We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #64 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is a piece of cool paradise in the middle of swampy New Orleans. The room was decorated in funky art and was very clean. The bed & pillows were the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel. I seriously wanted to slip a pillow into my suitcase. (If you're reading this Club la Pension, don't worry, I didn't!) The room was nice & cool & included a ceiling fan. The weather was so humid that the room because a nice oasis to get out of the heat. The rooftop area is cool at night. I would've liked to have had a pool or hot tub on premises, but it was really a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Amanda I,

Thank you for sharing your compliments. It is an honor to provide our guests with an exceptional vacation experience. We are thrilled that you were impressed with Club La Pension in general. We are glad you had an amazing time and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    85
    25
    5
    8
See reviews for
71
110
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This location was in walking distance to Harrah's Casino, Bourbon Street, the Aquarium, River Walk, Jax Brewery and Canal Street shopping. This quaint hotel was just perfect for my family. We rented two rooms. The towels were changed daily as well as the trash taken out. One of the rooms we rented had a balcony and really made us feel like we were in NOLA...the activity on Decatur Street made the room a little noisy at night but then again it added to the charm and night life of New Orleans. The entire staff was wonderful. Valet parking was quick for us as well. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Laura J,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback for Club La Pension. We are more than thrilled to find out that you had a perfect vacation. We are glad that you could experience the variety of things to see and do in our resort and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We'd love to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My fiance and I spent a three night stay at La Pension for our first trip to New Orleans. We absolutely fell in love with the city and this hotel pleasantly exceeded our expectations. It is located at the edge of the French Quarter so we were in walking distance to everything not only in the Quarter, but also to the museums, Harrah's casino and Mother's nearby.

The decor in the lobby is quaint boutique style and very clean. We arrived in the morning so the front desk workers helped arrange an early check-in. Before the room was ready, they let us leave our bags with them so we could begin exploring luggage-free. They will call you when your room is ready so you don't have to keep checking in. However, we were desperate for a quick freshen-up so we took a shot and circled back to the hotel a few hours later. Luckily, our room was just about ready. The room was a two level, one bedroom (room 406) that we entered via roof access. It was extremely clean and perfectly arranged when we arrived. It had a kitchen, living room area, two TVs, two bathrooms (one half bath, one full) and a queen sized bed.

Along with the confusion of other guests, we did not quite understand the maid service. They will not change your towels if you hang them up to dry as part of a Green initiative (which I've seen in other hotels), but I believe they did come in to take the towels on the floor. What was confusing was that they did not make the bed at all. However, this didn't bother us too much since our stay was short. My only minor complaint would be that you cannot turn on the shower from the side so you are forced to hit freezing cold water for a second in order to start it up. But since it was 90+ degrees and insane humidity outside, this also was not a huge deal.

We did not have any issues with noise. On Decatur St. you are far enough away from Bourbon to enjoy a good night's rest, but not too far that you wouldn't be able to walk home easily if you did decide to stay out late.

The hotel is actually a timeshare, so they will ask you to sit through the two hour presentation for some sort of compensation. They offered us a $150 visa gift card to go to the presentation, but our stay was so short that we didn't want to spare the two hours when we knew we had no interest in purchasing anything. If you politely decline, they will not bother you about it.

Overall the hotel was great and I would highly recommend it! We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Andrea L,

Thank you for your compliments about Club La Pension. We are delighted that you and your fiancé not only made most of your stay but also would love to return. We are happy that you received a warm welcome from our staff and that you were able to enjoy every single moment during your stay. We appreciate you taking a time to write such a detailed review, and we hope to welcome you back for an extended vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

My hubby and I were approached in the mall for buy 3 nights for $100 with a $75 gift card being given to us after checking in. Couldn't pass up this deal!! New Orleans as always was a great mini honeymoon. The room had weird art (chair upside-down on the ceiling) in the living room, tv's were small for our likings but heck we only used it to check the weather, glass shower for 2 was wonderful! Bed was small queen size considering my hubby is well over 6ft. The balcony was scary and looked unstable and if you don't lock it back anyone on either side can access your room. Fridge and microwave was clean and nice closet space. Walking distance to all your needs. Staff was extremely helpful and nice!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello shourite,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We are delighted you enjoyed your honeymoon part 2 in New Orleans. We hope you will consider returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We enjoyed our 2 bedroom unit. We had a large balcony that was the length of both bedrooms. We also had a bath and half in our unit. The staff is very attentive and makes you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. Laundry was a little tight but I was happy I didn't bring any dirty clothes home. The bellman and other support staff also couldn't have been nicer. I would stay again on a future visit without question.

Room Tip: If a large balcony is important choose Decatur St rooms. Street noise on the weekends but we enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beverlybfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello beverlybfd,

Thank you for staying at Club La Pension. We are happy you enjoyed our condo-style accommodations and that our staff was friendly and attentive. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit area
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for our 32nd anniversary trip to New Orleans. We arrived early before check in and our room was ready. Everyone was helpful! Room was clean and hotel essentials were provided. Location is great, far enough away from Bourbon Street, but also close enough to the action. Great area to explore, take one of the hop off and hop on tours. Need to make a stop at Café Du Mondo, the place where they made the original MUFFALETTAS, and check out Antonies where they give you a tour (If you just ask). Pat O'Brien's has the best bread pudding and hurricaines. We took a short trip of 4 days and saw and did most things we wanted to do. Rained quite a bit, so don't forget your umbrella!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Ddace1982,

We are pleased to hear your kind remarks about Club La Pension. We are honored to have your trust to provide exceptional service and beautiful, yet comfortable accommodations for your very special stay. We are happy to hear that you could experience the variety of things to see and do. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The location of this resort which is really a hotel not a resort is the best....just on the edge of the french quarter and walkable to loads of activities on Canal Street.
It is a tad quirky .. Our room had a chair hanging upside down !!??... I would have preferred a chair and table to sit and eat my breakfast at....we had room 603.
Outside of that comfortable stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGELA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello AKONHOLIDAY,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Club La Pension. We are delighted you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the central location. We hope you will consider returning on your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
La Galerie Hotel
La Galerie Hotel
#129 of 161 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#53 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#43 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 115 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Club La Pension)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Pension Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing