We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Barracks Guest House
Ranked #34 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Kelly couldn't be more a more accommodating hostess. She took great care of us when we arrived early, shared excellent food and music recommendations (over a glass of wine), and made a cab reservation for us. The location was perfect; we could walk everywhere. It is so close to the French Quarter but very quiet. The courtyard was very relaxing. We had a minor issue with our room on a Sunday which was taken care of very promptly. You can't miss with Kelly and the Royal Barracks Guest House!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandBOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Royal Barracks Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 169 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

On Barracks between Royal and Bourbon, you can easily walk to shopping and dining or nightlife, or take the opportunity to meet other guests and locals as they pass by the front steps. Kelly and Suga B are the best hosts, they can help you with where to visit and how to make the most of your trip. Stay out of the expensive big hotels and stay in a place with warmth, charm and a friendly host.

Room Tip: The Suite is on the front of the building, with a stoop to sit while having coffee or other beverage...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Price - Cdn$123
Cleanliness - good.
Quietness – good.
Comfort – very good.
Location - excellent; edge of the Quarter.
Parking – none of which we know.
Friendliness - good.
Breakfast - no.
Classiness – down to earth.
Room Size – fine (Blue Room)
Room included – tiny tv; fridge; coffee making; microwave; shower.
Facilities included – social yard area.
Nice touch - a tray of suntan lotion, etc.
What’s needed – would have been nice to see other guests (didn’t see anyone during our stay).
Believe good locations in New Orleans can be expensive so this wasn’t bad value for the perfect spot. Not a place in which to spend waking hours, but this is NO so get out and explore.

Room Tip: Cheaper Blue Room is fine if you're not fussed on size.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Trip to meet some great friends for a Valentines Day & weekend get together. We booked the Garden & Gothic Rooms which are both located in the back with the doors opening to both sides of the courtyard. Kelly the innkeeper at RBGH was just as friendly and nice as the reviews had said. Nice set up in the back with a fridge and small kitchen set up so you can bring your own booze and grab a chair in the courtyard for a drink or five. Closest thing I have experienced to being a local and the location is perfect if you know the quarter. We are not Bourbon St. fans and prefer Frenchmen St. with the music and food you will find there. The R Bar is just a couple of blocks away and is where we have started the last 7 trips to NOLA, great local place. Take a quick cab ride to Vaughn's on Thursday night and if your lucky Kermit Ruffins will be on stage, the Spotted Cat or The Blue Nile on Frenchmen also great music clubs, more of what Bourbon St. originally was. Adolfo's above the Apple Barrel Bar is outstanding also on Frenchmen st. Ride the Streetcar over to Magazine St and get a Po Boy at Mahony's, try the Peacemaker and then walk the shops. BMC on the corner of Decatur & Esplanade is a good spot to start your evenings with a great mix of local talent on stage as early as 6pm. NOLA never disappoints, stop in the Golden Lantern for a Drag Show and a drink, you gotta get the full experience of the area, lot of fun.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GhostCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lots of reasons to stay at RBGH, but you should go there just because of the innkeeper Kelly and her adorable poodle Sweet. She made us feel like we were visiting with family. When we got there she sat on the stoop with us, had a beer and went over places to eat and things to do. She did not steer us wrong. We had red bean, rice and smoked sausages at Coops. She also recommended Port of Call for hamburgers - the best hamburger I have ever had served with a baked potato side. If you go to Port of Call be sure to have a Neptune's Monsoon in a go cup. She also said to skip Bourbon St (unless you are a frat boy and then it is your scene) and go to Frenchman St. Around the corner from RBGH is Cafe Envie - go there for breakfast. We also went to the neighborhood bar called the Golden Lantern. The bartender and other people at the bar made us northerners feel very welcome. During our stay there was a water problem and you had to boil your water before drinking it. Kelly called us to make sure we knew and there was bottled water in our room when we returned. The location was perfect for us because we didn't want to rent a car. There are plenty of things to do in walking distance. We stayed in the Suite. It was tastefully and functionally decorated. It was clean and the bed was comfy. The only reason I did not give them 5 stars is because of the noise level. There is no soundproofing between the rooms; just a wall. The people in the room next door sounded like they were in our room. They woke us up during the night when they got back to the room and then when they went to sleep the man snored like a chain saw. We will go to New Orleans again and we will stay at RBGH.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the RBGH for the second time and was once again thoroughly impressed. The innkeeper, Kelly, made my family feel so welcome! She was helpful and kind and met all our expectations. One of the best things about the Guesthouse is its central location. Its off the beaten path and in a much more local section of the French Quarter but still close to great restaurants, Bourbon and Frenchman street as well as the French market. There's a courtyard in the rear of the building that is charming and peaceful and the wireless internet works great.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 314Pye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Travelled to NOLA for my first Mardi Gras experience. It was a a great time and a great place to stay. The location was ideal as we were walking distance to all the fun but felt like we were far away from the crowds to feel safe. We were even provided with a block party with the local neighbors and food/drinks for Fat Tuesday. If I return for Mardi Gras (which I hope I do) I will come back to Royal Barracks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Lafitte Guest House
Lafitte Guest House
#23 of 141 in New Orleans
568 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#20 of 141 in New Orleans
672 reviews
French Quarter
The Saint Philip Hotel
The Saint Philip Hotel
#4 of 37 in New Orleans
395 reviews
The W.G. Creole House 1850
#52 of 141 in New Orleans
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Barracks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Barracks Guest House

Address: 717 Barracks St, Between Bourbon and Royal, New Orleans, LA 70116-2516
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $79 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Barracks Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Barracks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Barracks Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing