We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and secure for single travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Ranked #37 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I returned to the Banana Courtyard in July of this year for my 45th birthday. This is my second stay there and enjoyed it just as much as I did over Mardi Gras in February. This time I stayed in the Pirate's Attic, which is a very nice small room upstairs. It could sleep three comfortably, with the bed and the additional futon. There is a mini fridge and a microwave in this room, which was nice for reheating leftovers and keeping water cold. There is seriously great water pressure in the shower. Seemingly endless hot water!

I moved downstairs to the Cannonball Room on the third night for no reason other than to try other rooms in this fun historic property. What a fantastic room. It's right inside the door, and has a HUGE high bed. Very romantic, were I to be traveling with a companion. This room also has a smaller twin bed, so three could be comfortable here. I liked this a bit better as I didn't have to navigate the stairs, and the sitting porch is right outside for relaxing afternoons on the porch swing.

I didn't partake of breakfast this time, but it has been my past experience that the continental breakfast is more than sufficient and served in the downstairs dining room with panache and charm on plates and glassware. The company of the other guests around the communal table is wonderful. I go to New Orleans regularly and enjoyed giving new guests my must-sees. :)

I loved having the gated secure parking (with a remote for the gate!) and did not mind one bit the keys for the front gate to the property. I felt very, very secure. I will stay here again as it is convenient to getting around the city in my car. The location on Esplanade and Rampart makes getting around New Orleans in a car SO easy.

Room Tip: The three upstairs rooms are charming, and open onto a little balcony, which is nice for sitting in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 359 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed with Mary and Co. at the Banana Courtyard and they were fabulous hosts! They made sure we knew where to go and what to see. The room was comfortable and quiet and we enjoyed chocloate covered strawberries and Champagne. The location was perfect, just off the craziness that is the French Quarter with gated parking. We can't say enough good things about the Banana Courtyard! It was a great place for a honeymoon!!!! Thanks Mary for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last year & absolutely loved it. We stayed in Pirates Attic & it was perfect since my husband is a sailor and a fan of all things nautical. (They also showed respect for us being in the military and left a thank you note on our pillow, for his service to the country.) I loved the history & all of the many things to look at in the house itself. I am from south Louisiana & adore the New Orleans culture, & I find that this particular place stays true to it. Its just got so much more than what a hotel chain can offer, if you come to this city, this is what you need to experience. The couple running it is the sweetest ever and so helpful. We loved seeing them around and my husband could just sit and listen to Hugh all day. Breakfast was so enjoyable because again, there's just so much to look at & they had a few of my favorite not so common jams and spreads! Overall, it was just a wonderful experience and I definitely reccomend 1870 Banana Courtyard!

Room Tip: Pirates Attic was fun!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KensiMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hosts could not have been any nicer. Mary and Hugh welcomed us into there house. We stayed in the Cajun Quarters for the last couple nights of our anniversary trip. My only regret is that we didn't stay here the entire time. Definately get a balcony room (nothing beats having your morning coffee on their balcony). You can come and go when you please and you're off bourbon street enough that you don't have to worry about all the bourbon street crazies from keeping you up all night. You are still close enough to head down to bourbon street and the french market in a matter of minutes. Thank You, Mary and Hugh!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed three nights in the Hexagon Room.
Gracious hosts, comfortable accommodations and very good location.
Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

A very nice surprise. Very accomodating. Was met at the airport by Stanley, super fella, and taken to the Courtyard. Was greeted by Mary (Ramsey), amazing lady. The house is fantatsic. Very quiet and peaceful. It feels like you are the only one staying in the house. it is close to everything, French Quarter, Bourbon St. Stayed in the Pirates Attic. I loved it and I am 6'2 and had no issues with the size of the room. Thank you very much Mary, Hugh, Stanley and staff. John B (from Ontario,Canada) I WILL be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnybray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Banana Courtyard for the first time last week. Although it is located a short walk from the action it was not too far away. The staff was great. They were helpful, friendly and knowledgable. At the same time they gave us all the space we needed. We stayed in the balcony room, which was pretty standard but nice enough. I peaked into some of the rooms in the main section of the bnb and they seemed to have a lot more old New Orleans character. All in all it was a fun little place to stay. I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muldoon530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#38 of 142 in New Orleans
280 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#12 of 142 in New Orleans
577 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
La Dauphine B&B
La Dauphine B&B
#86 of 142 in New Orleans
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#46 of 142 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#42 of 142 in New Orleans
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B

Address: 1422 N Rampart St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-1912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $102 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ooh la la. 1800s bordello catered to society's elite. Bed and breakfast now, great location at corner of French Quarter. Bourbon St. 3 blocks. Gateway from I-10. Romantic balcony, courtyard, hammock, Verandah, antiques. Lagniappe: don't just visit New Orleans - live it like a local with our Insider Eguides: music, dancing, restaurants, food, history, culture, sightseeing. Our tax ONLY 5%, most hotels are 17.5%. 23 years, 50% of guests call us quirky & keep returning. Each room unique, with a special theme. INCLUSIVE, free local phone calls, Wi-Fi, soft drinks, bottled water, & Continental PASTRIES breakfast with coffee, hot water for tea, grits, oatmeal, fresh fruit, and toast. Other stuff like cereal or yogurt, cheese, boiled egg, sandwich meat, gluten by request. All private ensuite bathrooms, individually controlled heat and air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Bed And Breakfast
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing