We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #64 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Part 2”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

My hubby and I were approached in the mall for buy 3 nights for $100 with a $75 gift card being given to us after checking in. Couldn't pass up this deal!! New Orleans as always was a great mini honeymoon. The room had weird art (chair upside-down on the ceiling) in the living room, tv's were small for our likings but heck we only used it to check the weather, glass shower for 2 was wonderful! Bed was small queen size considering my hubby is well over 6ft. The balcony was scary and looked unstable and if you don't lock it back anyone on either side can access your room. Fridge and microwave was clean and nice closet space. Walking distance to all your needs. Staff was extremely helpful and nice!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello shourite,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We are delighted you enjoyed your honeymoon part 2 in New Orleans. We hope you will consider returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    92
    25
    5
    9
See reviews for
74
118
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We enjoyed our 2 bedroom unit. We had a large balcony that was the length of both bedrooms. We also had a bath and half in our unit. The staff is very attentive and makes you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. Laundry was a little tight but I was happy I didn't bring any dirty clothes home. The bellman and other support staff also couldn't have been nicer. I would stay again on a future visit without question.

Room Tip: If a large balcony is important choose Decatur St rooms. Street noise on the weekends but we enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beverlybfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello beverlybfd,

Thank you for staying at Club La Pension. We are happy you enjoyed our condo-style accommodations and that our staff was friendly and attentive. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit area
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for our 32nd anniversary trip to New Orleans. We arrived early before check in and our room was ready. Everyone was helpful! Room was clean and hotel essentials were provided. Location is great, far enough away from Bourbon Street, but also close enough to the action. Great area to explore, take one of the hop off and hop on tours. Need to make a stop at Café Du Mondo, the place where they made the original MUFFALETTAS, and check out Antonies where they give you a tour (If you just ask). Pat O'Brien's has the best bread pudding and hurricaines. We took a short trip of 4 days and saw and did most things we wanted to do. Rained quite a bit, so don't forget your umbrella!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Ddace1982,

We are pleased to hear your kind remarks about Club La Pension. We are honored to have your trust to provide exceptional service and beautiful, yet comfortable accommodations for your very special stay. We are happy to hear that you could experience the variety of things to see and do. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The location of this resort which is really a hotel not a resort is the best....just on the edge of the french quarter and walkable to loads of activities on Canal Street.
It is a tad quirky .. Our room had a chair hanging upside down !!??... I would have preferred a chair and table to sit and eat my breakfast at....we had room 603.
Outside of that comfortable stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGELA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello AKONHOLIDAY,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Club La Pension. We are delighted you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the central location. We hope you will consider returning on your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeley Lake, Montana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed on 3rd floor. The room was a 1 bedroom suite with a large living area and pull out sofa bed. Had a compact kitchen and nice large walk-in shower in bathroom. Other reviewers had commented on not having bath essentials, even towels in rooms, so we packed our own. The room had everything we needed so it was unnecessary to pack the extra items, but better safe than sorry. Location, location, location! If you want a downtown experience this fits the bill. Walking distance to everything. The noise level can be loud in the hall as I slept on the sofa bed. I brought earplugs based on other reviewers comments and slept well using them. You could also tuck a towel at the bottom of the door leading to the hall and that helps. You are in New Orleans so you have to expect noise. There is a very nice balcony on the 4th floor with a couple of bean bag games, table and chairs and a view of the street when you look over the brick wall. Because it is downtown and the streets are narrow they have valet parking only. The cost is $35.00. Be sure to add this into your stay. We were able to check out in the morning and pick our vehicle up later that afternoon without any additional charge. There is no swimming pool or restaurant on premises. Restaurants are however within a block walking distance.

Room Tip: t any additional charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Deena S,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We are happy you enjoyed the location and had a very nice experience. We are glad you had everything you needed in the room. We hope you will consider returning on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

To start, the hotel has a fun, quirky feel and is in a great location, close enough to walk everywhere but far enough away that you aren't bombarded with noise. The artwork, furniture, and general look of the hotel is great. My entire group absolutely loved it. This is one of the cutest places I've stayed. And, the 7th floor balcony is wonderful.

My husband and I travel several times a year, around the US and abroad, and are pretty laid back and don't expect a lot. I understand that the hospitality industry can be a stressful one so I don't typically complain. Unfortunately, I experienced a few issues at this hotel.

This trip was a surprise 40th birthday, 3 night trip for my husband. Some friends of ours were coming as well. We booked our rooms months in advance and called to request balcony rooms or, at the very least, rooms near each other for the duration of our stay.

At check in, which took about 30 minutes, Bryan (?) was incredibly slow. (Maybe a new hire?) We learned that my husband and I were in a room on the 5th floor and our friends were in a room on the 3rd floor. We asked again to be close together but were told there was nothing that could be done. While this wasn't a huge deal, the elevator situation is a little strange and we had to get off at the 3rd floor, walk to another elevator, and then head to the 5th floor. Still, we were just sleeping here so it wasn't a massive issue.

The big issue came on the night before we were headed home. We were out late, to be expected, and returned to the hotel just before 2 am. Our key card wouldn't open our door so we headed back down to the front desk. The woman working reset our key and sent us back to our room. The key didn't work again so we went back downstairs. At this point, I was getting slightly annoyed. We spoke with the woman working and she was nice but very confused as to what to do. Apparently, there is a battery inside the door lock that needed to be changed. She told us that she would have to call maintenance but that they wouldn't be able to come until the next day and she asked if we would mind sleeping on the pull out couch in our friends' room. (I thought this was weird and couldn't figure out why they wouldn't just put us in another room for the night.)

I let the woman know that we were checking out the next day so she made another call and had the maintenance man come out that night to change the battery in our door lock. (At this point, we were also told that a manager would speak to us the next day and would do something to acknowledge this issue and make it right.) While we were waiting, we headed to our friends' room, and we then got a call that the security guard used a key to get into our room from the room next door to it so we headed back up to our room where we waited for the maintenance man. He came, changed the battery, and was very nice but still, it was after 3 am at this point and I wanted to be in bed.

Once the battery was changed, I called the front desk and asked for a later check out time and was told we could have until 11 am. The next morning, I got a call at 10:15 letting me know that I was late for check out. After everything that had happened the night before, this seriously annoyed me.

I got the check out time corrected so we finished packing and headed downstairs where we watched Bryan (?) at the front desk get key cards ready for incoming guests for about 10 minutes before we were acknowledged and checked out. I told him that we were supposed to speak to a manager before we checked out but he said nothing was notated about that and nobody was available so that was that and we requested a taxi and then headed to the airport.

I have been home for a week now and nobody has reached out to me, which is pretty disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Crazy_Me_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Crazy_Me_35,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We are glad you were pleased with our location and quirky décor. We are committed to providing helpful and efficient customer service. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and would like to follow up with you at your convenience. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were there for French Qtr. Fest - we stayed in a 2 bedroom 1 1/2 bath that was much more than we expected. We had friends with us and the accomadations were plenty large enough for 4 adults. We had a great kitchen area with eating area. Thanks to Charlmayne at front desk for being so helpful with anything we needed. We will diffinently go back again!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: High floor if street side, unless you want balcony. Rooms on alley may be a little quieter -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hello Cathy S,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Club La Pension. We are delighted your stay exceeded your expectations. We are happy you were impressed with our condo-style accommodations and staff. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#57 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 115 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Club La Pension)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Pension Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing