We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great free view of NOLA from the river” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canal Street / Algiers Ferry

Canal Street / Algiers Ferry
Book In Advance
$25.00*
and up
New Orleans Garden District Walking Tour
Ranked #49 of 333 things to do in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: See the city skyline from the Mississippi River for free. Nothing fancy, but kids are sure to love the pelicans and photographers will love the sights on the way to historic Algiers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“great free view of NOLA from the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We took the ferry across to Algiers around dusk and coming back had a lovely view of NOLA. and it was free. highly recommend this quick boat tour across to Algiers and back

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bbeerbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    248
    140
    17
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
292 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Making it real”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Canal is a great historic area, but has seen better days. Be sure to go by Rubenstein's men's shop and then move down the street off Canal to Meyer the Hatter. These places have been there for generations. Great service and great product.
The Algiers Ferry takes me to the world of my beloved wife. She did it as a girl and now I get to retrace her life. I'm sorry this option is open to you, but it makes a world of difference. Her brothers worked in the boat dry dock by the ferry landing on the Algiers side. Her mother was baptized and married (as was my wife) at Holy Name of Mary church which you can see from Jackson Square. And my wife's family is buried at the amazing cemetery near the Mississippi Bridge which is often seen in movies.
For me this makes the food, drink and enjoyment of the quarter and the garden district more real.
When you are visiting New Orleans, take a minute to ask the locals about the places you will visit. They will tell you wonderful stories and it will make all the difference in your trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen727286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula, Alabama
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Dependable Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband & I stayed in Algiers Point during our recent New Orleans vacation, so we depended on the ferry to get us back & forth. The ferry leaves Algiers on the half hours and Canal Street on the quarter hours. We used the ferry at least a dozen times during our stay and it never let us down!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great view of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Algiers Ferry is free and takes you from the Ferry Terminal at the foot of Poydras Street across the river to Algiers. It is fun just to ride over and back for the wonderful views of New Orleans. You can usually see lots of river traffic as you ride.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JackFromDecatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“At least it is free”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

It is free and if you want to blow off some time then here is something to do. The day we went the weather was nice but for some reason they had access to viewing decks blocked off so you couldn't go outside on the second deck, only the car deck.Taking pictures from the car deck is okay but would have been better from above. The ferry itself is nothing to write about just a bare bones ferry no amenities. Have a Hurricane or Monsoon somewhere before you get on. Unless you want to sightsee on the otherside, don't get off and your back to where you started in half an hour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Street / Algiers Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Canal Street / Algiers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing