We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A celebration of Pig” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cochon Butcher

Cochon Butcher
Ranked #16 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Arts District / Warehouse District
Cross street: Andrew Higgins
Description: Cochon captures the true essence of Cajun and Southern cooking. Chefs Donald Link and Stephen Stryjewski bring their love for southern Louisiana foods to every plate at Cochon. Donald's experience cooking with his family at their homes in Crowley and Rayne allow guests to share in his passion for real country and home cooking. The food is focused and simple, featuring roasted meats with natural sauces, homemade sausages, and fresh local seafood. The menu compliments the rustic, yet contemporary setting of the dining room. The Bar at Cochon features signature cocktails as well as the classic libations of New Orleans. A diverse beer selection with an emphasis on local micro-brews offers a cool contrast with the sometimes spicy cuisine.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A celebration of Pig”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Whether lunch choice was 3 appetizers or a signature sandwich all left happy and stuffed
Yes they can get understandably busy at lunch but worth the crowd

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chenamoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,472
    512
    130
    40
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OMG YES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

One of the best meals I had in New Orleans hands down. And the atmosphere was super chill, very relaxed and casual which is how I prefer it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bacon Sandwich in New Orleans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I loved it. I read about it at New York Times and made sure to go. Its such a nice place. And they have the most spicy bacon sandwich in the world. :)
The place had a lot of smoky the day I visited. Thats the only bad thing about it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pribartolomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Several friends and I had a late lunch at this wonderful, affordable restaurant in the warehouse district. They smoke and cure all their own meats, and they are all so good. I had the BLT, anad the bacon was the best I have ever tasted. I recommend this place to anyone who visits New Orleans.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ridgebackowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Expectations, Average Reality.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hundreds of articles, reviews, and TV interviews of great chefs of New Orleans include Donald Link and his numerous restaurants. Link is lauded as a hero of NOLA after Hurricane Katrina and his determination to open up for business after the storm. Anthony Bourdain loves him and if Anthony loves him then I must love him also. And with that great expectation, I eagerly walked down Tchoupitoulas Street to visit Cochon Butcher and to sample the great meats prepared from the Holy Swine, that is, Sausage, Salami, Ham, Pork Shoulder, Pork Butt, Bacon. All things pig, minus the squeal.

The reviews here at TripAdvisor can be confusing regarding Cochon Butcher, in that there are two "Cochons". There is a restaurant that does accept reservations, does serve pork meals, and is owned by Link and some reviewers have mistakenly reviewed that place under Butcher.

Butcher has no reservations, has limited seating, has a deli-styled ordering system(You order at the register and your food is brought to you) Many of the menu items are the same as the restaurant, but they are two distinct places.

Because of the countless articles, you can expect the place to be busy. You will stand in line to order. You will wait for a table to clear to have a chance to sit down. But, if your expectations are high, you won't mind. And, if you are more than 5 or 6 blocks from the 900 block of Tchoupitoulas Street and not accustomed to NOLA heat; you will "sweat like a pig" walking to the place in order to eat the pig.

I stood in line to order a Cochon Muffaletta for my wife, a Cubano for myself and a side of Potato Salad for us to share. My wife scoped out the tables, waiting to sit at the first available place. Teamwork is a plus, during a busy lunch rush.

And now you ask, "Why the average rating?"

1) Service was fast and friendly and the staff was engaged.
2) The portions were ample, you won't leave hungry.
3) "Mexican" Coca-Cola in glass bottles were refreshing and somewhat unique. The taste is more like Coke from the 1970s. Trust me, there's a difference
BUT:

Even though the meats were fresh and tasty--when combined in the individual preparations; they fail to meet expectations.

If you want a Muffaletta in New Orleans, do yourself a favor, go to Central Grocery in the French Quarter. Nothing beats the original. Butcher's olive salad overpowers the ham and salami. Nothing should overpower a salami from a place that prides itself on making its own salamis and sausages.

The same goes for the Cubano. The ham and the roasted pork and the Swiss cheese were all delicious when removed from the perfectly pressed and toasted roll, but when combined with Link's own creole mustard creation, your taste buds are assaulted by anything but "a perfect blend of spices" unless "perfectly blended" means all heat and no flavor.

So, I can deal with a little heat, just let me tone it down by sampling some cold potato salad. Cold? Yes, in temperature, but geez, do we have to spoil something so traditionally Southern by raising the onion and pepper level to a point that stays on the tongue longer than it should. Maybe you should order two Mexican Cokes to finish that side.

I fear that some chefs of New Orleans and some reviewers of said chefs feel that Creole and Cajun dishes must "burn" the throat and tongue above all else, including flavor; or they simply are not worthy of being served to a New Orleans tourist.

So, I'm no "foodie" and Anthony Bourdain is a great man and I may certainly enjoy one of Donald Link's other half-dozen NOLA eateries; but I found Cochon Butcher to be "average" and not so worthy of greater expectations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingComic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cochon Butcher also viewed

 

Been to Cochon Butcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing