We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in NOLA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison Pierre Lafitte
Ranked #65 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Henderson, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A week in NOLA”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We loved this place....the Owner and front desk staff were very friendly. We stayed 7 nights but would have stayed longer if they had the space. We were on the 4th floor and it was lovely - this is an older building - and furnishings are not modern....but it was charming and cozy and we were so settled in....that we hated to leave! There was no food service but a cute little bar next door run by some great people and seem to have the best female bartenders in the city! My husband and I stopped in to see them several times during our stay and even they made us feel very welcome! We can't wait to go to NOLA again and when we do we hope they have room for us. We have stayed at several hotels in NOLA but never felt "at home" like we did here. Our trip was during Christmas and NY's.

Room Tip: Two blocks from French Quarter and two blocks from St. Charles streetcar. Canal Streetcar is less t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dpreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
26
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We go to NOLA every year and this is the place we choose to stay. If you want a cookie cutter Red Roof Inn or Motel-6 kind of place then don't stay here. This is an older building with unique rooms and more classic-style furnishings. Not the boring, cookie-cutter shoebox rooms found in modern hotels. THAT is the point of staying in the Quarter...getting away from the same old stuff and experiencing something a bit different.
The location is great, right across the street from the quarter, a streetcar stop a block or so away.
The hotel bar hadn't reopened yet last time I was there but that would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 63mont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed here as a timeshare and was greatly disappointed. While the location is great, how long can a place be "under renovation?" Also the sofa was so old that I dared not pull it out and use it as a sofabed. The bedroom was small and had no windows and no TV. The rug was also old. I would take a pass.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dallasfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Best thing about this place is location and privacy! A private historical room with living room and kitchen right beside the French Quarter and blocks away from the Riverwalk with the street car steps away! Can't get much better than that. Oh, and did I mention the fantastic staff and bar in the same building? We loved our trip and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aandmrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

This is a wonderful resort. The front lobby is still being repaired from the hurricans in the last years but the rooms are great. We stayed in the studio and it met all our needs for a trip to New Orleans. The city is all the amenities you need for this trip. It was across Canal Street from the French Quarter. We walked everywhere. The employees are very friendly and personable. They gave us lots of tips for day trips and how to get around town. The street is noisy almost all night, but you are not far from the medical district of New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lvtraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

My husband and two 16 year olds stayed in a one-bedroom (with pull out couch) room on the 4th floor. I was very shocked at how beautiful the room was and how much space we had. We stayed a week and couldn't have been more pleased. The owner, George, was very nice, as was the front desk staff (Marlene and Angel) and Matt, who let us keep our luggage in his office after check out time because the girls wanted to go to the wax museum before we left. The housekeepers were very nice also and always made sure we had lots and lots of towels!

The ONLY problem we had was that we had babies on BOTH sides of us and the sound drifted over into our room. It wasn't intolerable, but I had to sleep with a pillow over my head so that I wouldn't be awaken at 7:30 a.m.

Parking in NOLA is horrible, but my husband was able to bargain with the garage next door, and we only spent $70.00 for parking in a garage that had 24-hour security.

All in all, a very wonderful experience. We felt safe and the location was great without being smack in the middle of Bourbon Street (2 blocks away).

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — sound
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Starbuck2454360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

My friend traded a red week timeshare to stay at Maison. We were told the one bedroom had a queen and a foldout bed. This is true. I was the guest of the timeshare owner and therefore got the foldout bed. This was the poorest excuse for a bed that I had ever slept on. The apartment was so small that it was difficult for two people to get around. The bed in the bedroom was very nice. However, the bedroom was so small that when we were trying to get our clothes out of the closet or dresser - only one person could be in the room.
I don't know how 4 people could ever be in that apartment. A hotel with two double beds would have been better and cheaper.

The only good thing I can say about the place is that the towels were nice.

Parking was an extra $15 per day.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
9 Thank DivisionWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#31 of 163 in New Orleans
703 reviews
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Pierre Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Pierre Lafitte

Property: Maison Pierre Lafitte
Address: 108 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112-2502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison Pierre Lafitte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Maison Pierre Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Pierre Lafitte Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing