We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful B & B just off the French Quarter”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Two friends and I stayed in Schuyler and David's wonderful b & b over our spring break, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our hosts were wonderfully attentive and helpful - they even provided us with a detailed list of dining recommendations that we consulted for the majority of our trip. My friends and I came without a set itinerary, and Schuyler and David went above and beyond to suggest things we could do and see, tailored specifically to our interests. The room was sizeable, filled with interesting trinkets and lovely books, and everything was just spotless. The room even came with a microwave and a mini fridge, which was a surprise. The entire b & b is very quiet, relaxing and charming, with a lovely pool in the back and a seating area. The b & b itself was very well-located and just a stone's throw away from the French Quarter. Breakfast always came with interesting breads and all kinds of spreads, fresh coffee, milk, juice, yoghurt ... just a wonderful spread to wake up too. All in all, one of the best experiences I've had in a b & b. You really feel at home here, and its a fantastic way to see New Orleans.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msannakarenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 207 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2008

We all know that B&B's go by different rules than your average corporate hotel/motel which is why we prefer staying at them. We inadvertantly broke one of these rules showing up as we had just driven 12 hours from Charlotte and arrived much later than expected at midnight. Luckily, our friends were also staying here and they let us in. Otherwise we would have had to ring the doorbell and wake the whole place up, including Schuyler & David, the innkeepers who had to work the next day. We were so tired, and so beat from that drive, we just wanted to go to bed when we arrived. We stayed in the Blah-Blah room and there was nothing blah-blah about it. It was hands down the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. We turned on the A/C and passed out. We woke up the next morning and after showering in the immaculately clean shower and bathroom, stumbled in and felt right at home in the kitchen where fresh coffee, bagels, David's homemade granola and friendly other guests were gathered around the table beginning their day. We took off to explore the city after breakfast - everything is in easy walking distance. I could not get over how clean the entire place was. And quiet. It felt like home. We didn't get to actually meet David and Schuyler until two days in as our schedules conflicted, but we had a great brief conversation with them while sitting by the pool before dinner one evening. They are so helpful, handing out recommendations for dining, shopping and whatever it is you want to do. David even printed us out some directions to Jacques Imo with a map. The pool was a really nice touch and I imagine an oasis on a very hot day. The decor was authentic New Orleans mixed in with some great antiques. I would recommend Chez Palmiers any day....but maybe not a place for children. It's quiet and I think the guests like it that way.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jesalirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

The Chez Palmiers is WONDEFUL! Not only is it a fabulous location (Port of Call is basically across the street, the market and Cafe du Monde about a 5 minute walk), David andSchuyler are the best hosts you could ask for. They really were like staying with friends you had known forever. My friends and I would get up early just to hang out and have coffee and converstion with them. Whether you are new to the city or it's an old favorite, like it was for us, I defiinately recommend these guys! The house is beautiful, the beds are oh so comfy, and it's just a great way to experience NO. I can't wait to stay with them again!! They will always be my first choice for my trips to the Quarter. Thanks again guys!!! YOU WERE GREAT!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Aly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2006

This little place in New Orleans is a well-kept secret. For us the location was perfect and easy to access all we wanted to do in NO. The proprietor has a wealth of information about the city, where to go, what to see, when places are open. The accomodations were super clean and comfortable -- plus, the breakfast rocked. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jasper1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La suite à l'étage est plus grande, plus tranquille, mais n'a pas accès direct à la salle à...
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Narmelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy R, Owner at Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hubert460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
La Dauphine B&B
La Dauphine B&B
#67 of 141 in New Orleans
35 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 141 in New Orleans
176 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#47 of 141 in New Orleans
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#44 of 141 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#37 of 141 in New Orleans
279 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#10 of 141 in New Orleans
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1744 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116-1914
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $85 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Faubourg Marigny just two blocks from the French Quarter and four blocks from Frenchman Street (popular with the neighborhood's locals), at Chex Palmiers you'll be within easy walking distance of many of the sites, restaurants, bars and clubs, and the characters and music that have made New Orleans famous. Public transportation is not far way, making it easy to explore other parts of the city as well. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing