We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Etouffee”
Review of Chartres House

Chartres House
Ranked #175 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Chartres House is a local favorite—a French Quarter landmark serving casual dishes and classic drinks in an intimate, historical environment. This antebellum building, once a favorite haunt of Tennessee Williams, is now home to a menu featuring duck quesadillas, classic New Orleans BBQ shrimp, muffalettas and more. Dine on the balcony or in the intimate courtyard, or join the local crowd after hours for quick bites and cocktails.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Etouffee”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The best Etouffee I have had. The bartender was great at describing the local beers and freely offered to poor samples until we found one we liked. Excellent service. Really good turtle cake. Excellent value for the money. Po'boys dressed with fries cost less than a Po'boy alone elsewhere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raffak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    303
    111
    47
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Sunday night fare.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Looking for a restaurant close to the Omni Royal Orleans on Sunday night, we wandered into Chartres House. Good burgers, cajun selection at reasonable prices. Interesting crowd at the bar, service ladled on with plenty of darlin's and honeys.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmckphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChartresHouseGM, Manager at Chartres House, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for recommending Chartres House. We are glad you enjoyed your food. Our Chartres Burger seems to be a crowd favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this place looking for dinner one night. Food was excellent, have the spinach dip with the fried bow-tie pasta, so good. Staff couldn't be friendlier. Worth checking bout.

Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChartresHouseGM, Manager at Chartres House, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We are justy as happy as you that you stumbled upon us. We strive for great service with laddled with pure southern hospitality. WE hope you keep us in mind for a return trip. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and better service”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went there on Xmas eve - had waiter Scott - he made sure we were happy at all times and well fed. The dessert - triple layered chocolate cake - was awesome

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EatMyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“No saucers or teaspoons in this restaurant!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My family stayed in New Orleans for a week in December 2013, and during this time we tried out a lot of restaurants in the French Quarter area. The Chartres House was unfortunately the only really bad experience we encountered. Things started off poorly on a chilly day when I ordered coffee with hot milk. The waiter arrived with a cup filled to the brim with hot black coffee, and a further cup filled half way with hot milk...but unfortunately no saucer or teaspoon! My effort to get the two cups mixed was not very successful (pouring one cup over the other and using my soup spoon to stir!...) and I ended up with some spillage on the table. When the waiter reappeared and asked whether I needed anything else, I politely asked for more coffee, but stressed that he should bring a saucer and teaspoon as well. He promptly arrived with the cup placed in a soup bowl, and another soup spoon to stir it with! Apparently he was not doing anything wrong either, because when I asked about this, he advised me that they "never serve coffee, and therefore do not have ANY teaspoons or a saucers in the restaurant"! It all went downhill after that as we hastily ordered and finished tasteless burgers and got out of there. This is such a pity as someone else told us about a good red fish that they had had earlier - maybe our waiter made the difference?..; but we will definitely not be returning to find out!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AceBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chartres House also viewed

 

Been to Chartres House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing