We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet victorian suite in the French Quarter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Barracks Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Barracks Guest House
Ranked #33 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet victorian suite in the French Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We loved our stay and recommend RBGH very highly.

We stayed in the Suite which has private entrance from the street, two large rooms and a long but skinny private bath. The rooms were beautifully furnished and had tall ceilings and a fireplace. The bedroom could be closed off from the front room with pocket doors so the room was well protected from the street. Very comfortable bed. The bath is very narrow, but functional. Shower only.

The location is perfect: close enough to walk to the entire French Quarter, including Bourbon St., but on one of the quiet, residential streets. Our favorite breakfast place, Croissant D'Or, was only 2 blocks away. We felt very safe here, even walking late at night.

Kelly was the perfect hostess. She waited for us to arrive even though the weather made us 90 minutes late for our scheduled arrival time.

If you drive, you need to park your car in a lot at $18./day - cheap for NOLA. Kelly can recommend a lot that's only a few blocks away. You can park from 7 pm to 7 am, but may get ticketed if you don't move your car by 7am. This is the only inconvenience.

Room Tip: There was a special on the suite when we visited. It was a great value with much more personality t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    38
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
82
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

We have been to New Orleans many times and this was our first time to stay at Royal Barracks, we will never stay anywhere else again. The Suite was first class all the way and the management AWESOME!

Room Tip: Highly recommend The Suite Room! Secure and private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clcrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Barracks Guest House early November 2011. We stayed in the bunker room, which was very interesting and unlike any hotel room I've ever stayed in. Kelly and Sugar were great hostesses, and we were even offered a beer from Kelly upon arrival!! Great locations right near Frenchman street and walking distance to Bourbon Street.

Only problem was there is no paid parking and we didn't know this ahead of time. So we parked on the street for the two days we were there and hoped for the best. Luckily we did not get a ticket but the parking near the guest house are all two hour parking, so you have to be careful.

Clean and nice, and will def come back here where we come to New Orleans again!

-Cara and Shawn

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaraCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

The RBGH was great for us. The neighborhood was quiet and close to where we wanted to walk in the French Quarter. I was amused when Sugah Baby escorted us to the beautiful courtyard. Kelly was easy going and wonderful to talk to. The Blue Room was small, quaint, complete with its own unexplained noises, and great for the price. If you want a feel for the French Quarter, this was it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

This was my third trip to New Orleans and our second stay at the Royal Barracks. We came back to stay here for its location in the French Quarter (close to Frenchmen St!), the unique charm of each room, Halloween, and all the little things that make a trip great. Kelly (& sugah B!) is simply the best hostess you can find, always helpful, knowledgeable about the city & things to do, and loves to see her guests enjoy themselves!! Lots of little amenities like bathrobes, refrigerator, complimentary beads, Halloween snacks & ice machine in the beautiful courtyard. Every room is beautifully decorated with its own theme, wish I could stay in all of them! Just go stay there & enjoy life. You won't regret it. We love Kelly, sugah B, & everyone at the Royal Barracks... and will be back as soon as we can! See you next time,

Wesley & Kristin

Room Tip: All rooms are described well on their website. Even better than we expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Very accomodating hostesses, including Sugah who left us a toy when she escorted us to the room. Friendly, helpful, but unintrusive. Stayed in the suite and while there were a few very minor glitches (a "haunted" microwave) it was wonderful. Hubby fell in love with the mattress because it was so comfortable. The location was just what I was looking for - not in the thick of the French Quarter, but still there. It was a quiet, relaxing respite. There are touches of southern hospitality everywhere, from the Information binder in the room to the Halloween treats in the courtyard to Kelly herself, and more. Will stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louavullgalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Garden room was great! Wish the ice machine and jacuzzi were working. Had a great time! Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#20 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Lafitte Guest House
Lafitte Guest House
#21 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Barracks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Barracks Guest House

Property: Royal Barracks Guest House
Address: 717 Barracks St, Between Bourbon and Royal, New Orleans, LA 70116-2516
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Barracks Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Barracks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Barracks Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing