We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Spooktacular Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Barracks Guest House
Ranked #34 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, MD
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Spooktacular Stay!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the RBGH on Halloween weekend. I knoew we had made the right decision when the taxi pulled up and the house was decorated for Halloween. WE booked the suite which is very spacious and perfect for a family of 3. The location is perfect situated in between Bourbon and Royal st and just far enough from the fray to be a peaceful and relaxing location. Our hosts, Kelly and Sugah, were very hospitalbe and helpful in knowing where to go. We will be coming back on our next outing to the Big Easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sreisinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    38
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
86
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vankleek Hill Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in the RBGH in early Oct. I went with my husband and it was our first trip to NOLA. I really wanted to stay in the French Quarter because we like to walk around a lot, but I was worried about the noise at night and craziness. The RBGH was the perfect spot! We much preferred hanging gout on Frenchman St at night and were just a few blocks away, and quick walk. French market is at the end of the street as well, and the street car stops right there. This made our trip out to the Garden District so easy. Kelly had great restaurant suggestions and she and Sugar B were the perfect hosts. We will certainly go back as we LOVED New Orleans and the gothic room was a quiet oasis for us.

Room Tip: We stayed int he Gothic room, which is in the back, it's not a huge room but suited our needs ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magicbyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have stayed at the Barracks Guest House twice now and will continue to return time and time again. Kelly and Sugah B are the hostesses of the year! Just love the enchanting rooms and lovely courtyard. We have never been disappointed and you won't be either. If you're looking for a reasonably priced room in the heart of the Quarter, this is the place to go. Love, love love it! Thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magimay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Royal Barracks Guest House for two nights.We were celebrating our anniversary. We were completely blown away with the beauty of the rooms and courtyard. Each room is beautifully decorated in its own theme. We were lucky to have gotten the suite. It was everything we could have hoped for. We were greeted by Kelly and her precious doggy Sugah B. Sugah gave us the grand tour. It is a very quite neighborhood and everything is conveniently located. Kelly was very helpful,kind and knowledgeable about the city. She reccomended the best restaurants and gave great directions. The rooms were very clean and you felt right at home. We enjoyed our mornings drinking coffee on the stoop and watching the residents go about their morning. We will without a doubt be coming back.The Royal Barracks Guest House is just amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashaMD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I arrived in the evening, 27 hours after leaving my home in Australia, and after the normal hours of operation for this guest house. Prior to leaving home I had advised that I would be a late arrival and had been given directions and codes to operate the security system to get into my room. The lack of lighting in the street made it a little difficult to get my bearings after the taxi left but it didn't take long to get to my very comfortable (Garden) room and get some much needed sleep. Next morning I made my way to the office to introduce myself and met the famous Kelly. She asked if I had specifically come for the weekend's events and when I clearly looked a little vague she explained that I had arrived when the Southern Decadence weekend was in full swing. She then explained what was happening and asked whether I was gay or straight in order that she could give me her best tourist advice. I have never been asked that question before when checking into accommodation but given the nature of the celebrations in the very near neighbourhood it was entirely appropriate.
While talking with Kelly (and sharing several glasses of wine) later in the day it was interesting to see previous guests who were visiting NO for the day just calling in to see how she was and then making bookings for future stays. A fair reflection of the quality of the lodgings and Kelly's popularity as a host.
My room was wonderful for my stay (as a single traveller) and given that it was so close to party central it was amazingly quiet. I slept very well for the 4 nights of my stay. It would probably be a little crowded for a couple if they had a lot of luggage but for short term visitors it should not prove an issue.
As stated by other reviewers this not a five star hotel. It is a comfortable, friendly, well located, quirky and fun guest house with tonnes of character. If I ever get to visit NOLA again I would certainly want to stay here again.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is at the rear of the premises and thus did not get any real street noise. I can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMA1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Kelly and Sugar B are amazing hosts! They made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Kelly gave me a tour of the rooms; they were all wonderful. The courtyard is extrememly nice! We felt right at home! The only bad part about the Royal Barracks Guest House is that we didn't want to leave! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The peacock room was wonderful. We couldn't believe how beautiful the room was. It was larger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Kelly is absolutely amazing. She and her baby sugar (cutest poodle-ever) truly made our experience at NOLA. We had to fly in and out late, outside of normal times, and she made us feel at home no matter what. We had the bunk room and the garden room both connected for our girls weekend. This is was best idea, and this B&B goes above and beyond for their guests. We are planning our next trip and will come back and stay here again and again. Also, this is prime location because it is close to Burbon St. yet just a few blocks from the crazy-ness so it is peaceful at night.

BTW- a wonderful shout out to Mona Lisa Restaurant, just down the way. We are so glad that we found this place in the booklets that Kelly had in our room. LOVE IT!

Room Tip: Bunk & Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptMorgan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Lafitte Guest House
Lafitte Guest House
#23 of 139 in New Orleans
568 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 139 in New Orleans
663 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#15 of 139 in New Orleans
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
#52 of 139 in New Orleans
57 reviews
The W.G. Creole House 1850
#56 of 139 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Barracks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Barracks Guest House

Property: Royal Barracks Guest House
Address: 717 Barracks St, Between Bourbon and Royal, New Orleans, LA 70116-2516
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Barracks Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Barracks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Barracks Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing