We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$179
$153
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$178
$126
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$252
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$238
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$111
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$249
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$299
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveler rating
98
100
33
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
100
33
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden districtst charlessister hotelcontinental breakfastfrench quarterhigh ceilingshardwood floorsbed was comfortablestreetcar stopsafe areawithin easy walking distanceexcellent locationquiet neighborhoodwater pressurecab ridechecking inboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 242 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed here with my parents last weekend and I was a bit concerned because of the one horrible review but we had nothing to worry about. That reviewer's remarks were so off base. Beyond breakfast there really aren't any amenities or special services like bellman or gym but you're here to see New Orleans not the inside of a hotel. The hotel is in an old home so it has lots of character...hard woods, floor to ceiling windows, etc. We had the two upper rooms at the front with shared a balcony. All four of us were very happy with the rooms, the price and the quiet location. We had a rent car so having an FREE, off-street lot was great and the streetcar is one block away to get you into the Quarter (where finding any kind of parking is a challenge). Some might think it's away from the "action" but during our stay we visited many other parts of the city not just the Quarter so the location was good for us. Bottom line is I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swan325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

My husband and I had reservations to stay in December, 2009. I contacted the hotel several times to inquire as to whether we could check in early, as we were driving for 16 hrs prior to arriving. We were able to check in early, however the room we were given was beautiful, but DIRTY. There were large makeup stains all over the comforter and pillows. Then, when we pulled the sheets back, there were unmentionable hairs covering the sheets. Also, we were told that the rooms came with Queen size beds, but they were doubles. We have a Queen at home, we would know. The hotel front desk person let us look at rooms in each of the other 3 properties that they own, and each one had something wrong with it -- coffee stains on the bathroom floor (from a coffee spill and could have easily been mopped up) or a toilet with the seat up and fresh urine stains on the bowl.

The only good thing about this reservation was that the hotel manager came in and called Expedia right away, in front of us, to cancel our reservation without any penalty or fee.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank singinghope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

I was driving from Houston to Atlanta and I asked my wife to fly over and meet me in New Orleans. We had not been there in ages, and since I was driving through, why not stop for a long weekend?

We found this hotel. The rate was within my budget so we decided to give it a try although we had never heard of the place and did not know what to expect. It was a great decision - we really liked the place.

It was an excellent restoration of an old building. The hotels sit next to the Halpern furniture store buildings (the owners). The rooms are immaculate and the furniture is very nice. (The hotel is owned by a furniture store proprietor- go figure!)

It is an old building. Rooms back when these places were built were smaller. I am sure if there was a way for the rooms to be enlarged they would have done it. They have a number of nice ideas that they did implement.

Location - this is an old section that is going through gentrification. The lighting made the streets and the parking lots feel secure. The hotel is one block off of St. Charles and you are only a few blocks off of Hway 90. The trolley cars are right there if you want to use them. I was driving a large pick up truck and I bought some big beers - so the trolley was a good idea for narrow streets with very few parking spots. BTW did I mention their "free parking" in well lit lots?

Service - great! Nice folks and they had maps, trolley passes, cream danish for breakfast and a nice smile too. Need help? - ask the hotel people.

It was a fun mini-adventure. We loved the hotel.

If you don't bring several suitcases, each one the size of a bale of hay on your trips, you will like the Prytania Oaks.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

My husband and I opted to spend our 41st anniversary in New Orleans. We had visited NO (staying in the Quarter) frequently in the past but had not been back since Katrina. Also for the last 10-15 years we have travleled mostly in our motorhome so hotel/motel experience was infrequent. We decided to try the Garden District for a change; also the rates were more reasonable and felt it would be safer to park our car--at no expense. We stayed in a 2nd floor suite open to balcony; the room was obviously newly refurbished and very clean. The weather was moderate so heating/cooling was not an issue. We had easy access to the Quarter (both driving and by trolley) and would be happy to stay there another time. The neighborhood was quiet and traffic was light.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuldPensacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

There were record temperatures in NOLA when we were there in October. Instead of staying in a "chain" hotel like we normally do we decided to try something different this trip. Based on excellent reviews and special pricing and proxcimity to the street car line we opted for the Prytania Oaks. The air conditioning didn't work. We tried 2 different rooms. Neither one cooled off until the wee hours of the morning. The room we didn't stay in had a broken air conditioner. The other one had an air conditioner that was working according to the staff. We found out our last night that the problem was the hotel is on a water chill loop system. I dont' know whether it just couldn't handle the heat and humidity or whethr it had a central control (we were assured each room was on it's on control). My experience (from a past job) with a chill water system is that often it is controled from a central source. The staff was accomadating - however, there wasn't enough staff available. Only one person on duty to man the desk and take care of 3 small hotels located within a 2 block area.. Basic cleaning was good but there was quite a bit of dust. The rooms are small but to be expected in a house converted into a hotel. The hotel is only a block off St Charles and is being renovated house by house but there are still a number of houses within the block that are very run down. I do not recommend staying here when it is hot unless they have changed the air conditioning system.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2009

I am truly sorry the guest was uncomfortable, but there are some facts that were explained to the guests that were left out of their review that will clarify the issue.

The building was built in the 1840's. The ceilings are 12-14 ft, with original crown moulding and lighting medillions. Original tile hearths and mantels around the fireplaces. Original Red Pine Hardwood floors restored. This was a million dollar renovation. We were able to turn the property into 16 beautiful rooms. The building they were in has 12 of the 16 rooms.

Due to the design of the building, there was no way to put in central a/c and heat without compromising the historic preservation to the building. Since that was something we did not want to jepordize, we opted for the Chiller System approach . We are preservationists.

By the way, this chiller system approach is actually how most major chain high rise hotels cool and heat their properties. It is a much more energy efficient and cost effective, which allows us, an independent privately owned hotel, to keep our rates competitive to the major chain hotels.

Each room is individually thermostated. Due to economics, each unit is turned off when not occupied, and turned on the afternoon of arrival. We turn the units on typically around check in time, 4 pm. The power of the chiller system allows the room to cool off very quickly given the outside temperature and high ceilings.

The week of the guests stay, the deep south was under an extreme heat index advisory which was more the weather we experience in July and August. It was quite unusual and everyone who checked in that week talked about it during registration.

The guest checked in approx 5:30 pm to a 2nd floor room, which had been occupied for several days prior. It is an unfortunate fact is we did not know until they checked in was that the thermostate to that room malfunctioned and was not operting at its fullest capicity. Being a limited service hotel, we do not have 24 hour maintenance unless its an emergency. This was not considered an emergency as we had another room to move them to.

We explained that we would have it the A/C tech out there 1st thing in the morning to correct and offered them to room move if they would like. All the rooms have ceiling fans for those who do not like A/C. As we were close to selling out and had only a few rooms we could have moved them too. At 6:08 pm, they moved to another room on the 1st floor.

That room was not assigned to occupy, so the A/C was not previously turned on. We explained this to them, and suggested they go out to dinner, and by the time they came back, it would be cool.

At just after 8pm, they returned and decided they did not want to be on the 1st floor, that they liked the 2nd floor room better. It was a bit bigger in size.

It was their option to move back to the room that had no cooling capicity other than the ceiling fan. We did have our techs there 1st thing in the morning, and the thermostat was replaced and all system checks were done to verify the A/C was working and cooling off the room.

Since then, we have had only 1 other room with a malfunctioning thermostat. Just like in private homes, equipment breaks without notice. All you can do is fix it as quickly as you can and try to accomodate the guests to the best of our ability, to which we did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews