We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location, Lots of charm, Clean, Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Ranked #113 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quiet location, Lots of charm, Clean, Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

In New Orleans for a convention and stayed at Prytania Oaks mainly for the location. The hotel is in the Garden District which is beautiful, quiet and full of charming historic buildings. Also convenient to the Convention Center, only took about 5 minutes to drive there. Parking is free (unlike downtown hotels that charge upwards $30 per day). The roomrate was only $79. Great value. The charm and character of the building and rooms was great. Clean, well kept rooms. Good service. Rooms are slightly small and we were on the 2nd floor. No elevator, but we are healthy and didn't mind the stairs. If you are elderly or handicap be sure to ask for a bottom floor room. When visiting New Orleans again, I will stay at this charming hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PBA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    96
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
145
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a sweet little deal in a perfect location. I wouldn't say the room was small, as many reviewers have commented, but it is a little cramped. That being said, we didn't use the room for anything other than showering and sleeping, so it was perfect. The hotel is a in a great location and offers free parking which CANNOT be beat. The furniture in the room was in excellent condition. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with a very nice shower. If you are booking on a budget, and don't require amenities, Prytania Oaks is the way to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel! It added to our great experience in New Orleans. We've been to the city many times and have stayed at various places but I would rank Prytania Oaks near the top of the list. The rooms are clean. Shower was spacious and hot with good water pressure. Bed was very comfortable, large, and clean. The hotel is just a block off the street car route. We spent the whole day riding the street cars and walking around the French Quarter. Also there's a neat little coffee shop on St. Charles called Krewe Du Brew that I highly recommend. It's close to lots of restaurants and a park in a decent area. I'm looking forward to going back with my family!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KariLexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelpro123
Level Contributor
439 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Located in the very nice Garden District of NOLA, the Prytania Oaks belongs to the Prytania Park Hotel diagonally across the street. When checking in you need to first drive to this hotel, not to the Oaks. The Prytania Oaks is a newly renovated historic building, the rooms could be called almost “boutique chic”, and they are very nicely furnished, centrally air-conditioned, bathrooms with stylish b&w tiles and granite vanity top. The location is excellent, you actually can walk to the French Quarter from here, but the trolley line is only a block away. This is a very good deal: Very nice rooms, excellent quiet location, free parking, breakfast and Wifi. Hard to beat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelpr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Prytannia Oaks and agree we'd stay there again if we go back to New Orleans. But there are a few things we found a bit quirky. The hotel is in the middle of a mixed residential/commercial area one block off St Charles. When you arrive, there is nothing to indicate you've arrived at Prytannia Oaks, except the address and a paper sign on the gate telling you registration is a block and a half away to the Prytannia Park. Not a huge inconvenience, but a bit unusual. I thought for a value priced hotel, the room was nicely renovated and nicely appointed and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious, clean with a good shower. The room had the high ceilings of the 19th century and a queen sized poster bed and nicely redone wooden floors. Both rooms had a non-functional but decorative fireplace in them. However as much as we enjoyed the decor of the room and found it to be very quiet, it was the smallest queen room I'd ever stayed in, very difficult for the two of us to manuever in. Parking is also a bit tight with the parking lot only having room for 8-10 cars while hotel has sixteen rooms. We were able to obtain a lot space overnight both nights we were there but did have to park on the street when returned one night before dinner.The Sunday breakfast was set up at Prytannia Oaks and looked to have a decent variety, including waffles made for you by a staff member, although Monday's was set up in the courtyard of Prytannia Park and seemed to lack the variety of the Sunday breakfast. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the location was very convenient. There is a pretty good variety of restaurants within walking distance on St Charles (although the best one was Dijon five blocks away on Annunciation). Overall, we found the positives outweighed the negatives.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SRusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, Thank you for taking time out to write a review. We appreciate it a great deal. But I would like to clarify a few points:
1. All reservations, no matter where or how booked (direct with us, our website, or any number of 3rd party agents) state that Registration and Check In is at our main property, The Prytania Park Hotel with the address. We do have a sign on the front gate for those that do not completely read the confirmations, just scanned for accuracy to dates and rates.

2. The fireplaces are for decoration only, due to the age of the building, 1840’s, the hearths and fireplace are original. This is how the house was heated that many years ago and if was still a Single family home, possibly could be operational, however, since we are a hotel, we could not get clearance from the State Fire Marshall considered a Fire Hazard. Don’t forget, this was back when, and still is a Residental neighborhood. As with many Historical Districts wherever you travel, you will find a few businesses tucked in here and there. Same with New Orleans. There are a few businesses scattered throughout the Garden District area, but for the most part, still mainly residential.

3. The main parking lot for all 3 of our hotels is at the Prytania Park, where there is more than amply parking. However, those staying here and at the Queen Anne, do have access to a smaller lot. The adjacent business allows us to share the parking lot for our guests, since parking in most older sections of any city is limited to Street parking, and New Orleans is no exception.

We are Self Park Off Street, and is Free of Charge. Unlike most hotels in New Orleans. Example, in the French Quarter or Warehouse District is actually several blocks from most hotels, and they have Mandatory Valet and a high cost $18-$35 per night. So our Guests are very lucky to have it right at their door basically and Free of Charge.

4. Breakfast selection will vary from hotel to hotel, but it is still an Expanded Continental Breakfast and has more than enough choices for everyone to find a palatable “get me going” breakfast.

5. Thank you for the Restaurant recommendation, we will pass it on as well from the Front Desk.

Fondly,
Dori H Schulman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I loved this hotel. It was everything I was looking for, quaint, comfortable and with bags of character. The room was beautiful with a huge bathroom and awesome shower ( Now there is a word I don't use very often!) It was powerful and hot enough to boil lobster. Perfect!! Everything was spotlessly clean. Achingly stylish!! The air conditioner worked well and was a whisper. The bed was comfortable. The wifi worked perfectly.

I loved the courtyard. If it had had lounge chairs it would have been perfect but I'm just being picky. It was lovely to sit out with a drink and observe the "Super Moon"

Breakfast was simple and light. More than enough to set you up for the mountain of food New Orleans pours down you!!!

All of the staff were charming. The location was excellent being close enough to "the action" without being noisy. There is plenty of interest within walking distance.

My husband insists I point out one flaw ( in his opinion) . The tv is hung on the wall over the mantle which means that it is obscured by the bed post. If it were swapped over with one of the pictures on the wall next to the bed it would still look fine and not be obscured.

I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Choocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

THANK YOU for your review. I appreciate all your comments and noted the TV placement issue. We have addressed this but not having much success in getting the cable lines moved inside the walls of the house to other locations inside the rooms.

When we did the renovation, the specs were for the TV's to be wall hung to specified walls. Unfortunately, some were and some were not. Those that were not was due to electrical service not being coordinated to those walls. Once we realized what happened, it was too late as the walls were closed up.

So we try to re-arrange the furniture set up that was being planned, but that failed us as well due to the limitations of the windows. So, here we are, still looking into another alternatives which might fix our few rooms. I hope your next stay will be TV free and clear.

Fondly,
Dori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington,pa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stay there for the first weekend of jazz fest staff was overall pleasant. Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was good. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blkflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#85 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#104 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#56 of 137 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Oaks Hotel

Property: Prytania Oaks Hotel
Address: 1612 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prytania Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prytania Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing