We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the Heart of good times!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Steilacoom, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Right in the Heart of good times!”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My sisters, cousins and I have begun a tradition of celebrating our 50th's together in a fun place. Last year was Vegas! This year in Oct I picked New Orleans. What a great choice! Apparently they love birthdays there. I had pin that said 50th Birthday that I wore and every other person I saw wished me Happy birthday. Some will even give you money! I made $7 from total strangers who'd respond when I protested, "That's N'awlins darling". At one restaurant the live jazz band played to me and then the owner led me and my party on a parade around the dining room loaning me the traditional small,umbrella to wave! What fun! I would definitely recommend NO for a superb girls weekend away!

To be more specific, we stayed at a timeshare resort, Club La Pension right on Decatur. It was a great old building and in a perfect location. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooftop hot tub was a lovely relaxing way to end the day. Although the building was very old, that only added to the charm. We did not miss the usual amenities at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    97
    25
    5
    9
See reviews for
77
120
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Overall this was a fantastic find. We stayed in a 2 bedroom. Everything was great. Great location, great friendly staff, great unit, great amenities. Would recommend this place and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spunkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My wife and I booked 5 rooms here at Club La Pension using our Bluegreen points for a weekend with family and friends. The room that we had (313) was a handicapped room, but the only difference seemed to be a walk-in shower instead of a bathtub/shower combo. The one bedroom suite was huge by New Orleans standards. It had a pull out couch in the entry room with a flat screen TV, a small kitchenette and large bathroom and nice sized bedroom with one queen bed.

The hotel is in the French Quarter near Canal and Decatur, only a couple blocks from Bourbon Street and Jackson Square. It is a great location.

The hotel is clean although it is typical of New Orleans and is a small "boutique" type hotel. The check-in was simple and all five rooms were ready at Noon when we arrived which was nice. The staff was very friendly. There is a small hot tub on the roof, which I believe is open 24 hours, but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wordman113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We had a wonderful week at Club La Pension. The staff was just wonderful. Room was clean and right in the French Quarter. This place is just a short walk to Bourbon St., but fat enough away that it's not loud at night. Plus, you will never hear your neighbors either. Bed was super comfortable! Would definitly go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FiftiesGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I visited New Orleans with two friends and we stayed here. We stayed on an RCI exchange, so I am not sure how the cost compares to the value of the place...but I can say that I was very satisfied with our visit. The furniture in the common areas was a little outdated but I didn't come to New Orleans to sit on my butt and relax. The bedrooms were small but the beds were fairly comfortable and both bedrooms had tall windows that opened to a private balcony. I have to say the balcony provided many hours of people watching fun...we even had our very own street-corner preacher. The balcony overlooked Decatur St. so there was always some kind of activity...although it did quiet down at night. The hot tub on the roof provided some much needed relaxation after a long day of walking around the French Quarter.

The parking situation was daunting at first because it is $30 a day for valet (offsite) parking. I was very impressed with the service, I was able to retrieve my car within 5 minutes of any departure...there was never a delay. The staff was very nice even when I had to retrieve my vehicle from parking to get my camera after I had just left it for parking a few minutes earlier. It was definitely worth the cost of valet...since there is NO parking in this area of the Quarter and covered secure parking costs about $25 a day anyway.

If you decide to stay here...don't waste your time or money with the Everything Shopped on Canal. You can see it from the front of the property and I thought it would be very convenient...well it was...but also ridiculously expensive. There are two Walgreen's stores within 3 blocks of la Pension and a Walmart that is less than a mile away....so don't waste your money on these "convenience" stores.

la Pension is located about 2 blocks away from the riverfront..and is very convenient to everything in the French Quarter. Harrah's casino is also very close and several really nice places to dine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jonathan029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Had a wonderful time in New Orleans sight seeing, and just taking in all the new good changes to this great city. This was the first time back since 2002. We stayed at Club La Pension on Decatur St which was only 2 blocks from Bourbon St .The building has been there since 1840 and was remolded in 1997. Furnishing were very comfortable, had a nice size kitchen but never cooked since there are soo many wonderful resturants there. The staff at La Pension were wonderful, Iashia,Charmaine, Josh took care of our every need. Thank you Bluegreen for such a nice place to visit.The staff also put us in touch with someone to pick us up from the airport. Global Transportation they were there when our plane arrived and picked us up for our departure home. This is a great place to stay, We will go back there soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CharlotteAugustaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Positives - great location, near a ton of restraurants, on the edge of the french quarter and a block or so from Harrahs. Tubs have jacuzzi jets, beds and pillows are comfortable with plenty of extra's. The pull out couch into a bed is nice too if travelling with young children.

Negatives - $30 a night to park, no pool, a bit noisey - it is the french quarter so that should be expected. Old TV's need updated, water pressure is weak.

We have stayed here a few times, the rooms are fine. We have had the 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom units and they are fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DYoung0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
La Galerie Hotel
La Galerie Hotel
#111 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#70 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 115 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Club La Pension)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Pension Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing