We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than a bed & breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We found Chez Palmiers here on TripAdvisor in a mad-dash search for lodgings last year after learning that we'd gotten tickets to the NCAA Men's Final Four and watching hotel rooms getting snapped up at every turn. The reviews of Chez Palmiers here were almost universally excellent, but we would have to wait for nearly eight months to find out if it really was all it had been "cracked up" to be.
I'll be honest, I don't think an excellent review does the place justice. If I could give it six or more stars, I would. It was truly like home away from home.
Chez Palmiers is advertised as a B&B, but it is so very, very much more.
The delightful, genial proprietors/hosts David and Schuyler made us feel as though we were guests in their home. They even went so far as to drive us to the Superdome for the championship game when the rain and the distance made it appear to our disappointment as though like we might not get there. Disappointment averted! David, we're so grateful!
We stayed in the Grand Suite, which was grand in size and in quality.
The sitting room which we did not take nearly as good advantage of as we should have, was lovely and having the extra space was so helpful.
The bedroom area was wonderfully spacious and the bed, after a long day of partying and being out and about, was sooo comfortable! It was really nice, too, knowing that we had a fridge for leftovers if we ate out, although leftovers were NOT an issue for us.... Despite the fact that it was hot as the dickens out -- temps were uncharacteristically in the mid-80's although it was only late March/early April -- the A/C and overhead fan kept the room refreshingly cool.
And the bathroom area, too, was spacious, yet manageable. The bath/shower was perfect -- plenty of very hot water and excellent pressure.
Although the suite is on the first floor it was very private. My husband and I had no concerns about privacy or security. And it was wonderfully quiet at all times, making it a very restful, relaxing atmosphere.
As for breakfast, it was plentiful and delicious every day. If an array of cold and hot cereals; fruits; breads; cheeses; spreads (cream cheese, butter, Nutella, jam); muffins; croissants and tea, coffee and juice isn't enough, you must have a tapeworm.
Despite the fact that Chez Palmiers is a bed and BREAKFAST, David and Schulyer made it clear that you could take coffee or tea at any time and we took full advantage.
If you want a noisy, commercial, institutional, impersonal place DO NOT stay here. If you want to feel truly valued as a guest and want to leave NOLA having made two lovely new friends, run, don't walk, to Chez Palmiers.

Room Tip: Consider staying in the Grand Suite, as, since it is a suite, not merely a room, it is more spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chattytravelinbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 220 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Chez Palmiers. David was very welcoming and offered wonderful advice on restaurants and other places to see. The Blah Blah Room was quite comfortable. We walked easily to the French Quarter and to Frenchman Street from that location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbeth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Having never been to New Orleans we didn't quite know what to expect. Our stay at Chez Palmiers was the perfect balance of comfort & quiet after a long day in the French Quarter and beyond. The Blah Blah room was anything but Blah. We felt comfortable and safe.
Our hosts Schuyler & David were kind and generous, with suggestions when needed. Breakfast was punctuated by excellent coffee and healthy choices. We were surprised at how close we were to a great many things to see and do. Pedicabs from the French Quarter back to the room were a real treat, too. No hassles and we felt like locals after spending a week here. Recommended! Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed for a few days in March 2012. It was a tranquil oasis, very comfortable and homey. Our hosts were attentive but not overwhelmiong us with attention. The location was great. An easy walk to everything. There was convenient street parking and it was possible to leave a car in the same spot without having to worry about meters.

Room Tip: The Gande suite with two rooms is like having a small apartment for a great price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed in the loft - a good space for a couple that sometimes likes a bit of elbow room (sitting area separate from bed). Nothing fancy (stand up shower) but everything you need (including mini-fridge, sink, in-room coffee and some fun reading material for those nights when you can't get to sleep). The plant-filled patio was lovely for breakfast outdoors and a couple of afternoon naps by the little pool. David and Schuyler were AWESOME with suggestions for eating, drinking and out of town excursions - and we felt like they picked up on our "vibe" quickly, so their suggestions fit us perfectly. And, the breakfast was exactly what we needed (fresh fruit, nice breads and cheeses, granola, yogurt) - a nice healthy start before our rich foody adventures later in the day. If feeling relaxed and at home is appealing, this is a good choice for you!

Room Tip: Loft suite is nice for those who want a little more privacy, but if the other two rooms are full you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My name is Simon, am from Québec and I just loved the place. The location, near the French Quarter and the nice Frenchmen Street, the cosyness and overall cleanliness of the place, the friendly managers Schuyler and David. I had a fantastic time at Chez Palmiers and felt at home, notably speaking français avec Schuyler!
Simon

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I arrived late on a Friday and was warmly greeted to a perfectly setup room. With friendly and professional advice for my stay and the city.
I was impressed by the friendly and discreet attendance to all my needs.
Great breakfast and perfect night's sleep.
I am looking forward to going back the next time I go to New Orleans.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#42 of 141 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#19 of 141 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
French Quarter
Lafitte Guest House
Lafitte Guest House
#24 of 141 in New Orleans
572 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1744 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116-1914
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $113 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Faubourg Marigny just two blocks from the French Quarter and four blocks from Frenchmen Street (popular with the neighborhood's locals), at Chez Palmiers you'll be within easy walking distance of many of the sites, restaurants, bars and clubs, and the characters and music that have made New Orleans famous. The new streetcar line is steps away, making it easy to explore other parts of the city as well. After busy days of sightseeing, come back to our year-round pool and relax under the palm trees in our quiet backyard retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Palmiers Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing