We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When we go to New Orleans we will stay at Chez Palmiers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Hogansville, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“When we go to New Orleans we will stay at Chez Palmiers”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our recent vacation was hijacked by a trip to Texas, so to make it seem more like a vacation, we made a stop in New Orleans to cross a city off Marla's bucket list. We were looking for accomodations that we could afford. What we got was more than that. Chez Palmiers is like staying at a friends home. There are not a lot of frills, you make your own bed and hang up your wet towels so they will dry for use next time. But Schuyler and David are welcoming hosts. Their house is beautiful and the back garden is wonderful. Unfortunately it wasn't warm enough for a swim in the pool, but it was warm enough to lounge around and read a book.
We stayed in the loft room and once you realize where the angles of the ceiling are you realize you have a very large room. A sitting room with TV (and a day bed if you are more than two people). Plus, access to the downstairs kitchen is limited if the downstairs rooms are rented, so there is a fridge, toaster oven and coffee maker in the room. A light breakfast is served downstairs in the kitchen every morning and there you can mingle with your hosts and other guests.
You are within walking distance of most everything you want to see while in New Orleans. We took a bus tour of the city and I did notice some "on and off" tours running. Plus there are a lot of cabs, bicycle taxis, etc to get you around if walking isn't your thing. We walked everywhere, French Quarter, Cafe du Monde, the French Market and Flea market, Burbon street. Schuyler gave us a list of restaurants they like and we had a wonderful dinner at Mona Lisa on Royal Street and it was wonderful and full of locals.
If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton and maid service, this place isn't for you. But it was perfect for us and when we are in New Orleans again, we will plan our trip around the availability of the Loft Suite. Thanks guys, it was nice, wish it could have been longer. C&M

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cannedeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    29
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
112
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Chez Palmiers B&B 4 days mid February this year. It was a wonderful experience for us, a very cozy and friendly place. Schuyler and David made us just feel like at home. We had a great room, clean and comfortable, a rich breakfast every morning and nice company in the beautiful little garden with pool and a full refridgerator 24 hours where we could serve ourselves whenever we were hungry. Chez Palmiers is in walking distance to the heart of the French Quarter, just about 10 to 15 minutes. A beautiful walk through Esplanade Ave. I can only recommend this B&B. Thanks Schuyler and David for making this stay unforgettable to us! Greetings from Germany, Sabine

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Four adventurous grandmas from Wisconsin arrived at Chez Palmiers on a rainy night in New Orleans. We were met by one of the owners (Schuyler; David was out of town) with a warm, sunny smile and we knew immediately that we'd found our "home away from home." Our accommodations were cozy,comfy and charming as well as quiet and we could have stayed here for weeks. Our host was only too willing to humor us with his presence which was really welcomed. He would join us for coffee in the dining room and made sure we had the "right" kind of coffee to drink as we nibbled on "King's Cake," a Mardi Gras must. We stayed a number of places on our two-week tour of the deep south but Chez Palmiers was by far the best!

Room Tip: All three are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I highly recommend Chez Palmiers for charm, value, and location. Schuyler and David are great hosts...I think this is how B&Bs should be run. It is very relaxed and feels like home. I love the character of old homes and all the quirkiness that goes with them. They are so helpful with their tips on places to eat and hang out. The area is safe and it is a nice walk to Frenchmen Street and anywhere in the Quarter. We stayed in the Blah Blah room and couldn't have been be happier! I only wish we would have had more time there. Someday when I return to NOLA, this is where I will stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a wonderful 4 day stay at Chez Palmiers. Very comfortable and relaxing. David and Schuyler are great hosts, helpful with the area (places to dine, bars). The deck out back is great for having a glass of wine after a day of sightseeing. Their pricing is exceptional considering how close they are to the Qtr. We took Amtrak to NOLA and it is about a $10 cab ride to the B&B. We never needed a taxi after that due to walking, streetcars and ferries. The neighborhood is a funky residential area full of lovely, restored shotgun houses, local bars and restaurants. It is, indeed, just blocks to Frenchman St and the Qtr. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GABAGLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Highly recommend this B&B. Location was great. Very nice room accommodations. Our stay was during Mardi Gras. Enjoyed the short walk to and from the French Quarter. Very safe neighborhood day or night. Schuyler and David are fantastic hosts. Each morning they would greet us in the kitchen during breakfast to see if we needed anything and to also help us with our itinerary for the day. They made sure all your needs were met down to the smallest details. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruits, pastries, bread, cheeses etc. FANTASTIC STAY!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our first trip to NOLA, and it was amazing. The location of this B&B was wonderful, close to both the French Quarter and Frenchman Street. We felt very safe walking around even in the evening. We stayed in the loft space and were lucky that the room downstairs was not booked, so were able to go through there to get to the kitchen for breakfast. The loft space though was very spacious and comfortable. There was a nice selection for breakfast with fresh fruit and cheeses. Schuyler and David were both friendly and welcoming, but also laid back (and very informative and knowledgeable about the area). They went above and beyond to help us out. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: While the loft is appealing because of the privacy factor, I'd likely choose the larger room dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchuylerH, Owner at Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We do want to point out that the necessity of going outside and around to get to the deck and dining room if our downstairs rooms are rented is stated on our website. We have also provided a coffee maker--with coffee, tea, mini-fridge, etc--toaster over, and microwave in the room so guests do not necessarily need to come to the dining room for the basics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 139 in New Orleans
172 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#18 of 139 in New Orleans
135 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#5 of 139 in New Orleans
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#42 of 139 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#39 of 139 in New Orleans
278 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 139 in New Orleans
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1744 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116-1914
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Faubourg Marigny just two blocks from the French Quarter and four blocks from Frenchman Street (popular with the neighborhood's locals), at Chex Palmiers you'll be within easy walking distance of many of the sites, restaurants, bars and clubs, and the characters and music that have made New Orleans famous. Public transportation is not far way, making it easy to explore other parts of the city as well. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing