We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Canal Street / Algiers Ferry
Ranked #53 of 354 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: See the city skyline from the Mississippi River for free. Nothing fancy, but kids are sure to love the pelicans and photographers will love the sights on the way to historic Algiers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good place for a stroll! We didn't take the ferry but it was a nice atmosphere to just walk along the water front.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    288
    174
    20
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quickest ferry ride, Free for now.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

After much information from the web, our hotel and locals , we made our way onto the Free ferry to Algiers. Total ride time is ten minutes, great views and a breeze on the water. There is a political issue as to whether this ferry will continue to run for free or run at all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Earlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Starting Point”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We used Canal Street as the main area for most of our walking during our visit. Canal Street has a lot of restaurants, stores, souvenir shops, drugstores and bus stops/streetcar stops along the way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Free to walk on”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

At the moment it is still free? They are talking of making it a one dollar fee for walk on passengers.enjoy while its free,we did

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
157 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best free thing to do in New Orleans”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Get youself a good stiff drink to go and make your way to the end of Canal St. for a free ferry ride across the Mississippi River. The 45 minute ride will give you the absolute best skyline view of New Orleans, the river and the bridge. Everytime someone comes to visit New Orleans for the first time, this is one of the things I will take them to experience. And it's all free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SimbiPetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Street / Algiers Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Canal Street / Algiers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing