We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of a tour”
Review of Lower 9th Ward

Lower 9th Ward
Book In Advance
More Info
$495.00*
and up
New Orleans Private Vehicle City Tour
More Info
$49.00*
and up
City of New Orleans and Katrina Recovery Tour
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Combo Oak Alley Plantation and New Orleans City Tour
Ranked #121 of 358 things to do in New Orleans
Attraction details
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Part of a tour”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was part of a tour. I would not walk it or travel this area on my own. There were still a few houses affected by Katrina but the Ward is mostly rebuilt.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    22
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City, TN
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Understand what it is.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The lower 9th was flooded not only by Katrina but also by Hurricane Betsy in the 1960's. There are some places in which people just should not live, especially a population that doesn't have the resources (personal wealth, insurance, etc) to rebuild. This is one of them. The fact that only a fraction of the residents have returned tells you something. The best use for this area would be community parks, ball fields, etc. that could suffer flooding and then return.

This area is worth driving through if only for the educational benefit of seeing the devastation, and how good money has been wasted through sporatic spurts of rebuilding. Mr. Pitt's money would have been better spent in the Upper 9th or Gentilly areas.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Progress slowly but surely”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Drove through the area by ourselves - a very sad but historical experience. It a sight to see all that happened & all that was is being done to repair it all. Much beauty is being restored but it still has a long way to go - wish more was being one to help the people affected.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEER PARK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Part of Hurricane Katrina Tour as well”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The (Post) Hurricane Katrina Tour was about 2 -3 hours in a shuttle bus (i believe it was operated by Grey Line Tours). We visited Faubourg Marigny, the Lower 9th Ward, Lake Pontchartrain, etc as part of the tour. We saw a number of rebuilding projects and parts still devasted by Katrina. the Tour, though a little expensive in terms of activity fees, was well worth it. It was very good that our tour guide/driver was a native of the area. He added some personal stories relevant to the time before and after Katrina, that just made the tour more interesting and real. Very good tour and good way to see Faubourg Marigny and other parts of New Orleans. Would likely do it again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ScorpioEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Progress at last”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We saw New Orleans in 2006, 2008 and November 2012. In 2006 and 2008 the 9th Ward seemed left behind in recovery efforts. However, our Metairie friends took us to see the Brad Pitt "Make It Right' houses which were very interesting. Geometric in design, solar on roof, some made to breakaway and float. I don't think we were supposed to be there as it was local traffic only, but we went anyway. Even found a Little Free Library in front of one of the houses. I don't like anything about Brad Pitt, but what he is doing with this Foundation is wonderful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MandMDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lower 9th Ward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing