We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
135
29
8
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
29
8
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews commander's palace magazine street garden district streetcar stop charming b b lovely bed and breakfast lafayette cemetery french quarter each morning antique furniture location is great each evening long weekend fresh fruit rooms are spacious bonnie trolley
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 181 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here at the recommendations of another innkeeper in the area. The location, in the glorious Garden District, was optimal, as it was within easy walking distance to the Trolley as well as wonderful restaurants and shopping. Plus, we had a short walk to both Commander's Palace as well as to the independent bookstore, located in the "skating rink" in order to take a very informative and enjoyable walking tour of the Garden District.
Bonnie and Rachel were very nice hosts, The room was very comfortable and the nice continental breakfast--offered for several hours, allowed us the flexibility to eat when we wished so that we could go about our business at our pace. I recommend this beautiful establishment without reservation.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This Garden District property is such a pleasure. While breakfast is basic and not reflective of some experiences where the highlight is the owner's culinary artistry, the inn is beautiful, comfortable, well located (on the St. Charles Street Car line). Hostess Bonnie goes all out to do little extras for her guests (like having the street car day passes always available, complimentary beverages, morning coffee ready to start any hour). Only 1 1/2 blocks from famous Commander's Palace and just a few blocks from Magazine Street where great "locals" restaurants and shops continue to develop. Their customer service and follow up was impressive.

Room tip: Some bathrooms are larger than others.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bikeman1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Grand Victorian B & B and hope to return soon. It was convenient to visit with our daughter at Tulane Law School. It was a lovely and well maintained mansion, with wonderful, conscientious oversight by Bonnie and Rachel. The rooms felt like home and the staff was first class. The free street parking, abundance and variety of breakfast foods, and the St. Charles Streetcar stop just steps off the front porch eliminated a lot of hassle in this great historic walking neighborhood. We are reluctant to recommend for fear that it will be full next time we try to stay.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Don't pass an opportunity to stay here the next time you're in New Orleans. It is a beautifully renovated mansion. You will be impressed.

It is the perfect location for a visitor. The historic (and still useful!) trolley stops right out front & will take you right up the Quarter or down to the other end of St. Charles (<<< worth the ride to see all the amazing homes on this street). You are also a short walk away from the most impressive blocks of the garden district. As well you can walk right over to some historic cemeteries & a some nice sections of Magazine St.

As for the place itself, well, it's really quite lovely. All the amenities you'd ever need are at arm's reach, the beds are very comfortable, the house keeping is immaculate but unobtrusive & the owner and her team are a warm & graceful bunch.

Highly recommended!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apizzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Bonnie and Rachel went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. They were available but not bothersome. From accommodating our extremely late check in to recommendations for new spots to try to accommodating our extremely early departure...our stay was perfect. The house is beautiful, our room was spacious and our bath was gorgeous. The little extras available to guests really make you feel special while feeling like you're at home. The location is perfect in that there are many spots within walking distance as well as the St. Charles streetcar stops right outside the house. So many options for such a quaint establishment. I highly recommend staying here if you find yourself in New Orleans!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews