We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B with Only One B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

First, the good stuff. Fantastic location in the beautiful Garden District right by a trolly stop. Lovely building with high, soaring ceilings and a definite feel of Old South. We stayed in the large room at the front of the building, and it was huge with huge bathroom. The tub was great, but forget about it for a shower. Ah, I've segued into the other stuff. There was a breakfast, but it was instant oatmeal, Linder's bagels, cereal, and some fruit. It was really disappointing. Coffee was tricky to get before 8:30. The front room was LOUD. It's on a main street with a trolley that runs all night. The bed was kinda hard and lumpy. The staff was okay - some of them were much friendlier than others. This is a great place to stay if you like privacy, quiet, and to be left alone. Which, for lots of people in New Orleans, I think would be the case. Note: the trolly ride to the French Quarter is about 15 minutes and costs $1.25 for one way or $3 for an unlimited day pass. If you stay here, make a reservation at Commander's Palace (only two blocks away) and visit Audubon Park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

I'm sorry that you had such a bad experience at my home, even though you did seem to enjoy my neighborhood and other areas of New Orleans. The Greenwood suite's European-style bathroom and location were obviously not a good fit for your needs. I might have selected a quieter, more conventional room for you instead. Our self-proclaimed extended continental breakfast could never compare to the "amazing" gourmet one that you had at your other B&B across town.
I do appreciate your feedback and will address your concerns so that future travelers might have a better overall experience than you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Wonderful location in the Garden district right across from the streetcar stop. Our room was spotless and the amenities were very nice. We enjoyed sitting on the second floor balcony sipping our complimentary sherry. Bonnie was very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyGirl163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thanks for the feedback! I'm glad that we could meet your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We recently stayed at the Grand Victorian, a beautifully restored mansion on St. Charles Avenue. Our room was lovely and the owner, Bonnie, very helpful. The B&B has a street car stop right in front. Nice to stay away from the French Quarter, but to only be a short ride away. Two blocks from Commander's Palace, the famous Gardens District homes, and a New Orleans style famous cemetery -- all easy walking. Also close to Magazine Street with lots of shopping and restaurants. This particular B&B had a nice patio upstairs. We used it alot in the mornings to have our coffee, and in the afternoons for our down time. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Want to be fair here and say that previous trips to New Orleans we have stayed at The Windsor Court Hotel. The location of this B&B is perfect. Right in the middle of the Garden District within walking distance of Magazine street and their wonderful restaurants and a trolley stop right outside the B&B. That being said the house is older with the shower less than ideal. Rooms could definitely use a good cleaning. The positives were a nice patio on the second floor to relax and have a glass of wine and Bonnie the owner was really nice and provided information on local happenings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Grand Victorian. I am flattered that you compared/contrasted my property to a local, high quality, 5 star hotel with a fantastic reputation. I also appreciate that you recognize the difference in the two completely different types of properties: a 120 year old historic home/B&B vs the recent $22 million restored 5 star hotel.
I'm sorry that we didn't meet all of your expectations, but it seemed that your overall trip was a good one spent with friends. In the end, I believe that's what counts and hope that you agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about this B&B or Bonnie, the innkeeper! She is such a personable host and the rooms are unique and filled with antiques! We plan on staying here again next year for our 8th wedding anniversary! Oh, try to get the "Greenwood" room, it's the best and has a neat private balcony overlooking St. Charles St.! Thanks again for the great stay and hospitality Bonnie!
- Chuck & Tanya Doucet
Washington, LA

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckD6232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Chuck and Tanya, thanks for choosing the Grand Victorian again for your anniversary celebration. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year (or anytime you want to come back!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife, son and I visited NO in August 2013 and stayed at the Grand Victorian. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The room my wife and I shared had a massive tub and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was continental, which was fine for us. The staff did offer to make my son a sausage and egg sandwich (not requested, by the way!) that he declined.

Each morning the inn keeper or her staff gave us some info about the city - where to go, what to see (and avoid!) and so on. In terms of location, it could not be easier to get anywhere - lots of places within walking distance and the trolley stops literally in front of the inn. Other than getting caught in a downpour and dealing with absurd heat and humidity (our own fault for visiting NO in August!) it was a great stay at a comfortable and inviting B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were in New Orleans to move our teenager into Tulane University. We stayed in the Evergreen room on the Washington Avenue side of the home which also provided great views of St. Charles Avenue. The home is beautiful,well air conditioned and our room was spacious and comfortable. The walls and doors are thick and solid and we did not hear any noise from other guests. Bonnie, Rachel, and their staff are welcoming, gracious and always there to answer any questions, provide suggestions or make your stay more comfortable. It had been a very long time since I had stayed in a bed and breakfast and had stayed in French Quarter hotels on all my other trips to NOLA but so happy I chose this location instead. It was quiet, there was always free parking on the street directly in front of the door, driving anywhere from here is hassle-free, and it is the perfect spot for visiting Tulane and the beautiful Garden District. The French Quarter is a short taxi or streetcar ride away. We already have plans for a second stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandVictorianBandB, Owner at Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

I appreciate your comments on the many aspects of your experience here at the Grand Victorian. While I'm biased, I feel that our location can't be beat for all of the reasons that you mentioned. Thanks again for choosing the Grand Victorian and for trying a B&B again! Hope to see you for your next trip to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Hubbard Mansion
#32 of 141 in New Orleans
126 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 141 in New Orleans
696 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 141 in New Orleans
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Magnolia Mansion
Magnolia Mansion
#112 of 141 in New Orleans
37 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
778 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2727 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5929
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $165 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on St. Charles Ave. in the Garden District just minutes from the French Quarter, our New Orleans Bed and Breakfast was designed and built in 1893 by famed New Orleans architect Thomas Sully. Lovingly restored to its former glory and decorated with period furnishings, our romantic New Orleans B&B welcomes you to a majestic past with all the comforts and conveniences the modern travel needs. Enjoy our complimentary expanded continental breakfast, Wi-Fi and guest drinks and snacks. The perfect safe and secluded location steps to the St. Charles Ave. streetcar with access to the French Quarter, Tulane University, Magazine Street & the best restaurants of NOLA. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing