We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Chateau Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Orleans
Ranked #134 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Lovely hotel in a perfect spot to walk to all the main attractions, but quiet street away from all the noise. Friendly staff, and gorgeous pool and patio to relax by, but some rooms are small and dark, and if curtains are open give little privacy from other guests. Would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Frances009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 110 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

great Staff and wonderful people beautiful rooms and lovely courtyard/super comfortable room and Bed ! we are on the bottom floor had astraight walk out to the courtyard a little bit noisy from street noise but worth the comfort

Room Tip: try to get a lower room you can walk out into the courtyard
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked two rooms here and we were very pleased with them. They are in he process of remodeling. The bathroom and the carpeting needing updating, but everything else was fine. The bed was very comfortable. We were upgraded to a room with a balcony and it overlooked the very pretty courtyard and a beautiful pool, which was very clean. The location was on the end of the French Quarter close to Canal Street. It was quiet and close enough to walk to anywhere in the Quarter. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the buildings with an elevator. Would not have wanted a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank illerrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Some friends had stayed here before so we tried it. With four of us staying in one unit, we had plenty of room. Our living room/kitchen was huge and our bedrooms were very adequate. The only downside was the spiral staircase up to the bedrooms and bathroom. It was very narrow and had many steps. Most other units did not have stairs. We had a complete kitchen, but who wants to cook when staying in the French Quarter? We did use the fridge, coffee maker, and glassware. We made our own coffee the first morning, but then we found that the manager prepared coffee and put it in the courtyard by eight o'clock. We really enjoyed sitting at the very nice table in the courtyard having coffee and later having wine or a cocktail. The manager was friendly and helpful with suggestions for dining and things to do. As with all places in the French Quarter, parking costs extra, but the price is very reasonable here. You do have to walk about two blocks to get to your car and you must park above level 5, and there's no elevator. The price varies for a room here depending on the occasion so check before you go.

Room Tip: There is a lot of variety here. If you can't climb a spiral staircase, you don't want that r...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chuckospringpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

If you want to stay in the French Quarter but somewhat away from the loud noise, this is the place! charming B&B style, brick house, original wood floors. They are in the process of renovating many of the units, so some of them still have somewhat original equipment (bath, kitchenette, etc). If you are looking for a resort style stay, look else where. If you are down for small, quiet, CLEAN place, this is IT!

Staff is very friendly, gave lots of good advice of where to eat.

Parking is very expensive in the area, the resort offers parking but still cost $30 a day. I was told later, it doesn't cost much to get a taxi ride from the airport to French Quarters. Public transport (streetcar) is very easy and cheap. Plus, you can WALK all over the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoSeeKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A girlfriend and I spent a week exploring the French Quarter while staying at the lovely Chateau Orleans. Great location only two blocks from both Bourbon St. and Canal. Our accommodations were a small 2 story house inside a tropical courtyard. The full kitchen was newly remodeled and the furnishings were attractive and comfortable. More floor or table lamps in the living room and bedroom would have been useful. Free wifi throughout the resort so making dinner reservations, etc. was simple. The manager, Paul, was so helpful and accommodating. He booked an excellent swamp tour for us as well as a plantation visit. Overall, a good place to stay with true NOLA ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard and away from the busy street.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lfkoenec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

As with everything in life, your expectations will dictate your experience. This is a nice enough place, in an amazing location, with rates that are pretty standard for New Orleans. They do coffee in the courtyard on weekdays, bloody marys on the weekends, and have regular cleaning service for trash, new towels, etc. The Chateau Orleans is not new, it's not super updated, and it's not always the most pristine (but let's face it... neither is New Orleans; you're gonna get a little dirty there, ya heard me?) - it is comfortable, clean, safe, and a great place to stay in New Orleans... I've been staying there since 2001, and I'll be back again and again and again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#108 of 165 in New Orleans
861 reviews
French Quarter
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
#140 of 165 in New Orleans
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#13 of 165 in New Orleans
625 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 165 in New Orleans
528 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#118 of 165 in New Orleans
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Orleans

Address: 240 Burgundy St, New Orleans, LA 70112-3114
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $217 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Orleans New

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing