We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Choice Outside of the Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Goteed1
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice Choice Outside of the Quarter”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend and thought the place was nice. Full of New Orleans Charm (Clawfoot bathtub, in fact you enter the room through the bathroom). Wonderful little neighborhood with some real local gems to eat or drink at very close by. Definitely a refreshing alternative to the overcrowded touristy places in the French Quarter.

Breakfast was a letdown. Really basic Costco stuff. The weekend I was there seemed like a kind of DIY weekend. I barely saw the host, and maid service was for 1 of 3 nights. Nothing wrong with any of that, it's just after all of the raves here about the food and the service I was expecting something completely different.

I stayed in the red room with it's own back porch, twice I was woken up in the wee hours by a very drunken couple arguing very loudly on the porch. Not the B&B's fault, but be aware if you take the red room, that loud drunks may wake you up in the backyard!

I love walking and looked forward to walking into the quarter from the B&B, it was perfectly safe and I walked back late nights as well. What I forgot about was how HOT it is during the summer and how much longer that walk seem to take! Cabs are pretty cheap here though.

It's a nice place and I had a perfectly nice stay here, but I would say that nothing about the place really demanded my loyalty,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justneedreservations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    38
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
68
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I came to New Orleans to attend the Jazz & Heritage festival 2012 and stayed for a week here. The area called Marigny is close to the French Quarter and a very up and coming district with many new coffee shops, restaurant and bars. But the highlight would have to be the hospitality provided to myselft and my 5 friends from Carl. He welcomed us into his home and treated us like his long lost Australian relations. He gave wonderful advice on the places to visit and steered us away from the places not worth going. He made us all want to return ! Thanks Carl

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Nice B&B, well organised. Nice room, friendly owner, good breakfast. This is a good choice if you want to see New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Carl was a wonderful host. His home is lovely - we stayed in the red room with its own private entrance - this was nice to have! We loved our stay, sitting on the porch, walking all over and returning to our room. Carl has a wealth of knowledge about everything New Orleans has to offer!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank slanestrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We loved that the location was out of the noise of the French Quarter, but only a short walk away. Carl knows the city well and was always quick with recommendations. We also loved talking with the other guests at breakfast (which was healthy and delicious) and comparing notes about what we had seen the previous day. The hot tub out back was a great way to relax after a day of walking all over the city. The Red Room was beautiful but the bed squeaked a little and I kept hoping it didn't disturb the people in the next room. Still, we would absolutely go back there next time we visit NOLA.

Room Tip: Especially if you will be going in and out a lot or want to spend extra time in the hot tub, get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abelard1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Completely as described! Carl takes care of every detail of your trip planning, and provides service above and beyond what I would have expected.

Room Tip: The red room was the best in my view, as it gives onto the back courtyard and the hot tub, and is ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie20412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pezenas, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Carl is a welcoming host & makes you feel like a friend who is coming for a visit, not an anonymous guest. The house is in a neighborhood that has fairly recently been gentrified, relatively close to the crowds of the French Quarter. When we arrived Carl gave us a map, and walking directions to restaurants, etc., & made sure to make note of areas that are not safe at night. He also made recommendations of local restaurants.

The room was not fancy, but again, reminded us of staying in a friend's home. Breakfast was generous & filling, & Carl joined us, making sure that all the guests interacted with each other.

We had been traveling for a few weeks at this point, so it was handy to have access to the washer/dryer. There is a shared fridge & honor bar with cold beverages & snacks. The weather was quite hot & humid, so we were glad to have both AC & a ceiling fan to keep us cool. If we find ourselves in New Orleans again, we will definitely stay at the Burgundy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ortelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 139 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#39 of 139 in New Orleans
278 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#5 of 139 in New Orleans
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#14 of 139 in New Orleans
353 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#48 of 139 in New Orleans
357 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2513 Burgundy St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7831
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast has 4 guest rooms, each with its own private bath. We share the courtyard, spa, porches and the dining room with our guests. And there is a parlor and a galley kitchen for the guests to share. The rear porch opens onto a courtyard, which is suitable for sunbathing. Across the courtyard is the half-open “carriage house”, in which the spa is located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burgundy b&b
The Burgundy Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing