We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Maison Club did a poor job of customer relations” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchmen Street

Frenchmen Street
Book In Advance
$49*
and up
New Orleans French Quarter Jogging Tour
Ranked #3 of 318 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Morgan, Utah
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Maison Club did a poor job of customer relations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We came in because of the great music group playing "Royal Roses", and were told we could order our dinner off of the menu. However, 5 minutes later we were told "we just switched, you have to order off of the short menu", so it was only appetizers. Then, our table in the front of the stage had a sign placed on it advising us that we would have to relocate in 15 minutes to open up the dance floor. And, by then, all of the close tables were filled up.

Save your money, and go to one of the much better customer oriented locations such as the Spotted Cat or Snug Harbor; where they actually care about the customer and not the $'s

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,531
    1,821
    409
    97
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best area for great live music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Is worth the walk. Trust me. If you are looking for a good time at night and great bands that play jazz, blues, bumping brass bands and comtemporary music, skip bourbon and go to Frenchman Street. Leave Bourbon Street to the college kids.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank EyeObserve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Music venues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Why spend all your time in the French Quarter? NOLA has so many hidden gems including the music and other venues on Frenchman Street! If only I could decide which tattoo I want - Electric Lady Land is the place! Street performers - best in the city. Great music - more authentic and fun than Bourbon venues. Great food - oh yeah. Excellent vibe. No neon.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Re A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good music and a fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Go bar to bar and hear some bands you never heard before. The quality of the music is outstanding. Great fun crowd and cheap drinks. We even saw an outdoor art show and later watched a late night parade.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Billbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun place for jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good music in funky fun surroundings, great street vibe. You can go from club to club or just find a great artist and spend a fabulous set or two. Eat dinner someplace before you hit this street since drinks and music are the real attraction.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchmen Street also viewed

 

Been to Frenchmen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing