We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Ranked #113 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Close to perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I just stayed here for four nights with my daughter. Nice safe neighborhood, convenient to street car and walking distance to restaurants. The room was spotless, as were the grounds. We had a room on the second floor in the back and it was very quiet, which I appreciated. There were only a few minor things that could have been better. We checked in and were told where to park but weren't told how to get into the property or where our room was. It wasn't too hard to figure out but it would've been helpful to have been told. Several times there was no parking in either lot but on street parking was available for free. And the breakfast left a lot to be desired but as others have said, we're not there for the free continental breakfast. I would suggest adding yogurt and fruit. There was no place to sit in our room other than the bed or a desk chair. The addition of a comfy chair would be nice although I don't know if one would fit in the room. The price for this hotel was a steal, all things considered. Would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sraeemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    96
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
145
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The only downside to our stay at this beautiful hotel was that it was only for one night! We did not want to check out the next day to continue our travels around Louisiana :( The Prytania Oaks is a part of a group of hotels all within the same block. You check in at the Prytania Park office, where there is free parking and the office staff is extremely helpful. Christine was so kind as to give us a map with highlighted areas to go (and not go!). Our room was not ready as we arrived much earlier than check-in, but it was so easy to park our car, buy a $3 street car pass and explore Nola. The front desk called to notify us when our room was ready (which was earlier than the specified check-in time) but we were having too much fun in the quarter to return right back to the hotel!
We had 2 king rooms on the 2nd floor with balconies overlooking Prytania. The rooms were perfectly clean, with beautiful furnishings, and as my in-laws described- "the most comfortable beds!" The rooms also had extra perks such as mini-fridges, flat screen TV's and coffee pots. The breakfast is light, as many other reviewers have complained. But they make it perfectly clear that it is a "get you going" type of breakfast. That morning they offered pastries, cereals, milk, juice & coffee. Just enough to get you fueled for heading out & finding a delicious creole breakfast. Who comes to New Orleans to feast on a hotel's continental breakfast, anyway?
Our favorite part of this hotel was the fact that we enjoyed an exciting night out in the French Quarter & then had a quiet, beautiful, safe area to return to. We stayed on Bourbon St. until around midnight, and felt perfectly safe getting on the street car and returning back to the Prytania Oaks Hotel. For all the perks you get (including the FREE parking) we consider this the perfect place to stay while experiencing Nola.
We are officially in love with New Orleans & the Prytania Oaks Hotel. We will back...hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Rooms 260 & 261 share a balcony ... perfect for couples traveling together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cates622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southlake
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

We only had two days and one night in New Orleans, so a great hotel was essential. Prytania Oaks was the perfect find. It is a beautiful home in the garden district converted into a hotel just one block off the St. Charles trolley line. The room was clean, non-smoking, and tastefully remodeled with granite counter tops and a flat screen TV. The king size bed was comfortable and the bench on the front porch made a great place to relax. It was an excellent value for the money and Bourbon street was an easy few minutes away. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank officecomputer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
345 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

The Prytania Oaks is one of three related properties within a block or so of each other. The Oaks, at least, is a converted historic home, and has the charm and elegance of a turn-of-the century mansion. Our room was in the front on the top floor, with a shared balcony. It was too hot to use it in June, but at another time of year, we could imagine sitting out there with our coffee in the morning and a stronger drink later. The entire building has been recently renovated, with modern fixtures in the large bathroom. Our room had a sink and counter outside of the bathroom, as well, which was very convenient in the mornings. Very comfortable bed; the usual coffee maker, iron and ironing board, and toiletries.
The hotel is on a quiet street, just one block from the St. Charles Street car, which had us to Canal street in a matter of minutes. The WWII museum is just a couple of stops away, and there are restaurants in the neighborhood that are much less expensive, quieter, and less crowded than those in the tourist areas.
Very pleasant, very accommodating staff, although they should have more than one person on the desk at the check-in time. We were given no instructions on how to get to our room -- we had to go around to the side of the building and through a door to an interior stairway -- primarily because the young woman at the desk was trying to check us in and handle the phones at the same time. The door to the stairs was marked with the room numbers, but we had to find it first!
The complimentary breakfast includes fresh waffles, instant hot cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, fresh fruit, breads -- I don't know what other reviewers are complaining about.
The only negative was that the locks on the windows leading to the balcony were broken; one came right out of the frame! There was no way to the balcony except through the rooms that opened onto it, but I was still glad that I hadn't taken my laptop with me.
And when they say check-in is at 4:00, they mean it! We arrived about 2:00, were allowed to park the car in the lot, and told that the room would be ready in about 30 minutes. We walked up to the St. Charles Pub, had a drink, wandered around, returned at 3:30, to be told that the room would not be ready until 4:00. Why promise us 2:30, then? What really rankled was watching others arrive -- at least one without a reservation -- and check in while we waited. Apparently the Oaks is that last of the three properties to be cleaned. We'll know better next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_QBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Wow, Thank you for your review. I appreciate all the comments, and will make sure the window locks are addressed immediately.

We do allow early check ins, and will always work hard to get you into a room when you arrive.
I am truly sorry your room was not ready "early", and not within the time you were advised of. GIving times is always a sore point with me, and one that my Front Desk staff has been warned not to do because of situations like this. Again, I apologize for your having to wait like that, but there are usually circumstances beyond our control that preclude our getting all rooms earlier than the stated check in time of 4pm., namely the "heat and humidity".

But for the record, The Oaks is not cleaned last, but in rotation as to when guests check out from that morning. Guests leave starting as early as 6 am until 11 am, with the few exceptions of late check out (which we do offer) to Noon at no charge. Housekeeping starts promptly at 9am, so not to disturb others that may be sleeping in a bit later.

We have had a very busy June, due to many conventions and tourist in town, which is a good thing. This happened to be the day that one convention ending, and another beginning, so it was a full day of room turn overs. With the extreme heat we have been experiencing, our housekeeping staff is moving a bit slower.

I will make sure my entire staff reads your review and uses this as a learning tool. I hope to see you back later in the year, latter part of October, and early November is a great month to enjoy the balcony and so are March and April.

Fondly,
Dori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

This is an elegant hotel with no annoying lobby and fussing staff. Just like staying in your own house - it is quiet, clean and the rooms are very well furnished. You have your own key.
Short walk in to town - closeby . Definitely recommend this place.
Only thing it lacked was a pool!

Room Tip: Stay in Prytania Oaks - pretty yellow building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomski123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for a week from the 24th May - 1st June. It was above expectation considering how cheap it is.
We stayed in a Superior Queen Room which had a super comfy bed! It was clean and new but still had a nice warm vintage feel to it. The air conditioning was very quiet and our room was facing the courtyard so it was really easy to sleep. There is a lovely big shower with a place to sit down - perfect for tired legs when you've been walking around all day in the heat and your feet are swollen!
The rail-car is really close and very handy transportation if it's to hot to walk in to town. We walked to Canal St on one of the days and it was fine but just a bit too hot to handle in the middle of the day.
The breakfast was the only thing we weren't happy with. A few extremely sweet pastries, cereal and toast were the only options, but it didn't really matter as we found a really nice place just down the road called Blue Plate Café on 1330 Prytania Street. It has an amazing selection of breakfast and is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel.
The staff were nice and helpful with everything. I have no complaints and we will definitely stay again when we come back to New Orleans - and we will - we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Halgot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

On our second stay here, I left a large amount of cash in the safe, along with a couple of credit cards. Things got busy when we returned home and I'd assumed that the money was tucked back in my carryon and didn't think to look until later.

Prytania Oaks emailed us, then followed up with a telephone call, after they unlocked the safe and discovered the money and cards there; they're taking care of returning all to us. We were supremely impressed with their honesty!

We've enjoyed our stays at the hotel; the rooms are very comfortable and clean, quiet also. They are also very attractively decorated.

They've added a breakfast at Prytania Oaks this year, which was nice.

There's a nice, large patio out in back with several tables, (with umbrellas) and chairs. Very nice to sit out there in the morning, having breakfast or coffee, then winding down for a pleasant evening after a day outside.

The only thing that I didn't like is that you have to check in at Prytania Park, then haul your suitcases a couple of blocks over to Prytania Oaks. It's not a terrible distance but it's not so much fun over the cobblestones especially as we come for Jazz and Heritage Fest and bring folding chairs along, as well! That said, it didn't stop us from coming back a second year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank MyPapillons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#86 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#104 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#60 of 137 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Oaks Hotel

Property: Prytania Oaks Hotel
Address: 1612 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prytania Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prytania Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing