full hot breakfast for our guests, we provide an expanded Continental breakfast. This includes a variety of fresh fruit, pastries, hot coffee or tea, and juice. We have had the "30 minute call ahead rule" for many years, because we do not want your pastries to get cold, stale, or soggy, as could happen if we used a buffet format. Instead, by having you call ahead, your individual order can be made hot and crispy and ready for you when you arrive. Again, your comments are appreciated, as we strive to give you the best service possible for a wonderful vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    62
    19
    25
    12
See reviews for
49
133
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We recently had the opportunity to visit New Orleans - just prior to the Super Bowl power failure.
We stayed with Mary and Hugh Ramsey at the Banana Courtyard B and B. The owner/operators were great - gave us a personal walk to the center of the French quarter - aimed us away from the party area downtown to a nearby 'local' street with great eateries and local music. The B and B itself is not shiney new, but the facilities are clean and modern. Furnishings could provide a day's review. Located at the very north, east of the corner - about 10 - 12 walking blocks from the center of all partying. This was fine for us 'older, calmer' visitors. Many, many GREAT places to eat within walking distance. Owners recommended tour bus trip - Katrina area and downtown made the trip extra special. We were fortunate to view an awesome rear garden patio of a nearby neighbor. Overall, a fun place to stay at a reasonable rate. Check their website at bananacourtyard.com.

Room Tip: We selected the balcony room on this trip because of the outside sitting area. Probably would not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN Q P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our hosts and the staff were wonderful: friendly, helpful, and caring. The house is comfortable and fun! We had the Madame's Steamboat Room. I was worried because it was a bit chilly during our visit but the heaters worked great and Mary gave me some sweaters to use - needed and appreciated! So much to look at, a really nice little courtyard to hang out in, comfy porch swing.... If we hadn't been so busy wandering we might've had more time to just hang out. We were given any information we needed on places to eat, what to see, and how to get where we wanted to go. We were greeted at the airport by the hotel's preferred taxi driver - friendly, informative, and prompt! When we visit again, I know that we will return here (and try another room - they are all unique). Location for the Jazz Festival is just a few blocks away - can't beat that!

Room Tip: It was a little tight for three in our room-perfect for a couple. We were okay but will be aware fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananacour, Owner at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Wow. I (only 1 here who types) never have the time to look at nor respond to reviews here. Something made me open this one and what a delihgt it was. Daily, we are humbled by more than 50% of your guests being return guests, or guests who have refered their colleauges, freinds, or family to us.

Your kind words about us are greatly appreciated. We'll pass the compliment on to the great folks who help us (staff & freinds), and to the taxicab driver extraordinaire, we call a 'concierge on wheels".

I hope other guests who reviewed us understand that I rarely have time to look at reviews and understand that we wish I had more time. Our Asst. Gen. Mgr. (friend and his wife), Sister in law in GA who took pity on me, Asst mgr + new gal who is a whiz cleaner, are all helping me see the light @the end of the tunnel), where by this Summer, I hope, I can be on Internet more often to respond to delightful (or not delightful) reviews.

Y'all are correct. The BEST rooms for 3 guests are the Balcony Room, Hexagon Room or Mardi Gras room, although ALL of our rooms can accomodate 3 guests. Guess guests select rooms based on avaialbility (limited) and budget. Folks in the 1800s were smaller than most Americans now.

Thanks again for a much needed boost after a very busy month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Close enough to all the main French quarter sites to walk to. Although we walked so much back and forth we were exhausted! Quaint and cozy little place with lots of appeal. We stayed one night in the carriage quilt room and one night in the Madame steamboat room and both were great. Mary and Hugh made us feel at home. The parking area was great because we were able to leave our vehicle and did not worry about break in's. We would defiantly stay there again. Great value! Very personable experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medicrn38901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Banana Courtyard before we left on a cruise. Mary, Hugh & Corey made our stay very comfortable. They have so much knowledge of New Orleans to share with everyone. They kept us right on track with directions and recommendations for sights to see. Hugh recommended the WWII Museum, that was the highlight of our trip. We had been to New Orleans over 20 years ago and saw most of the sights, we were interested in seeing less of the party scene and we were not disappointed with what was recommended. If we find ourselves heading to New Orleans in the future we will definitely stay at the Banana Courtyard. The rooms and the inn were fantastic, chocked full of antiques and Marti Gras memorabilia. Thank You Mary, Hugh and Corey for hosting us.

Room Tip: There are photographs of all of the rooms on the Banana Courtyard's web page. We stayed in Mada...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter in New Orleans is without a doubt one of the most perfect places to stay while in New Orleans. The rooms are beautifully made up and comfortable. The B&B is a place that feels like home and the staff is friendly and warm beyond words. They say it's hard to make friends in a hotel. That may be true in big hotels, but here we were not just treated like friends, we actually became friends with the people running the B&B. They made sure we knew every way to get around, breakfast every morning was better than you find in some larger hotels., and the atmosphere makes you feel so relaxed and like you just stepped back in time and went to your favorite old Aunties or Grand Ma's house.
The B&B is so close to the French Quarter that if you like a little walk you can be there in a very short time. And the area where the B&B is has some wonderful sights to see as well. To say we had a great time is a true understatement! We will without a doubt be staying there on our next visit to New Orleans!

Room Tip: Every room is comfortable, some have a little larger space, but overall, no matter what room you sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bishop Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I see that none of the positive reviews mention the "Quilt" room or the "Cajun" room. Barely room to turn around in both, and other inconveniences. The best that can be said about my experience is a 4-star assistant manager saddled with 1-star (or less) accommodations. I've stayed in B&Bs, but never in such cramped quarters. Maybe this B&B has better rooms, but I wouldn't risk a second visit to find out. Be sure to check the cancellation policy before you confirm. I tried to cancel a few hours after making reservations. No deal. The offer was a $50.00 charge and rescheduling. I'm confident that there are several B&Bs in the area where a hundred bucks a night will obtain a far more favorable experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Quilt" room and "Cajun" room, unless you're a masochist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananacour, Guest Relations Manager at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for submitting a review. It's unfortunate that you were unhappy with the size of the rooms that you stayed in while you were with us. We are a B and B in an 1870s home--not a hotel. As a result, we do not have standardized size rooms. However, each room, whether large or small will have its own character and will feature the amenities advertised in our website. We hope that you can visit us again so that you can specifically request a larger room which may be more to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#41 of 137 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#40 of 137 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B

Property: 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Address: 1422 N Rampart St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ooh la la. Naughty. In 1800s, bordello catering to society's elite. Bed and breakfast now, great location, we're at Gateway to French Quarter from I-10. French Quarter 1/2 block, Bourbon St. 3 blocks. Romantic balcony suite, courtyard, hammock, porch swing, antiques, MARDI GRAS costumes. Lagniappe: don't just visit New Orleans - live it like a local with our Insider Eguides: music, dancing, restaurants, food, history, culture, sightseeing. Yesiree, rates incl. tax, free local phone calls, Wi-Fi, soft drinks, bottled water, & Continental PASTRY breakfast with coffee, hot water for tea, grits, oatmeal, at least 1 pastry from nearby bakery, fresh fruit, and toast. Other stuff like cereal or yogurt, gluten by request. 23 years, 50% of guests cal us quirky & keep returning, we've got lots of antiques and each room has a special theme +is different. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Bed And Breakfast
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing