We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Maison DuBois

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison DuBois
Ranked #61 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We ( 3 senior women ) stayed at Maison DuBois for 4 nights just before Mardi Gras. What a perfect location- just at the edge of the Quarter, walking distance to any of the places we wanted to go to. Tom the host gave us much help in finding good restaurants, music clubs etc. The house is a treasure! Quite unassuming on the outside but filled with lovely furnishings and interestingly shaped rooms. The breakfast was Continental style - coffee, juice and lovely assortment of breads, rolls and cereals. We were able to eat it in the kitchen and chat to the other guests. Tom helped enormously in getting our boarding tickets for the flight home. I would definitely return to this B&B - excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mitzicat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
39
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Mardi Gras ended yesterday and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at Maison DuBois Bed and Breakfast. Tom was a great host he helped with directions and suggesting things to do. He told me about a wonderful spot to watch the parades uptown one day and enjoyed the local experience. I will definitely be back and stay again my next visit. Next time I will plan a trip when its a bit warmer and I can enjoy the glorious pool that my room overlooked!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank deepfriedpickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

It's always a delight to stay at Maison DuBois! It's a perfect location, convenient to all the action in the French Quarter yet a quiet haven when it's time to relax. The beautiful pool in the courtyard makes the perfect escape in the hot summer months and the spa is perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine after an early dinner. The hosts are locals that know every square inch of their city. Ask Tom for a history lesson while enjoying your breakfast...fascinating! The rooms are large and elegant, beautifully decorated in classic New Orleans style. Choose the Orleans or the Esplanade rooms (pronounced "esplanAID in New Orleans) to gain your own access to the back veranda overlooking the courtyard. Enjoy your morning coffee then take the spiral stairs down to the saltwater pool...heavenly! The Plantation is the prettiest with a fabulous sleigh bed and huge gilded mirror over the fireplace. It also has the biggest bathroom. The Vieux Carre is the front room and is almost like having your own apartment with a large living area and quick access to the kitchen. The Dauphine Marigny is perfect for families with it's main entrance and two separate bedrooms with a shared bathroom between. One room has twin beds with lots of space in the center and the other room has a gorgeous tall four poster bed. All rooms have televisions, ironing boards, irons, blow dryers and plenty of towels. We have visited when the house is full but rarely see the other guests except at breakfast. It seems everyone is out exploring or keeps different hours...makes it feel like the house is all yours! I recommend this B&B to any of my friends planning a visit to New Orleans. It doesn't get any better than Maison DuBois.

Room Tip: Orleans or Esplanade for easy veranda and pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Victoria_Rodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Maison DuBois this past weekend for a reunion. We rented the entire place, and we all enjoyed the experience. The home is nestled in a quiet stretch of Dauphine street in the historic Faubourg Marigny district and steps from Bourbon Street. It is very close to the best music clubs and a short walk to great restaurants. The home itself is very well maintained, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a full kitchen and a lovely dining room and comfortable living room. It is a historic home, so the bathrooms are a bit on the small side and the finishes are in keeping with the house. If you are looking for a more modern space, then this isn't the place for you anyway. However, if you want a quiet respite in a lovely home in keeping with the New Orleans tradition, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: the rooms with balconies have a private bath and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adveturesomesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent the New Year week in the Maison du Bois and were delighted with every aspect of our stay. Tom could not have been more welcoming and accommodating of our needs and the elegant period house has all mod-cons with a kitchen and comfy sitting room for guests. The rooms were very clean and well supplied and there is a delightful pool and courtyard area outside. The house is perfectly placed to explore the French Quarter. It is situated in a quiet leafy street but great cafe's, shops and entertainment are all 5 - 10 mins walk away at most. Tom recommended seeing the Ogden Museum of Southern Art: a fantastic find of unusual art in various mediums including photographs and collage. It is opposite the interesting and massive World War 2 Museum. We absolutely love New Orleans and finding such a great B&B for a week made the trip extra special.

Room Tip: The Dauphine Marigny Suite suited us as it has a large double bedroom, a separate twin bed room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 564Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed shy of a week at Maison DuBois. Entirely satisfied with our stay. It's wonderfully positioned just off Esplanade abutting both French Quarter and Frenchmen Street areas. Rooms are amply sized, some of which are huge with sitting areas. Our group stayed in the two largest suites, but the two rooms in the back really give you the serenity and deck views of the amazing courtyard w/swimming pool and hot tub. This space is quite the mini-Shangri La, very lush and romantically-lit. The house itself is a converted two-family, beautifully decorated and quite spacious in the common areas. Fellow travelers were a diverse and friendly group. Breakfast was simple but good--healthy cereals, fresh fruit, decent breads and such. Added plus was the convenience store two doors down. Most memorable was Tom, the innkeeper. Always available to provide suggestion for just about anything. He's funny and warm and is just as comfortable "settin a spell" to chat as he is taking a cue that you're breezing in and out and want to be left alone. This place is best suited for adults who want a a B&B to decompress in a safe, welcoming B&B.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go4Travelyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it Tom was great. And the location was prefect just the fact that we were staying within walking distance made everything just great. Thanks Tom for everything and we will see each other soon (::

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vic45co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 139 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
#52 of 139 in New Orleans
57 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#47 of 139 in New Orleans
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#18 of 139 in New Orleans
299 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Jean Lafitte House
Jean Lafitte House
#73 of 139 in New Orleans
40 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 139 in New Orleans
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison DuBois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison DuBois

Property: Maison DuBois
Address: 1419 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-1924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Location! Nowhere is this more important than the French Quarter where the sights, sounds and adventures are unlimited. Maison DuBois will beckon and entice you with an ambiance unmistakably New Orleans. First time visitors are struck by the lush tropical foliage of hibiscus, banana trees, jasmine and queen palms that line the courtyard while the fountain splashes playfully into the pool's waters. Each guestroom is uniquely decorated to enhance their comfort and appeal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Dubois Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing