We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our second stay here very much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #63 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our second time at this resort. The last was three weeks before Katrina in 2005. They have done major renovations since our last stay. We were in 206 this time.

The good:

* Location, location, location. They are on the edge of the French Quarter near Canal Street and an easy walk from anywhere within the French Quarter, the Warehouse District, and the St Charles Street street car for going to the Garden District.

* The units give you a lot of space. We had a two bedroom unit during both of our visits. Last time we had our son with us. This time we didn’t and the second room gave us a place to store my clothing.

* There is a limited kitchen area with a small refrigerator, so you can have breakfast in the room if you want to.

* The staff is very helpful and friendly.


The not so good:

* There is a street behind the resort that is more or less an alley. In the early morning, taxi drivers park there in what looks like a make shift taxi queue for the nearby Marriott. They shout at each other and honk their horns. This, of course, wakes you up quite early. This might be less of an issue if you’re in a room on an upper floor.

* Our second bathroom was very small and had almost zero shelf space. Luckily I don’t need much, and I let my wife have the larger bathroom.

* There is not a lot of space for storing clothing. There’s plenty of closet space, but very limited drawer space.


Advice:

* Do not rent a car unless you plan on a road trip outside of the area. You don’t need one. Taxis to/from the airport charge a flat rate of $33 (at least for two people).

Room Tip: Try to get one on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamaica_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 330 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a 1 bedroom. Was nicely decorated and newly updated. In old historic building. Unit was small but accomplished task. The 1 bedroom unit only had a refrigerator and microwave not a full kitchen. Bathroom was large. Awesome walkin shower.
Great rooftop balcony for relaxing. Washer and dryer available. Parking was expensive at 35 a day, but convenient and always retrieved car quickly.
Front desk staff friendly and addresses by name.
We had view of alley. But we were hardly ever in room. We were work up each morning at 3am by garbage truck outside, And We were on 4th floor. Their trash runs daily too! But I was able to fall back asleep quickly.
Can't beat the location. Across the street from French market and only 5 minute walk to bourbon street.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2mygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The location is great. A two or three minute walk got us to Bourbon St. Several restaurants and either the street cars or busses to take us to most of the places we wanted to go. Our rooms were larger than expected, in excellent condition, and the stove top, refrigerator, wine cooler, coffee maker and televisions all appeared to be new. Every morning there was always two or three choices of flavored coffee and tea available in the lobby and there was always ice water with fresh citrus there when we came back in the afternoon or evening. But best of all is the wonderful front desk staff working there. Charmaine, Chanelle and Jonah are as helpful, friendly and kind as we could possibly ask for. They were always ready to assist or help us in any way they could at any time. They truly exemplify Southern hospitality. Thank You from Colleen and Ed - San Diego

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddyBear001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We are Bluegreen owners, and we were more than satisfied with Club la Pension. The location is beyond convenient for everything we wanted to do in New Orleans. The luxury of our one bedroom suite was more than expected. Club la Pension is a wonderful place to park, walk, and enjoy all there is to do, see, eat, and enjoy in the French Quarter and riverfront areas. The staff is friendly and knowlegeable. Chanelle, Jonah, and Charmaine were helpful and informative. Club la Pension is the perfect place to stay to experience the New Orleans French Quarter. Jimmy J's, one block over on Chartres, serves a fantastic, reasonably priced meal with friendly and entertaining staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The staff at Club La Pension could not have been more helpful and accommodating. They did whatever they could to make sure that we felt at home. We arrived very early and they had a room for us in short order. They wouldn't let me pay them for an umbrella they had lent me which was stolen from a store on on Saint Peter St where I had left it.
Suites do vary a lot in size, but all seem well equipped. Pleasant, attractive sun deck on the roof.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

So much I could report from our four day experience. This hotel is Exhibit A when it comes to a boutique hotel. Cool reception area with funky furniture and art. The staff is fun perhaps a bit too familiar but just barely on the side of appropriate. Rooms are all differently laid out with unique features in each (we had four for our family and, in fact, were taken to a room when checking in that was already occupied)! Not sure how well the staff is trained but they all seem to be having a good time. Valet parking is a challenge as there were a few times when we tried to valet but the parking spaces in front of the hotel were taken AND their valet person was not available! The responses we got from reception were along the lines of "no problem, just come back in a little bit." Not a great answer and the end result was we public parked the car a couple blocks away. Aside from this frustration and that the hotel has no restaurant (not a big deal if you know this ahead of time), staying here puts a guest with walking distance to just abut anything one could want in the French Quarter or downtown. Additionally, the staff and setting make it almost impossible to have anything less than a fun and eventful stay.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank DallasAyrUFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hello bsrsunshine,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Club La Pension. Our goal is to share happiness with all of owners and guests. We regret to learn of your disappointment in your stay. We kindly ask that you contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com if you wish to provide additional details or to discuss further. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked the room only 24 hours in advance. I believe there were only 2 rooms left. The valet parking was very convenient (there is a bit of a charge). The staff was very friendly. Our room wasnt ready when we first got here (2:40pm), but they took our bags, stored them and took them to our room when it was ready, freeing us from lugging around our bags until the room was ready. After cracking up because we couldn't find our room through the maze of hallways, we finally found our room. We assumed it was a normal room with funky decor and wow were we wrong. Our "room" was a cooky 1 bedroom apartment! Very rustic. Exposed beams. Full kitchen, including dishwasher, wine fridge and even a blender. 1 1/2 bathrooms. An upsidown chair hanging from the ceiling in the large livingroom, which has an attached diningroom. Needless to say, my husband and I were pleasantly surprised. We are curious if the other rooms are this cool. Oh..only 3 blocks from Bourbon Street!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsfurrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
#132 of 166 in New Orleans
147 reviews
Central Business District
La Galerie Hotel
La Galerie Hotel
#115 of 166 in New Orleans
426 reviews
Central Business District
Cambria Hotel & Suites New Orleans Downtown Warehouse District
Cambria Hotel & Suites New Orlea...
#102 of 166 in New Orleans
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Quarter House Resort
Quarter House Resort
#19 of 166 in New Orleans
728 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,610 reviews
Central Business District
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 115 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Club La Pension)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $146 - $868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Pension Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing