We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location,lots of charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plaza Suite Hotel Resort
Ranked #128 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Clifton Park,NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location,lots of charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Recently stayed at Plaza Suites Resort with four other friends to attend AARP convention and then just tour. One of the girls had a timeshare with them,so it was a great deal.We had a one bedroom,King,with a loft ,2 twins,and a pullout coach. I opted for the pullout. It was pretty bad,but I was so exhausted from activity it didn't bother me.There is exposed wood beams and brick walls which gives it a homey feeling,and not your typical hotel room. The Kitchen was fully equipped except the dishwasher was broken. Even though the maids didn't have to come in everyday,due to it being a timeshare ,they did, and left clean towels and cleaned the dishes. The courtyard is beautiful,with gorgeous stained glass ceilings.It was rarely used which is too bad as it is so pretty. There is a large TV down there,but except for people using WiFi,I didn't see anyone gathered there.( WiFi doesn't work in rooms).Like others have said,the hot tub is still broken. Its too bad as it is in the back of the hotel facing I believe Fulton street and it would be relaxing to sit there and look out. The staff was friendly and helpful. One of my friends broke her cell phone charger and Kendall found one for her. The girl who was working at night was very friendly and chatty. Told us some local ghost stories. The best part was the location. We were within walking distance to everything. The convention center,Riverwalk,the bus and trolly,and a slew of restaurants and bars. I would absolutley stay there when I return someday.

Room Tip: Room 301 had an outside window facing the street. Its a one bedroom King with a loft and pullout. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    19
    14
    15
See reviews for
18
49
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at this resort for our family reunion. It was a first for us since we usually have our reunion in Fl. We have changed our yearly reunion to New Orleans and this place was perfect! We were able to cook in our units and we had a private hot tub on our balcony. Soooo very nice. Since w e booked a bunch of rooms, they gave us a great family discount and we were able to use the 2nd floor for our gatherings. It was so nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCandLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed two nights. Changed rooms after the first night because they believe a $150 a night, sleeps 4eans a full size bed and fold out couch. Beds were hard and pillows very thin in both rooms. One person was replacing carpet on 3 floors so capet roles and equipment were lying around on every floor. Location was close to French Quarter and easy access to public transportation. I HATED paying $30 a day to park a car when I was paying $150-$185 a night for a room!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rayzorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Fla
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here for 5-day for Jazz & Heritage Festival- it's very close to the Casino.. about a 15-min walk to French Market where Cafe Du Monde is, or Bourbon Street...if you want a quite location outside this is a great place. But it's NOLA so there was lots of partying going on inside the hotel too... Nothing crazy that you can hear inside your room (most important!!) But walking to your room you can hear lots of noise from other rooms..

The hotel itself is ok. Yes, it's an old fire house, which is cool! But the carpets are very worn down and not vacuumed clean. The elevator we actually got stuck in for about 10-mins because it's old and buttons were broken out of it and inside the elevator was always dirty. Two days the room was not cleaned, we had to go get towels, take out our own trash, get coffee..but the others days it was cleaned. There is a hot tub, that does not work and talking to other guests who stay there yearly - it hasn't worked in years. The beds, were hard as a rock and I actually slept better on the couch!

Overall, it's a decent location, I felt like it was a little out of the way and a bit run down. The staff were always very nice and super helpful!!

Good things were you can share a 2-bedroom with another couple and have enough space. For younger people getting 6-people in a 2-bedroom is probably fine. It does have a kitchen with stove & fridge, coffee maker and free wifi!!

Wish the hot tub would have worked or had a pool to relax by.. For those reasons, I'd look to stay somewhere else - Otherwise, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConDMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed here six nights post cruise using our time-share points. Well worth the price. Renee and Kendall and the entire staff made us feel like we were home. Good location for what we wanted to see and do in New Orleans. No rental car needed. Our suite was lower level street side. That king size bed was awesome. Felt very safe walking to and from French Quarter in the evenings. Appreciated the suggestions Renee made plus the promptness in booking activities and restaurant reservations. The staff's knowledge of what to do and where to go with easy directions was greatly appreciated. Would we stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Had read reviews prior to our stay about rooms with no windows. As I have claustrophobic concerns, R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
389 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed in an efficiency unit, that was very nicely laid out. It was an old Fire House converted into 38 units in the Warehouse district. It was very clean, had daily maid service, except Sunday, and everyone was very nice, especially Renee at the front desk. We were close to Harrah's Casino, the waterfront, great restaurants and close to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ehinz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had a six-person rental - one private bedroom, one loft room. There were only four of us, and that was good because five or six people would have been too tight, especially since both bathrooms were through the bedroom. The loft area was small - there was a spiral staircase up that was narrow. The bedroom lighting was very dim. We had a beautiful room with windows, but there was a bad thunderstorm, and there were three leaks throughout the night. We told the front desk, but I'm not sure anything was done. The jacuzzi didn't work - just a puddle of water. The maid came everyday to make the beds and change the towels. The front desk staff was very nice - they called us a cab back to the airport the previous night and phoned us when it arrived that morning. There was a full kitchen, stocked with dishes and dish soap. The main bathroom had a hair dryer and both bathrooms had shampoo, soap, and lotion. Overall, we were very pleased with the resort - it wasn't as fancy as some of the other timeshare resorts - but it was everything we needed.

The location was great. There are bars, restaurants, and a mini mart very close by to the resort. It is close to the RiverWalk Shopping area. The resort is within a 10 minute walking distance to the beginning of the French Quarter and also close to many things in the Warehouse District, such as the WW2 museum. We always walked - didn't need to take public transportation even late at night. We even walked as far as the Garden District and took the St. Charles Streetcar back. There is a car rental place up the street from the resort (Hertz) if you are looking to take any day trips out of the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
#127 of 161 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#68 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#35 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Suite Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Suite Hotel Resort

Property: Plaza Suite Hotel Resort
Address: 620 S Peters St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1631
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Suite Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Plaza Suite Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel New Orleans
Plaza Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing