We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Full Kitchen
Dining Area
Living Area
Living Area
3rd Bedroom (Queen Bed)
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DayTrip71...
1 review
“A”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Wonderful just wonderful everything was great , clean and we got snacks owner was very attentive and informative

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2017
Thanks for the sparkling review. It was a pleasure to host you and your party. Verna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donilop
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Perfect place to stay in New Orleans!”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Verna shows hospitality like no one else. Cozy, clean duplex, with comfortable beds. The location is close to everything. Friendly neighborhood. It exceeded our expectations!

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2017
Doni, Thank you so much for the fabulous review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in New Orleans. It was a pleasure to host you and your party. I look forward to host you again on your next visit, Verna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expeditio...
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“Very cozy nice place in NOLA”
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Michael and Verna are superb as hosts. First time in 40as a tourist that a tenant welcome us with traditional food and a place so comfortable plus affordable!

Its just minutes from downtown NOLA, has free parking, full equipped kitchen, snacks all around the house included and very comfortable beds!
Next time in NOLA this is the place where my family will stay for sure!

Thanks a lot Verna!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit. It was a pleasure hosting your family. We are looking forward to hosting you again in the future. Verna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard R
1 review
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our experience staying in New Orleans at Ms Vernas home was just that home away from home she kept in contact with us from booking to end of stay. Her place is a really nice 3 bd rm. Her hospitality was warm and friendly, home was equipped and secure, with everything you would need to enjoy your stay we did! hated to leave, I encourage everyone who plans to visit New Orleans on vacation or business to add this cozy spot into the plans it's amazing.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2017
Leonard, Thank you for the sparkling review. It was a pleasure to host you and your party. I look forward to hosting you again in the future. Verna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elsbethsm...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great Host”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Ms. Verna was friendly, warm, and responsive to our needs and questions. She had hot food waiting for us (much to the delight of my teenagers who loved the fried chicken, mac and cheese, and gumbo!) upon arrival and gave us helpful advice about our visit to NOLA. Her house was stocked with breakfast and snack items as well as beverages, all of which was much appreciated. The house itself was as described and was tidy and functional . The neighborhood seemed sketchy at first, but part of that is that there are still signs of Katrina in the Nineth Ward. However it is close to the touristy areas by car and thus served as a good home base. I think that this is a good value for a family with a car.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ms. Verna
Liked least: Road noise
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Thank you for the the lovely review. It was a pleasure to host you and your family. I am so glad that I was able to contribute to the enjoyment of your New Orleans experience. Once again, thank you for granting me the opportunity me the opportunity to host your family. Verna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvina B
1 review
“Very Accomodating”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My family of 7 and I stayed at Verna's 3 bedroom duplex. Verna was very easy to work with. There was plenty of space for everyone, using all three bedrooms and by using the pull out sofa. When we arrived in the evening Verna had dinner waiting to my surprise. She also stocked the unit with snacks and drinks which helped out tremendously. It is not located in the best neighborhood but we were safe with her security methods along with everyone was friendly that we encountered. The location was 10-15 mins from the French Quarter as described. There is a nearby Wal-Mart. This property is well kept inside and out...and a must see. I would highly recommend this place to everyone if you are looking for a nice spacious affordable stay!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Space and pricing
Liked least: neighborhood it was located in
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2016
Melvina, Thanks for the great review. I am so glad that I was able to contribute to making your visit such a success. Thanks so much for choosing to stay at my home. Verna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workingin...
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Cost-Effective Family Home Base”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This rental is half of a duplex and ideal for a family seeking a home base where you’re out most of the day sightseeing and cocooning at night. The 3 bedrooms are fairly small, but worked well for our family of four with 2 teens who need a certain amount of neutral ground and their own space to retreat to when hostilities threaten from too much family togetherness. The owner lavished us with hospitality including enough food to get us through breakfast and dinner without shopping for the majority of our week-long stay. Community coffee? Check. Zapps potato chips. Check. Pralines? Check. Full blown crawfish and shrimp boil? Check! As a result we did very little cooking in the small kitchen other than to re-heat items. Be advised that there’s no dishwasher.

The location requires a car unless you are prepared to rely on (unreliable, in our experience) cabs. Public transportation downtown would take nearly an hour and multiple transfers. Depending on traffic, it was a relatively straightforward 10-20 minutes to the French Quarter. Do your parking lot research in advance, however, or you’ll get reamed by the high rates at the Premium Parking lots adjacent to the French Market. There’s off-street parking adjacent to the house which is located on a busy through street. Road noise, our first night when we didn’t have the air conditioner on, was enough to require us to use ear plugs. The house is in a very modest neighborhood without a yard so the downside was that we couldn’t sit outside and enjoy the nice spring weather in the evenings. There are no restaurants or a grocery within walking distance, but the up and coming Bywater neighborhood with multiple dining options less crazed than the French Quarter is just minutes from the house. We shopped at a CVS en route back from the French Quarter for milk one night and then at Rouse, just blocks from the WWII museum later in the week.

If evening touring, dining or walking in an historical urban enclave is essential to your New Orleans experience then this is not the place for you. If you’re a cost-conscious family or group hitting the high spots during the day and ready to put your feet up and relax with a book or the TV at night, then this is a good, less expensive and comfortable option.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Having an entire house for the family and the owner's generous hospitality.
Liked least: Being on a busy street with no yard. The lack of nearby amenities.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Thanks for the lovely review. I am glad I was able to add to the enjoyment of your trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing