We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Weekend in the Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Barracks Guest House
Ranked #34 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Enchanting Weekend in the Quarter”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Kelly and Sugar B are amazing hosts! They made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Kelly gave me a tour of the rooms; they were all wonderful. The courtyard is extrememly nice! We felt right at home! The only bad part about the Royal Barracks Guest House is that we didn't want to leave! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The peacock room was wonderful. We couldn't believe how beautiful the room was. It was larger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    38
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
86
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Kelly is absolutely amazing. She and her baby sugar (cutest poodle-ever) truly made our experience at NOLA. We had to fly in and out late, outside of normal times, and she made us feel at home no matter what. We had the bunk room and the garden room both connected for our girls weekend. This is was best idea, and this B&B goes above and beyond for their guests. We are planning our next trip and will come back and stay here again and again. Also, this is prime location because it is close to Burbon St. yet just a few blocks from the crazy-ness so it is peaceful at night.

BTW- a wonderful shout out to Mona Lisa Restaurant, just down the way. We are so glad that we found this place in the booklets that Kelly had in our room. LOVE IT!

Room Tip: Bunk & Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptMorgan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This past weekend--9/7/2013--my close girl friends and I took a quick getaway to celebrate a dirty 30 birthday bash in NOLA. What can I say Kelly and Sugar B were amazing!!! Best B&B hands down! I had a great time, great location, super unique and trendy place, also excellent hospitality and service!! Thank you Kelly so much for going out of your way and making this weekend extra special for us Texas girls! Seriously coming back and staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelicaPineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Carrie Sue was fantastic and easy to work with over the phone! Kelly and her poodle Sugar B checked us in and were very friendly, offering us a glass of wine upon arrival. Sugar B escorted us to our room, obviously feeling very at home. Our room was lovely! This is definitely not the Ritz, so if you stay with Royal Barracks, be prepared for 100% local living in the Quarter - which was exactly what my husband and I were searching for! The carpet in our room (Blu Room) smelled pretty strongly like dog, however after having the A/C unit on for a while, the smell went away. The house is quaint with a very Victorian feel. Carrie Sue surprised us with a visit to meet in person and we followed her to the bar on the corner - had a blast! Great place to stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: We loved the decor in the Blu Room, however will probably pick a room that has a cleaner feel next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have been staying at the Royal Barracks for at least 15 years.. It is a quaint, off-the-beaten-path place in the heart of the Quarter. If you want to get a feel for how it truly is to live in the French Quarter, stay here! Kelly, the innkeeper, is an amazingly inviting woman who makes you feel both welcomed and at home. Her poodle Suga B is always on duty with her. This place may not be for those who want Ritz Carlton luxury, but it is certainly memorable and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There is no pool. I cannot uncheck box above. It is not intended as a criticism.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWinBRLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My Husband and I spent two nights in the Royal Barracks Guest House and we absolutely loved it! Kelly, the woman who runs the place was so sweet and helpful, she went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. Meeting people like Kelly really made us understand the term "southern hospitality." The rooms were clean and comfortable and the location is perfect. This is definitely where we will stay next time we are in New Orleans!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arpi_jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I are just back from 5 days in N'Orleans and we stayed at the Royal Barracks Guest House during the duration of our stay. It couldn't have been a better choice.
We really enjoyed the feel of the place, it's quirky and not like a main stream hotel chain. It allows some independence and save some money if you want to. We stayed in the "Blue Room" for the entire time. A small room but the space didn't bother us one bit. I read on a previous review that it is a dark room, well yeah it is but then you find the light switch and "Voila" let there be light! Amenities are coffee machine with coffee, sugar sweetener etc.. microwave, fridge(with two bottles of water inside), a TV, plenty of spare towels for the bathroom. What more can one want! The owners are super friendly. Kelly, Jack and Carrie Ann (My apologies if I spelt it wrong) gave us a lowdown on what to down to get the best out of our short stay, just so nice and down to earth, you won't get that anywhere else. C-A rang the tour company for us to arrange a pick up point as we had european mobile numbers and also arranged a taxi for our departure day (BTW, it's $33 for 1 or 2 people from the quarter to LA Airport)
Location is ideal, you are at 717 Barrack street, between corners of Bourbon and Royal, just close to everything yet far enough away from the noise, it's very quiet at night. Frenchmen is only a 5 min walk away.
Really a top place for an amazing city, blown away by the whole lot.

Room Tip: The Blue Room seems like the smallest, they have bigger ones inside but the price increases obviousl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyDemion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#31 of 162 in New Orleans
416 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#15 of 138 in New Orleans
131 reviews
French Quarter
Lafitte Guest House
Lafitte Guest House
#22 of 138 in New Orleans
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 138 in New Orleans
656 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 138 in New Orleans
231 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 138 in New Orleans
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Barracks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Barracks Guest House

Property: Royal Barracks Guest House
Address: 717 Barracks St, Between Bourbon and Royal, New Orleans, LA 70116-2516
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Barracks Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Barracks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Barracks Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing