We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay with good location and very...”
other travelers have booked this property
Large Private Balcony Steps from the Streetcar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Private Balcony Steps from the Streetcar
Living Room Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Large Private Balcony Steps from the Streetcar
Living Room
Balcony
Living Room
Front Bedroom
Foyer
Kitchen
Breakfast Room
Breakfast Room
Middle Master Bedroom
Back Bedroom w/Queen Bed
Bath
Living Room
Foyer
Streetcar at the French Quarter
Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
The Canal Streetcar stop at the corner. 10-15 minute scenic ride to the French Quarter & Downtown
Streetcar Tracks to the Quarter
The House with the Red Tile Roof
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
New Orleans, Louisiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
962review
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with good location and very helpful owners.”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we made the booking the owners were very helpful with quick responses to our questions. The apartment is older style with a few stairs to climb but has everything you need. The trolley bus is right outside the door and we used this each day for convenient transport without the hassle of parking. The owners have a business downstairs and encouraged us to see them if we needed help with anything and this included being able to print off a tour voucher which we otherwise could not have done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkusAde...
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect location if you want to experience the madness of the French Quarter and then have some somewhere calm to retreat too. The street car stop is right outside the front door, and its an easy 10 minutes back to Bourbon Street anytime of the day or night. The suite is clean and very well equipped, and our hosts were fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location hosts and amenities
Liked least: wi-fi on balcony not so great
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet S
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I traveled to New Orleans with my two sisters and we had a really good time. The location of the Tropical Balcony was perfect. We road the trolleys down to the French Quarters and could walk to a couple different restaurants at night for supper. We also had a great super that we had delivered when we didn't want to travel out. When we would get back the three of us would sit on the balcony and just relax.
We also enjoyed it because we each was able to have our own bedroom which gave us space at night. The place was nice and very well kept and they had a large selection of brochures so we could see the different things to do and they also had a number to menus for local restaurants.
We would stay there again if we ever get back to New Orleans

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the balcony
Liked least: My sisters would say the stairs
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2016
Thank You Janet! We were delighted to have you and your sisters here. Please come back and visit anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millieand...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location great”
Reviewed May 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The location is great, it's not in the city, however the trolley is outside the door and is 15 minutes to French quarter and city, where you can catch the other trolleys to the other districts.
The house is very secure and is up a flight of stairs. The rooms are large and comfortable, we loved the balcony.
Check in was easy and communication with Patrick and his father, Jeffrey, was easy and replies prompt.
The stairs are a little steep, and could be a challenge for older people.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Thank You so much for staying with us! We just wanted to note that we are very much in the city. We are right in the very heart of New Orleans. The Streetcar stops just out front our door and, as our guests indicate, will take you to all the other areas of town.. Thanks Again!! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at [--] Canal Street in New Orleans was delightful. The balcony apartment was ideally located with the the Canal streetcar line running right outside the door . The apartment itself was artistically and pragmatically decorated – The kitchen was well supplied (even left some coffee and tea and a few other often used items for snacks). The balcony was a joy – cute and sheltered and comfortable -- The owners were very helpful – Comfortable, cute, well stocked, close to a major transportation line, helpful owners – What more could one ask – Glad we stayed there and would highly recommend this location

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: balcony and transportation access
Liked least: the stairway
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSoxFamil...
Yarmouth, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Perfect location, spacious apartment, helpful owner!”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed a week here and found it to be exactly what you see in the pictures! It is very spacious, clean and comfortable. There were 2 full sized fridges to use, every cooking utensil you could want and easy washer/dryer. We were given the wi/fi password, so used our electronics with no issue. The extra bonus is the front balcony -- breakfast every day in the beautiful NOLA air with welcoming plants. Each of the 3 bedrooms is big - closet space for us and plenty of space for luggage.

The location is right on the Canal Street trolley line, with the stop a 1 minute walk. We used the trolley to get in and out of the French Quarter and avoided driving and parking issues there. Also took it into City Park area. We had a rental car too, and parking at the apartment was no problem at all (Patrick gave tips to stay out of another business' parking area to be safe).

The owner, Patrick (and Jeffrey), was very helpful, sending an information package as soon as we confirmed our stay --- it allowed us to do alot of pre-planning. He even helped us out with ideas once we arrived there. The registration, payment, arrival and check out were seamless! It certainly sets a high bar for any future places we visit.

I highly recommend this spot -- location is ideal, very comfortable accommodations and very helpful owner. It delivered exactly what it promised! Any future trips to NOLA, we will be using this spot as our home base!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Spacious and home-like --- welcoming
Liked least: Only 1 bathroom
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOrun2016
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great time on Canal Street, New Orleans”
Reviewed March 6, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a wonderful experience. The booking process was easy and smooth through TripAdvisor. Was no problem communicating with the owner when we had questions...was very accommodating and helpful. The house worked out well for us, six adults. It was roomy and comfortable and the single bath worked out just fine. Balcony was a plus. We loved the location, just far enough from town yet easy to access with the Canal Streetcar line and a Jazzy pass. The local restaurants were very good too.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing