We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #68 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shalimar, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Charmaine what can I say she is Wonderful, and so is everyone else that works here. We had a few small things and they were addresses right away. The newly rehabbed and decorated rooms are a little quirky but it works for New Orleans. Would definitely stay here again. Close to everything no need for a car and steps away from most of the Mardi Gras parades.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissy255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    101
    26
    5
    9
See reviews for
80
125
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The staff are extremely friendly. The location is exactly where you want to be!

Easy walk to all the great spots the French Quarter has to offer!

There is free coffee in the morning. No restaurant is required as there are more than enough places to eat in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knowlesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield Park, Quebec
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were a party of 7 in 4 rooms. All rooms are decorated differently which is quite something to see. None of us encounter any problems. The decor is unique and all the different levels from room to room were an adventure. My only problem was that there is no closet or a place to hang your jackets or sweaters on the first floor of the town house. The staff were excellent and saw to our every need. Charmaine at the front desk took care of us beyond the call of duty. The House of Blues is right next store which was an added bonus. We definitely would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our party stayed on the 3rd & 4th floors, our room was a town house at the front just off of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is an excellent location, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the place was clean. Due to construction, traffic, and events the place was hard to get to. There is very little parking in front of the hotel, so don’t even think this is an option. The hotel seems to be in two buildings, some rooms in the building with the lobby and some rooms down the street. Our unit was down the street, with just an entrance that leads to an elevator. The hotel is darker than I prefer – the colors are dark grey and the lights aren’t very bright. There was no stove just a large dorm size fridge, microwave, and sink with very nice cabinets in the kitchenette area. There was no table or desk in our unit. We used the coffee table for the dinner table and the end table for a computer table. So it’s workable. The place is really quiet – and that’s the best thing.

There is no parking garage close to the place – so use the valet parking. We didn’t move the car at all and walked everywhere – even to the superdome. The day before checkout I asked about leaving my car in valet. I was told it was ok, just don’t request the car when you check out, ask the staff to store the luggage, and get the car when ready to leave the city. We did that at checkout. When we got back, we were told that we owed an additional $35 for valet parking because it was past 12 noon. I told them that wasn’t what I was told. The front desk staff asked who told us we could leave the car. When I told them there was no one at the front desk when we came in to ask, the bell hop told us. They waived the fee. So I’m not complaining – but I think ALL staff should know the valet parking policy – especially if there are times the front desk staff is not available.

Room Tip: Rooms are different, some with balconies, some without. Some rooms are accessed by going out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtnest2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, CA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I needed to be in New Orleans for a conference and I was offered the sleeper sofa by the owner of this time share. No complaints, I slept soundly. I could not hear any of the street noise. We had a balcony overlooking Decatur Street. Close enough to the convention center to walk in less than ten minutes. Near to all French Quarter attractions. The staff was very friendly, fresh coffee in the morning. The facility was kept very clean. I enjoyed the very large shower.

Room Tip: Not sure as I was a guest of an owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jsandoval562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, KS
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here recently for a quick weekend getaway with spouse and friends. We were in a two bedroom, 1 1/2 bathroom unit and had a great stay. The unit was really good sized and the bed was very comfortable. The Staff was very friendly and there was daily cleaning service.

I have to say the decor was very interesting - never seen a chair hanging from the ceiling in a hotel before - but fun. It's New Orleans - just go with it!!

The location on Decatur street was perfect. It was within walking distance to lots of activities and restaurants. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just spent 8 days and 7 nights at Club La Pension and had an AMAZING time! We had 9 people in our party so we had two 2-bedroom units and both were great; very comfortable. One had a full kitchen and large living room and the second had a kitchenette with living room. The beds were queen size but very comfy. The place is very uniquely decorated and very pretty. We even think we had a haunted room (so much fun since we were there for Halloween!). Chanelle and Will at the front desk were SO FANTASTIC!! They absolutely made our stay wonderful! Our first day there we didn't have very hot water; I called the front desk and within literally minutes we had 2 maintenance men there to take care of it. Other than the hot water issue (which was super minor) our stay was PERFECT!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
La Galerie Hotel
La Galerie Hotel
#116 of 163 in New Orleans
272 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 163 in New Orleans
3,424 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Quarter House Resort
Quarter House Resort
#12 of 163 in New Orleans
681 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 115 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Club La Pension)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Pension Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing