We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and pleasant”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We recently returned from a 4 night stay at Chez Palmiers and enjoyed it very much. We stayed in the loft which allowed us some privacy; we felt like we had our own little apartment! Schuyler and David are very approachable and showed genuine concern for their guests but were easy-going so we felt relaxed and at home. We enjoyed sitting on the patio in the morning before heading out for an activity-filled day. The location is perfect, offering close proximity to the night life on Frenchman Street and also a couple blocks away from a nice breakfast spot in a very walkable area. We also were a few blocks away from Armstrong park which we enjoyed an afternoon stroll through one afternoon. The place is professionally run and comfortable. I would absolutely recommend staying at Chez Palmier. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 207 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Chez Palmiers is wonderful, and the location can't be beat! Tucked neatly between the French Quarter and the Marigny, it's walking distance to everything I love most about this city. Schuyler and David are wonderful hosts, offering short lists of their favorite local restaurants and places to see. I used those lists and had a fabulous experience during my week's stay with them. I stayed in the Grande Suite, which had a lovely antique setee piece that flipped around and transformed into a great desk I could use for my work time as well. The breakfasts were a fresh assortment of choices that were way better than what I usually get at most hotel buffets. I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you're on a working trip, get the Grande Suite. It has a separate parlor with plenty of room...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had an awesome stay at Chez Palmiers B&B in January this year. Schyler and David were extremely friendly and helpful, and were able to recommend plenty of activities to do and sights to see. It would be impossible to get through their entire list of recommended restaurants in just one week, although we certainly tried. As first-timers in New Orleans, it was great to have locals to offer their advice and just to chat with. We booked out the whole house and it was perfect for our family of seven. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. We've been happily recommending Chez Palmiers ever since we arrived back in Australia. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Loved Chez Palmiers, David and Schuyler are fantastic hosts. We stayed in the Loft Room, which was very quiet and spacious. The continental breakfast they had was outstanding-- a true European-style continental offering, not the junk you get in American hotels. Absolutely loved the home and the decorating style of the hosts. We didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room, but the only 2 things I would mention that weren't exceptional were the very small shower (it's bit of a squeeze) and the fact that the room was quite dusty in the not-so-obvious places. Doesn't really bother me but I know some folks are turned off by that and the room could have used a thorough cleaning. The neighborhood felt completely safe to me, but for those not accustomed to city neighborhoods, you may be inclined to take a cab at night. Would stay here again in a heartbeat, you can't beat the value!

Room Tip: The Loft Room has a very small shower and no bath, so if you like a bigger show space, you might wan...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a great place to stay. As NOLA virgins, we didn't really know what to expect in terms of B&Bs or location but feel we really got lucky finding Chez Palmiers. David & Schyler are pretty perfect hosts: amiable and helpful but not in-your-face. They can recommend some great places to eat and things to see. We stayed in 2 rooms, both of which were good sized, comfortable and nicely furnished with antiques and bits and pieces from their own travels, which not only makes for an interesting room but also gives it a personal touch. This is not a chain hotel, after all. The garden is beautiful and the breakfast is great. There was homemade cake and fresh fruit and all manner of awesomeness in the fridge. I would recommend this place very highly - my only regret (other than not staying longer) is not having asked the hosts out to dinner during our stay. Maybe next time :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocean76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

David and Schuyler is the perfect hosts! They are so kind and helpfull and have the perfekt balance when it comes to interaction with the guests. We stayed in this lovely house and in the nice garden one week in March. The rooms were very nice and clean. We looked forward to the breakfast every day, very fresh and good! The location can´t be better, quiet and with walking distance to Frenchmen street, French Quarter and the nice restaurants in Marigy. We must come back to New Orleans some day and then we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Run by 2 sweet guys, Schuyler & David, extremely welcoming and accommodating, this creole house is an absolutely lovely place to stay. Clean, tidy and comfortable, the rooms are large and well furnished. A stone's throw away from both French Quarter and Frenchmen Street, and away from the madness of Bourbon Street, the location was just what I needed t enjoy this amazing town.
And the rates are still affordable compared to other guest houses around.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan_Legarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
La Dauphine B&B
La Dauphine B&B
#68 of 142 in New Orleans
35 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 142 in New Orleans
177 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#45 of 142 in New Orleans
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#44 of 142 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#37 of 142 in New Orleans
279 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#11 of 142 in New Orleans
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1744 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116-1914
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $85 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Faubourg Marigny just two blocks from the French Quarter and four blocks from Frenchman Street (popular with the neighborhood's locals), at Chex Palmiers you'll be within easy walking distance of many of the sites, restaurants, bars and clubs, and the characters and music that have made New Orleans famous. Public transportation is not far way, making it easy to explore other parts of the city as well. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing