We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Close to French Quarter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Pierre Lafitte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison Pierre Lafitte
Ranked #96 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Close to French Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I love this place - easy walking distance to just about everything - great people run it and close to the Roosevelt Hotel......just across canal street......we are staying there again this year - so I'm excited!!!!

Room Tip: Room 401 has huge windows on both sides - bright and spacious - little kitchen - we love this room...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Dpreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
23
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for a week as a timeshare trade. Room 401 is a corner studio overlooking Canal Street. The only drawback was being near Tulane Medical Center because ambulance sirens were heard all night. The room itself was comfortable and well appointed. The folks at the desk were always helpful and friendly. Bed was a little soft for my liking but my wife liked it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed during MLK week January 2012. Absolutely loved the Pierre Lafitte. We are adults who love the Quarter, and this was perfect for us. NOT a fancy high end hotel with butler and pool, but what we loved were the people and location. George and Derrick were there lots of the time and were there for us, and their cellphone is posted when the desk is closed. Marlene called us ahead of time and guided us with taxi recommendations and answers. This is NOT a five star hoity-toity hotel with butlers and pool. No restaurant either, but who would go to New Orleans to eat in the hotel's restaurant anyway!? What it is is four story historical building which they are renovating with love, and with the class of lovely old furniture, credenzas and chiseled mirrors, there was a very clean unit for us with remodeled/painted clean-smelling nonsmoking rooms, comfortable beds. We felt very, very safe there, and there is an elevator. Not a full service kitchen, but what we wanted was there, microwave, middle sized small fridge, coffee pot, but no oven. But who cooks when they are dining out in NOLA?
We could look out our windows onto Canal St and see the parades! (But you also hear sirens at night if you are light sleeper). Nice was that there is a McDonald's beside the Maison, so my husband could run down daily and bring up coffee or yogurt while we lounged :) There is only ONE bathroom in the unit. Derrick directed us to Deanies, two blocks away, for our first dinner, and it was a home run. Those guys love the place, love the city, and want you to love it too. They work hard to make it clean so no unwanted visitors! We saw not one pest the whole week, and I am always looking! The Maison is not perfect, but it was PERFECT for us, and I recommend it and hope to return:) PS....the front entrance is NEXT to the Roosevelt Hotel, but rather subtle. Look for the street number 108!

Room Tip: We were in room 300B which has two bedrooms, just one bathroom. The inside room has no windows and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LindaW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed here for just a quick 5 day trip. The staff is a bit on the laid-back side, however; we got into our room prior to the check-in time (always nice when that happens!) I would not recommend this place if you are on the picky side - but we embraced the funkiness and it did not ruin our trip. The front desk is not always open, and there is no 'business center' -- just a computer to use that is perched on one side of the front desk - but remember: front desk not always open. We found the period furniture charming, the bathroom was newly remodeled and clean. The kitchenette was nice, appliances new and again: very clean. The little bar next door was super charming, affordable, and had great music playing all the time.

Room Tip: Top floors (3 & 4), corner room on the 4th floor nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank KatDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We loved this place....the Owner and front desk staff were very friendly. We stayed 7 nights but would have stayed longer if they had the space. We were on the 4th floor and it was lovely - this is an older building - and furnishings are not modern....but it was charming and cozy and we were so settled in....that we hated to leave! There was no food service but a cute little bar next door run by some great people and seem to have the best female bartenders in the city! My husband and I stopped in to see them several times during our stay and even they made us feel very welcome! We can't wait to go to NOLA again and when we do we hope they have room for us. We have stayed at several hotels in NOLA but never felt "at home" like we did here. Our trip was during Christmas and NY's.

Room Tip: Two blocks from French Quarter and two blocks from St. Charles streetcar. Canal Streetcar is less t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dpreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We go to NOLA every year and this is the place we choose to stay. If you want a cookie cutter Red Roof Inn or Motel-6 kind of place then don't stay here. This is an older building with unique rooms and more classic-style furnishings. Not the boring, cookie-cutter shoebox rooms found in modern hotels. THAT is the point of staying in the Quarter...getting away from the same old stuff and experiencing something a bit different.
The location is great, right across the street from the quarter, a streetcar stop a block or so away.
The hotel bar hadn't reopened yet last time I was there but that would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 63mont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed here as a timeshare and was greatly disappointed. While the location is great, how long can a place be "under renovation?" Also the sofa was so old that I dared not pull it out and use it as a sofabed. The bedroom was small and had no windows and no TV. The rug was also old. I would take a pass.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dallasfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
La Galerie Hotel
La Galerie Hotel
#129 of 161 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Pierre Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Pierre Lafitte

Property: Maison Pierre Lafitte
Address: 108 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison Pierre Lafitte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maison Pierre Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Pierre Lafitte Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing